We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at the Glenspean Lodge, what a beautiful hotel ! everywhere is wonderfully kept and the decor is delightful. We stayed in the Braveheart suite , lovely sitting area (with TV) gorgeous big bedroom (with TV) fabulous big corner bath (TV even in bathroom !). Lovely toiletries and towels. Tea , coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits replenished daily. Hairdryer and even straightners plus slippers . Dining room has fabulous views. The tableware was lovely and the food excellent. You can also eat in in the bar and the menu is extensive, portion sizes from the bar menu are huge ! The staff are friendly and effecient and the owners Ian and Suzanne are a lovely couple who are extremely hands on and head up a great team . The hotel is set in gorgeous gardens with amazing views. Can't recommend this hotel too highly, an excellent holiday and we will definetly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariceManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, yes the Braveheart suite is our favourite too, lovely views! and who wouldnt like a tv in the bathroom ha! we hope we can welcome you back again one day
many thanks, Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 338 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Glenspean Lodge set in the Scottish Highlands is fabulous. Ian and Suzanne the owners are amazing! They have done a wonderful job of maintaining the integrity of the former hunting lodge and incorporating modern conveniences in bathrooms and throughout the lodge. The restaurant was excellent. The menu had a variety of choices with very good prices. Would highly recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone traveling in the Scottish Highlands.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful views. Call ahead and share you needs or request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieRosevilleCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, its nice when people appreciate that we have tried to keep the character of the house while trying to keep the amenities up to date, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welocme you back again one day!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for one night and wished I could have stayed much longer. This is one perfect little hotel. The check-on was nice and personal and the room was a dream. It even hat a Ben Nevis view. This was a former hunting lodge for an Earl (I think, he was an Earl) and it's so charming. I also had dinner at the bar and lounge and it was fabulous. The people at the Glenspean Lodge really know how to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babdr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great place to stay for Mountainbike World Cup. We had a very pleasant and relaxing time at this hotel. The owners are fantastic and really go out of there way to make you feel at home and relaxed, which is exactly what you need after a hard days work in the Mountains.
Bedrooms are super comfortable which "plenty" of cushions and bedding. My room had a great view and all the right facilities.
The bar is well stocked and cosy and the bar food fantastic.
If you stay make sure you use the games room and hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us, one man did say I had "Cushionitus" I do like lots of cushions, so our guests are comfortable! hoepfully we can welcome you back one day
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Traveled to this area for Downhill World Bicycle race and everything was booked so we stayed outside of Ft. William and were we glad. Suzanne & Ian and their son Jamie were great. The food was wonderful at the end of our work day. Wish the windows in room had a screen for some air but as another person said, bats come out at night. The owners were wonderful and tried to help us find a box we shipped via UPS - which never showed up. We always sat in the bar and the chef prepared fabulous food! This time of the year the bugs, 'meegins' were out so that was a challenge but a little spray and all was good. Breakfast was great as well. Wonderful place to stay. The little market in Spean Bridge was good as well as the owners who helped too!

Room Tip: We had a view of the mountains...awesome to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

It was lovely to meet you both, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, glad you went home with the trophy too!
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed one night in room No1 at this lovely place which is approx 15 miles out of Fort William.

The Good:
Great views and setting
Comfortable beds
Good selection of food (we had the mussels and chicken curry for dinner which were very yummy). The breakfast was also fine. Cooked food to made to order.
Free (unsecured) wi-fi
Good local knowledge and advice on the area and travel beyond
The bad:
The room was a tad warm, couldn't open the window because as we were told the "bats could get in at night"! So, we just slept under a single sheet.
The bathroom was small with very little space to put your toiletries.

Overall, we would reccommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in an out of the way/quiet location enroute North to Inverness or South to Stirling Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, unfortunately as the house was built in the 1800's the bathrooms were squeezed in where possible which meant a couple of them are rather small unfortunately, I am sorry you felt you had to keep the windows totally shut, we do advise keeping them low to avoid the midgees or bats flying in during the summer months, had we known we could have given you a fan to keep you cool. We do hope we can welcome you back if you are ever in the area again.
Ian & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Glenspean Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. A warm weclome from Suzanne and Ian, a great bar with standard and local beers, and a lot of different whiskies. The food was fabulous with either the extensive restaurant or bar menus to choose from. Views look back over the Nevis Range from the restaurant and a number of the rooms. The rooms are spotless and all decorated differently. Beds are really comfortable and our bathroom was a real treat with a bath that looked out over the mountains (room 11). Breakfast was delicious. Beautiful terrace and garden. Nothing to fault at all here, other than we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansue86, Owner at Glenspean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed the roll top bath, it took me three years to persuade Ian that bathroom needed one just there!, hopefully we can welcome you back to Glenspean lodge in the future
Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
6.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
962 reviews
12.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
750 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,246 reviews
12.4 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenspean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenspean Lodge Hotel

Address: Roybridge PH314AW, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Glenspean Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roybridge
Price Range: $167 - $728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenspean Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenspean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenspean Hotel Roybridge
Best Western Roybridge
Best Western Fort William
Glenspean Lodge Hotel Scotland/Roybridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing