We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
265
71
15
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
71
15
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel four poster bed first class statesman rail nevis range two nights steak pie games room overlooking the mountains fantastic views jacobite train turret room stayed one night scottish highlands spean bridge well stocked bar well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 367 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Pleasant quiet location . Plenty of car parking
We dined in the bar , a very pleasant room with good , friendly service .
The food was very good . I would recommend the fish .
There is however an extensive menu

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area again. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We had driven from Lanark so not being sure of the timings we arrived an hour prior to the official check in time. The front door was locked and there was a note stating in effect that we could not book in for an hour and that if we needed facilities we could find them in the nearby village. I found this a bit unwelcoming and thought I had maybe made a mistake in booking here. I later found that the bar should have been open at least so we could have had a drink and used the facilities at least. We returned at three and were shown to our room. I did not mention my first impressions when checking in as I was too tired after such a long drive in such hot weather. This was just my first impressions which were completely overturned the next day. The room though not decorated to my taste was large bright and spotlessly clean. The decoration throughout suited the property perfectly. The bed and bedding were of superb quality . At breakfast the next day the dining room had fantastic views overlooking the mountains and the meal was cooked to order', and was hot with use being made of local high quality ingredients. We did not need to eat again till the evening. The Lodge has a good bar and serves a good range of meals in the bar. The setting is perfect far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Fort William if you want a bit of peace. But near enough to make use of the amenities that are on offer there such as boat trips, and the Jacobite steam train ride to Mallaig. We unfortunately were only booked in for 2 nights as we were heading north to John O Groats. If travelling in the area would definitely stay here again for a longer period this time. Thanks to all for a lovely stay and for totally reversing my first impressions.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BARBARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we have tried to keep things running as normal as possible whilst nursing my Dying mum so a few little things have had to change due to Ian having to do all his work and most of mine too, we hope we haven't disrupted too many peoples plans due to this but it has been out of our control in the circumstances, the downside to being a small hotel with a small family team, just not enough of us when a crisis happens, thank you for being understanding and we hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area. Suzanne & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at Glenspean for a couple of nights.
First impression from the road was of a substantial hotel with a great position both of which are true. Although not far off the road the hotel is set back enough to be relaxed and quiet to prove relaxing.
The hotel is very clean and well appointed, the owner Ian and his staff work tirelessly to ensure their guests enjoy their stay.
Breakfast was lovely with a great choice and we had one evening meal which we enjoyed.
We stayed in room 2 which I believe is one of the larger rooms and it was great although the sofa had probably seen better days.
All in all a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Batch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home, Ian has been working tirelessly to keep the place running as smoothly as possible while I nursed my dying mum so its been a tough time at the hotel, but Ian has done a fantastic job holding it all together on his own. The settee in your room is a pull out bed we do keep thinking should we change it but its not worn and turns into a pull out bed for emergencies so comes in really handy especially when you get people turn up with more people in their party than they have told you, hence why we keep it but maybe this year we will look at changing it. We hope we can welcome you back if your ever back in the Highlands. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Having stayed in the hotel before I have to say it’s even BETTER now that it’s no longer a Best Western. Obviously the owners, who never stop working, are now able to add a lot of their own personal touches that they we’re perhaps unable to do whilst tied to a chain of ‘same old, same old’ hotels.

Once again the meals were superb.....the steak pie is just out of this world, as was the scampi which is made with the chefs special recipe batter. Vegetables cooked to perfection with just the right amount of seasoning.

Decided to eat out one night but left it too late to book at the local recommended restaurant in the next village and called in on the off chance of a table. As they were completely full only we asked the owner if he had any recommendations....he suggested ‘Glenspean Lodge!’

This is a fantastic ‘old’ hotel which retains its charm and character whilst still being light and airy, with beautiful views from both the rooms and the extensive gardens.
There is also a gym to help work off those meals!

Only one little complaint.....the owner, Ian, who despite never sitting down seems to be eternally happy and tends to sing a lot......out of tune unfortunately!!! ;)

Can’t wait till the next visit.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Local_Hero1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

it was lovely seeing you guys again, glad you enjoyed your food! sorry about Ians singing but at least it gives everyone a laugh ha!, hope we can welcome you back again on your next visit to the Highlands. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Their motto of "Enter as strangers leave as Friends" was not nearly accurate for our prebooked group of 27 travelers. Even the owner of the tour group received surly treatments. It was 90 degrees in the rooms and they did not have a fan for his room. Despite the booking contract, we had to slept our luggage to the third floor using stairs. The soup was too salty, but the pork and vegetables were excellent. Breakfast was very good. It was a prior hunting lodge. Beautiful setting and very well decorated. Terrible persistent attitude, especially from Ian.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

your group was booked in and had no arrangement made for porterage, for a group of 30 people this would have to be arranged prior to arrival it WAS NOT! ! you could not expect the only man on the premises to move all 30 cases for you, he was trying to man the Bar, if it had been arranged properly we could have had extra staff on site to help, so that was your group leaders fault not the hotels!, so there was a bad atmosphere from the start. We are in Scotland experiencing exceptional weather that we are all not used to, the rooms are warm but all the windows had been left open all day to let as much air in as possible, , there is nothing in the hotel description to say we have fans in the rooms we provide these as an extra courtesy, the tour leader chose to change from the room he was allocated which had a fan to our smallest room on the first floor which didn't have a fan, he then came down and had a row with Suzanne at the front desk because she didn't have a fan to give him for that room, she explained that she had bought the last two from Fort William that she could get but they were all sold out due to the extreme weather conditions, he then insisted she find him another room somewhere else as he couldn't stay in a hot room! even though it was a small room with a large window, he would find that most hotels in Fort William do NOT provide fans in their rooms! In between all this happening we were told there was going to be music in the bar that night, this had not been arranged properly either, we WERE TOLD!, not ASKED! ,this is our home it would be nice if groups discussed things like this happening before their arrival, it would be common courtesy, we have other guests coming in to the property that we have to consider too! on top of that we had to run the Bus driver backwards and forwards to his lodgings, we had agreed to drop him at his lodgings but we had never been told we had to run him backwards and forwards we are a small hotel and do not have the manpower for this! this group was badly organised so ended up being grumpy with us when none of it was our doing, the tour guide said we couldn't possibly expect Americans to move their own cases!! so it was arranged for Ian and a member of staff to take them out for you in the morning. We only have two floors in the house and it clearly states on our website that we do not have a lift! maybe the organisers of this group need to consider where they are taking their guests and if those places have the facilities the guests need, like porters and lifts and fans and entertaining space then their would never have been the problems, We deal with many, many groups and this has been one of the worst organised ones we have dealt with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews