We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
264
71
15
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
71
15
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel first class four poster bed statesman rail stayed one night nevis range two nights steak pie overlooking the mountains fantastic views games room jacobite train turret room scottish highlands spean bridge well stocked bar well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 366 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Loved the hotel from start to finish. We were greeted upon arrival and shown our room, which was perfect. Dinner was great, and the breakfast choices were sufficient. The family that owns the hotel were friendly and helpful throughout the stay. We were assisted with luggage as my wife had sprained her ankle a few days earlier. We plan on a return to the highlands in a few years and will make a return stay-my wife states that out of the 6 hotels we stayed at during the 10 day trip, this was her favorite.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawright0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home, we hope your wifes foot is better now, such a shame while your on holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit the Highlands. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We spent to nights here (29-30.7) as part of a hiking group. We were very positively surprised by the room we received at the second floor (Torrent room?) Felt like pure luxury to stay two nights there. Nothing to complain about regarding the breakfast and dinner. Everything worked just fine for us. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if your ever back in the Highlands we hope we can welcome you back into our home once again. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Pleasant quiet location . Plenty of car parking
We dined in the bar , a very pleasant room with good , friendly service .
The food was very good . I would recommend the fish .
There is however an extensive menu

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area again. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We had driven from Lanark so not being sure of the timings we arrived an hour prior to the official check in time. The front door was locked and there was a note stating in effect that we could not book in for an hour and that if we needed facilities we could find them in the nearby village. I found this a bit unwelcoming and thought I had maybe made a mistake in booking here. I later found that the bar should have been open at least so we could have had a drink and used the facilities at least. We returned at three and were shown to our room. I did not mention my first impressions when checking in as I was too tired after such a long drive in such hot weather. This was just my first impressions which were completely overturned the next day. The room though not decorated to my taste was large bright and spotlessly clean. The decoration throughout suited the property perfectly. The bed and bedding were of superb quality . At breakfast the next day the dining room had fantastic views overlooking the mountains and the meal was cooked to order', and was hot with use being made of local high quality ingredients. We did not need to eat again till the evening. The Lodge has a good bar and serves a good range of meals in the bar. The setting is perfect far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Fort William if you want a bit of peace. But near enough to make use of the amenities that are on offer there such as boat trips, and the Jacobite steam train ride to Mallaig. We unfortunately were only booked in for 2 nights as we were heading north to John O Groats. If travelling in the area would definitely stay here again for a longer period this time. Thanks to all for a lovely stay and for totally reversing my first impressions.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BARBARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we have tried to keep things running as normal as possible whilst nursing my Dying mum so a few little things have had to change due to Ian having to do all his work and most of mine too, we hope we haven't disrupted too many peoples plans due to this but it has been out of our control in the circumstances, the downside to being a small hotel with a small family team, just not enough of us when a crisis happens, thank you for being understanding and we hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area. Suzanne & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at Glenspean for a couple of nights.
First impression from the road was of a substantial hotel with a great position both of which are true. Although not far off the road the hotel is set back enough to be relaxed and quiet to prove relaxing.
The hotel is very clean and well appointed, the owner Ian and his staff work tirelessly to ensure their guests enjoy their stay.
Breakfast was lovely with a great choice and we had one evening meal which we enjoyed.
We stayed in room 2 which I believe is one of the larger rooms and it was great although the sofa had probably seen better days.
All in all a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Batch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home, Ian has been working tirelessly to keep the place running as smoothly as possible while I nursed my dying mum so its been a tough time at the hotel, but Ian has done a fantastic job holding it all together on his own. The settee in your room is a pull out bed we do keep thinking should we change it but its not worn and turns into a pull out bed for emergencies so comes in really handy especially when you get people turn up with more people in their party than they have told you, hence why we keep it but maybe this year we will look at changing it. We hope we can welcome you back if your ever back in the Highlands. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews