We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific value for money - just what we needed!”
Review of Roybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roybridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Roybridge B&B and Inns
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific value for money - just what we needed!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A group from our company recently took part in the Caledonian Challenge. We needed to find accommodation for 40 people for one night. We needed somewhere close to the start line, with sufficient accommodation at a good price, and also an evening meal - the Roybridge Hotel tick all those boxes.

As you can imagine with a group of 40 people, it isn’t all that easy to ensure it all runs smoothly, so this side of it was made so much easier with the correspondence from Becky – this really did make life a lot easier!

We used all the rooms up bar the 8-bed room in the Bunkhouse, so I had the opportunity to look at the rooms in the Hotel, Hostel and Bunkhouse. Contrary to some of the other comments I’ve seen, the rooms were clean and tidy with fresh bed linen. For roughly £12pppn, we got extremely good value for money. The evening meal was served in two sittings, given the size of our group……this was handled very efficiently and the food was perfect for what we needed. The Public Bar next door was a great place to get a drink and socialise – great way to relax the night before the big event.

All, in all, we have nothing but positive remarks to leave about the Roybridge Hotel…..a warm and welcoming host, who provided accommodation and food that was fantastic value for money.

One of the managers left a jacket behind, which he didn’t notice until we got back to Aberdeen. He phoned them and they have made arrangements to get it sent on to him….no fuss, just did – we really appreciated that approach and kind of personified the spirit of the hotel.

We would have no hesitation in re-booking the Roybridge Hotel again if we partake in the Caledonian Challenge again next year.

Room Tip: Fantatsic value accomodation and food for large groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkigerstaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    18
    13
    21
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for one night. We payed 45 for two people including breakfast. Did I expect the Ritz for this...absolutely not. In fact what I got was better than I had thought and although tired and a little outdated it had everything I needed. The bar food was ok and the bar had a good atmosphere. I quite enjoyed the hotel on a rustic level and knew that it has been a good deal. My only gripe was breakfast. Sausages should be cooked no matter how much I payed - it would not have been worth the price if I had been on the loo all day - needless to say I left it. All in all a good stop at a cheap price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in their bunkhouse here as part of a group so I didn't book it. Granted it is cheap about (£12) per night. However I expected a basic level of cleanliness. Bathrooms and rooms were dusty. My room had dampness. Furniture was broken.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roybridge hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A bit on the rustic side with a hearty old-school feel. The communal room was a good shout for cooking your breakfast at midday. The pub even had dominoes. Certainly a good base for exploring the area: handy enough for Fort William whilst far away enough to feel in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jypers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

An Ok value for money hotel. But very noisy until 1am .Rooms were right over downstairs bar. Dusty rooms with cob webs dirty windows .Breakfast ok but rationed. Tea always cold and evening meal terrible. wont be going again

Room Tip: 2nd floor to reduce noise from bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordoun
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Not the most glorious hostel in the world but it delivered everything I needed at a good price; beds, warm showers and good kitchen facilities. Have to disagree with some of the comments below r.e. the staff, they were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome; particularly Ron :)

I will def be back as it served as a good base for hillwalking and exploring the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gablegableend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here to explore the local area and it acted as a good base. It is your typical scottish pub hotel - that is, not overly friendly staff but they do their job well and rooms that could do with a facelift but are still comfortable nonetheless. The food from the restaurant was good, as was breakfast, and parking is easy. At night time the music from the pub did play on until about midnight and you could hear it so that interfered with sleep a bit. Don't stay if you are into luxury hotels, but do if you want a comfortable bed in a lovely setting with good food and a pub atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roybridge
0.0 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stronlossit Inn
The Stronlossit Inn
#3 of 4 in Roybridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homagen
Homagen
#2 of 4 in Roybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roybridge Hotel

Property: Roybridge Hotel
Address: Roybridge PH31 4AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Roybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Roybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Roybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roybridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing