We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bar food isn't great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stopped by for an evening meal - August 2012

We were passed out the Bar Food menu which was very limiting and not very appealing. As we were a group of seven going on elsewhere was too much hassle so I resigned myself to their "Gourmet Burger".

What a joke. It was obviously a deep frozen burger, overcooked and served on a plain bun. Dry and horrible. The chips were limp and soggy.

It was only afterwards we discovered there is another restaurant menu we could have ordered from which has more interesting dishes like trout, lamb, etc.

Not a good experience :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank thehazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

I am sorry you felt our food was not good enough for your group, you would have been handed our very popular bar menu as you were a large party and had not booked a table, Our burgers are just standard 1/4lb burgers , they are not advertised anywhere as being "gourmet", unfortunately our chips are home-made and sometimes its hard for the kitchen to get the new potatoes in the summer months to go crispy, I apologise if these werent to your liking, if you had said something to a member of staff it could have been changed for you, we have very high standards in our food and don't like people to leave us dissapointed.
Regards
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Glenspean Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 335 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location. This lodge used to be an old hunting lodge. It is filled with character and is a true escape to the countryside. Everything about this lodge is first class...including the service. Rooms are great, bath areas pristine, decor oustanding. Did I mention the onsight restaurant? Each item we ordered was outstanding. Breakfast was served with the same high standards.

Outdoor seating with encompassing vistas make for a relaxing place for a pre meal drink.

Only area for improvement was the game room. The billiard table was in need of repair with non functioning cue sticks and the pockets needed mending. This was the only blip on an otherwise brilliant stay.

Yes...a bit pricey but service and amenities matched expectations for the monies spent.

Room Tip: Say hello to Oscar....the resident macaw.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes the kids have given the snooker room a bit of a hammering this summer so it is definately on the tlc list for this winter! we hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Ian & Suzanne & Oscar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We visited here for dinner while staying in Spean Bridge. I called earlier in the day to change the time and when we entered the owner welcomed us by name.

The bar, where we ate looked like it had been remodelled recently and in fact the decor of the whole place was very good. There was a good choice of things to eat and we were well looked after. Food was good and we loved the view from outside the hotel, which has very well kept grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
regards
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were staying in a holiday cottage nearby ( kinchellie croft which was also excellent ) and wanted a treat meal so we thought we would try the Glenspean Lodge and we were not disappointed, the service in the bar was really welcoming, the food was excellent, we sampled the haddock, gammon, steak and steak pie between the four of us and there were empty plates all around. Excellent .... We would definately go back to the Glenspean and would recommend it highly to all.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank lesleyandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, all our food is home-made, even the chunky chips ha! so its nice when our customers go away happy with full tummies, hope to see you again one day!
regards
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a room only basis - when I booked it, there did not seem to be any alternatives with breakfast and/or dinner, which was disappointing.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted and quickly taken to our room (#9). The room was lovely with a four-poster bed, comfy sofa, dressing-table, large flat screen TV and coffee/tea making facilities.

The TV had a very limited range of Freeview(?) TV channels. No BBC2, for example. There was plenty of storage space. However, we found it difficult to lay out both our suitcases as there was only one suitcase stand.

Although it was a very nice room, we did find a few minor annoyances with the lighting. The four poster had drapes at the head end which got in the way of the lighting from bedside tables, making reading in bed difficult. Also it would have been nice to have a standard lamp, or some type of directional lighting around the sofa - the main room lighting was a 5-bulb light. We did find the room a little dark, but the main lights were rather too bright.

The bathroom contained a shower over the bath, wash basin and WC. The bathroom lighting was excellent. It would have been better to have two hooks side by side on the bathroom door rather than one below another to allow the towels to dry better, as there was no heated towel rail.

The hotel had free wifi, though this seemed a little slow and intermittent.

The hotel has a restaurant and a bar. We had a choice of both menus in the bar but only the restaurant menu was available in the restaurant. The bar food was excellent, very generous helpings and quickly and efficiently served. The menu prices were very reasonable. The bar was used by both guests and locals which is usually a very good sign. The steak and ale pie was excellent - lean beef with a very rich gravy. The passion fruit cheesecake was also superb.

The staff/owners were very friendly and welcoming.

We found this hotel very quiet and a good location for Ben Nevis, Glen Coe, Glen Roy and many other attractions.

We certainly would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your review, we try and upgrade people where possible if we are quiet, but on this occasion upgrading you from a standard room to a four poster was a bad decision, the lighting in the standard room wouldnt have been obstructed by any curtains and would have in this case been better for you. Unfortunately we are not in an area that receives freeview channels so our tv channels are limited although we are trying to find ways round this, and we do play a dvd each night through the system to try and give extra viewing, thank you for all 3 of the reviews you have posted on different sites about this stay it was nice of you to take so much of your time, hopefully we can welcome you again one day.
regards
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at the Glenspean Lodge, what a beautiful hotel ! everywhere is wonderfully kept and the decor is delightful. We stayed in the Braveheart suite , lovely sitting area (with TV) gorgeous big bedroom (with TV) fabulous big corner bath (TV even in bathroom !). Lovely toiletries and towels. Tea , coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits replenished daily. Hairdryer and even straightners plus slippers . Dining room has fabulous views. The tableware was lovely and the food excellent. You can also eat in in the bar and the menu is extensive, portion sizes from the bar menu are huge ! The staff are friendly and effecient and the owners Ian and Suzanne are a lovely couple who are extremely hands on and head up a great team . The hotel is set in gorgeous gardens with amazing views. Can't recommend this hotel too highly, an excellent holiday and we will definetly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the view is amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, yes the Braveheart suite is our favourite too, lovely views! and who wouldnt like a tv in the bathroom ha! we hope we can welcome you back again one day
many thanks, Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Glenspean Lodge set in the Scottish Highlands is fabulous. Ian and Suzanne the owners are amazing! They have done a wonderful job of maintaining the integrity of the former hunting lodge and incorporating modern conveniences in bathrooms and throughout the lodge. The restaurant was excellent. The menu had a variety of choices with very good prices. Would highly recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone traveling in the Scottish Highlands.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful views. Call ahead and share you needs or request.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieRosevilleCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, its nice when people appreciate that we have tried to keep the character of the house while trying to keep the amenities up to date, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welocme you back again one day!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
12.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
728 reviews
6.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
949 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
573 reviews
20.6 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenspean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenspean Lodge Hotel

Address: Roybridge PH314AW, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Price Range: $154 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenspean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenspean Hotel Roybridge
Best Western Roybridge
Best Western Fort William
Glenspean Lodge Hotel Scotland/Roybridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing