We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
265
71
15
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
71
15
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel four poster bed statesman rail first class nevis range two nights games room overlooking the mountains fantastic views steak pie jacobite train turret room scottish highlands well stocked bar ben nevis second to none his wife
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 367 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Good place to just spend the night. The bar and restaurant are correct, dinner was good but the breakfast was may be limited. Rooms were ok, clean and comfortable. Surroundings are beautiful but need to take the car to have a good walk.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bettyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Thank you for posting your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, Im sorry you found breakfast limited giving the range we have, we do try and cater to as many nationalities as we can but a small hotel has its limits. Their are some short walks around us but many other walks around the area, as we are quite remote it is sometimes wise to take your car to the start of these. Hope we can welcome you back if your ever back in the Highlands. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017

This was one of the worst hotel experiences we've had in a long time. Our room was so small there wasn't the space to put both our small cabin-sized suitcases out. The bed was small and very uncomfortable. The bathroom was too small for two people to fit in at the same time - and although there was a paper 'sanitised' strip around the loo seat when we arrived the loo hadn't been flushed and so we were greeted by an unpleasant smell in the bathroom. We couldn't attach to the WIFI from our room and were told by the hotel owner that the internet speed is so slow it was often difficult to get on line.
I did complain to the owner about the size of the room but was told it was the smallest room in the hotel and as we had booked so late (in March for a July stay) that was the last room left. However, despite being the smallest and undoubtedly the worst room (overlooking the car park) it still cost £140 for a night in which we hardly slept.

Room tip: Check that you're not getting the worst room in the hotel
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Thurloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2017

Not happy with one review you are now trying to bring us down with a second review! yes you did book the last standard double room in the house which does overlook the car park full of lovely trees and beautiful plants, not a bad view by anyone's standards. From the moment you arrived you complained about the size of the room as your friends was larger, about the size of the standard double bed which you booked, their were larger rooms available but these would have been slightly more expensive, if the size of room and the bed size were important then you shouldn't have booked that size room, you then complained about the wi-fi which we explained is very slow, this is something completely out of our control. The bathrooms are small as this was once just a house and a section of each room has been took to create an en-suite for guests convenience you cannot expect them to be like the purpose built hotels, most old hotels in Scotland are the same, you said there was tissue in the toilet this is impossible I clean the bathrooms myself, they are cleaned then they have cleaner put in them (the smell you are referring too!) then the strap goes on we do not put the straps on dirty toilets our cleaning methods are very thorough! As for the room price if you look online you will see the travelodges are charging £200 per night we are by far one of the cheapest four star hotels to stay in the area! At no point do you say thank you for taking all your wet clothes and shoes etc and making sure they were dry for yous to use the next day, it seems that all you want to do is moan, we work extremely hard for a small house with a small team and our standards are extremely high but you can not please all of the people all of the time as was this case. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

We were traveling around Scotland and stayed in a fantastic B and B near this hotel popped in and booked a table for the evening receptionist was great place was lovely .arrived in evening for our booking both staff behind the bar were great menu looked good beer was good.we hadn't been having much luck with accommodation or restaurants so we thought we had struck gold .ordered food had mussels for starter unfortunately they were well over cooked and the white sauce was like porridge not good . We were prepared to let this go because we were so hungry we thought we would wait for mains , I had steak which was presented well and the steak was good slightly under medium as ordered but okay the problem was that the herb butter on top of my steak looked pretty it was frozen solid like an ice cube such a shame , my wife had salmon which was £19 95 and was meant to be poached when it arrived it was dry and looked grilled and was very small and shrivelled up such a shame . Unable to attract servers attention and being hungry we ate it . When the server came to collect plates I mentioned the condition of the salmon and showed the butter which was still frozen the comment was sorry and she went off no interaction from management at all we were then asked if we wanted coffee or desert we declined although we did want to finish of meal with coffee brandy desert and cheese and biscuits .unfortuanatly what started as a very nice evening was spoilt by bad cookin and a lack of attention to detail and our evening spoilt . I felt obligated to giving the staff a tip as the service was good other than the response to our complaint, I wouldn't have normally tipped after having a bad meal . We understand that the place has recently changed ownership and all I can say is please make sure the food is checked and matches up to the rest of the experience.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank spud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you for your review, Im sorry you felt you weren't dealt with very efficiently that evening, it was an exceptionally busy evening with both restaurant and bar areas in use so staff were having to cover a lot of ground and a lot of guests, the young lady did mention that your butter was frozen, it does come straight from the freezer to the steak as the idea is your rub it over the hot steak so you can have as much or as little as you would like, if it went on soft it would just be a puddle of butter on your plate, Im sorry you felt the Salmon was overcooked, the kitchen hadn't expected you to take so long to eat the Mussels therefore the Salmon may have went out more cooked than normal but you should have just called someone over and they would have sorted this out for you, Ian is always on hand for any problems but he was not made aware of this until after you had gone and as the plates had come back clear we didn't realise there was a Big issue on your behalf otherwise we could have dealt with it. The hotel has been in the same successful hands for the past 11 years and our chef has been with us for the last 7 years. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We recently enjoyed a 1 night stay at Glenspean Lodge. It has been 19 years since we were last here and wondered why it's taken so long to come back.
We stayed in the Braveheart suite. This is probably one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. A lot of care & attention has obviously gone into decorating the whole hotel.
Thanks to Ian & Suzanne for looking after us.

Room tip: Braveheart Suite is highly recommended
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SKSINCLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you, it was lovely to have you stay with us lets hope its not so long until your next visit. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night while travelling around the highlands.
It's a beautiful hotel where the owners obviously take pride in it and it shows. Four poster room was gorgeous and very comfortable.
Hot tub was great but I wish we'd been told there were robes in the wardrobe as it would've saved us dashing through the hotel in our towels!
Evening meal and breakfast both to a high standard but I did miss baked beans with the breakfast but I guess that's just an English thing!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank DawnDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! shame you didn't see the bathrobes! and yes Beans is definitely an English thing you don't get them on Scottish breakfasts in many places :) hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area, let me know and Ill get you some beans in. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews