We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
264
71
15
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
71
15
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel first class four poster bed statesman rail stayed one night nevis range two nights steak pie overlooking the mountains fantastic views games room jacobite train turret room scottish highlands spean bridge well stocked bar well worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 366 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile

We were traveling around Scotland and stayed in a fantastic B and B near this hotel popped in and booked a table for the evening receptionist was great place was lovely .arrived in evening for our booking both staff behind the bar were great menu looked good beer was good.we hadn't been having much luck with accommodation or restaurants so we thought we had struck gold .ordered food had mussels for starter unfortunately they were well over cooked and the white sauce was like porridge not good . We were prepared to let this go because we were so hungry we thought we would wait for mains , I had steak which was presented well and the steak was good slightly under medium as ordered but okay the problem was that the herb butter on top of my steak looked pretty it was frozen solid like an ice cube such a shame , my wife had salmon which was £19 95 and was meant to be poached when it arrived it was dry and looked grilled and was very small and shrivelled up such a shame . Unable to attract servers attention and being hungry we ate it . When the server came to collect plates I mentioned the condition of the salmon and showed the butter which was still frozen the comment was sorry and she went off no interaction from management at all we were then asked if we wanted coffee or desert we declined although we did want to finish of meal with coffee brandy desert and cheese and biscuits .unfortuanatly what started as a very nice evening was spoilt by bad cookin and a lack of attention to detail and our evening spoilt . I felt obligated to giving the staff a tip as the service was good other than the response to our complaint, I wouldn't have normally tipped after having a bad meal . We understand that the place has recently changed ownership and all I can say is please make sure the food is checked and matches up to the rest of the experience.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank spud77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you for your review, Im sorry you felt you weren't dealt with very efficiently that evening, it was an exceptionally busy evening with both restaurant and bar areas in use so staff were having to cover a lot of ground and a lot of guests, the young lady did mention that your butter was frozen, it does come straight from the freezer to the steak as the idea is your rub it over the hot steak so you can have as much or as little as you would like, if it went on soft it would just be a puddle of butter on your plate, Im sorry you felt the Salmon was overcooked, the kitchen hadn't expected you to take so long to eat the Mussels therefore the Salmon may have went out more cooked than normal but you should have just called someone over and they would have sorted this out for you, Ian is always on hand for any problems but he was not made aware of this until after you had gone and as the plates had come back clear we didn't realise there was a Big issue on your behalf otherwise we could have dealt with it. The hotel has been in the same successful hands for the past 11 years and our chef has been with us for the last 7 years. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We recently enjoyed a 1 night stay at Glenspean Lodge. It has been 19 years since we were last here and wondered why it's taken so long to come back.
We stayed in the Braveheart suite. This is probably one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. A lot of care & attention has obviously gone into decorating the whole hotel.
Thanks to Ian & Suzanne for looking after us.

Room Tip: Braveheart Suite is highly recommended
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SKSINCLAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you, it was lovely to have you stay with us lets hope its not so long until your next visit. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night while travelling around the highlands.
It's a beautiful hotel where the owners obviously take pride in it and it shows. Four poster room was gorgeous and very comfortable.
Hot tub was great but I wish we'd been told there were robes in the wardrobe as it would've saved us dashing through the hotel in our towels!
Evening meal and breakfast both to a high standard but I did miss baked beans with the breakfast but I guess that's just an English thing!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank DawnDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! shame you didn't see the bathrobes! and yes Beans is definitely an English thing you don't get them on Scottish breakfasts in many places :) hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the area, let me know and Ill get you some beans in. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

My husband has already reviewed our stay but I wanted to add my thanks to Ian for being such a welcoming and helpful host. We had a delicious dinner and enjoyed drinks in the bar til late. Our room was absolutely beautiful, stunning furnishings and a modern and bright bathroom. Such a peaceful and serene place! Had a lovely breakfast the next morning. I would happily have stayed on! Fabulous service, couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

Room Tip: Room one was beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Swampie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and your always welcome if your ever up in the area again. Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Booked this spot because it looked intriguing in photos. What a,good decision! Greeted by owner Ian who couldn't be more helpful and was on hand all night to cater for all his guests. Great food, great whiskys. Fantastic breakfast. Book it now!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Aaron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and hope we can welcome you back if your ever in the Highlands again! Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews