We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Queens Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Verve Hotel(Bedford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
d'Parys Hotel(Bedford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
74
71
27
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
71
27
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstayed one nightfish and chipsgood sizeroom was clean and comfortabletea and coffeefull english breakfastwould stay againbevmanageressbedfordhostelrypodpint
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 204 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was surprised just now coming on to see people complaining about the service. We had a lovely friendly welcome and found the staff helpful and pleasant - so maybe they've been reading the reviews?? Also, our breakfast was delicious - we had the full English and it was yum! The room was a bit dated but was very clean, the shower was heaven and the beds were comfi. There was a large selection of hot chocolate, tea and coffee and numerous biscuits. I only took a star off because the rooms need redecorating and modernising. But I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shnooks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Queens Head and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 as a family. Booked a twin room and double room. Both of which were highly commendable once you navigate the maze of corridors to find them, they had all the comforts you would expect, the beds were very soft which is good for me but not everyone. The rooms are spacious considering the look of the building however my bathroom in room 6 was very cramped was a stress to use when using the basin in particular. Also no toiletries were provided apart from a small shampoo bottle. Plenty of space and storage in the room itself and heaters worked quickly at first use.

The disappointing element to our stay was at breakfast on our only morning at the inn, considering there 14 rooms the staff really could've done better, we only saw two staff working in the hotel that morning, one doing the front of house, serving breakfast, taking orders, and one in the kitchen. The breakfast consists of a buffet table, the menu promised fruit salad, three juices, pastries and cereals; we had a bowl of over ripe melon, a few yoghurts, one jug of orange juice that was not replenished, a few burnt croissants and some selection of cereals. This was seriously disappointing.

You could then order a cooked element to the breakfast, the full English looked good but my smoked salmon and eggs was absolutely rubbish, the salmon would have been fine if it hadn't been soaked by eggy water from the badly prepared scrambled eggs, which were themselves tasteless. To add insult to injury the cooked breakfast arrived in excess of 35 minutes to arrive after ordering which was unacceptable. The only thing the redeemed the breakfast was the tea and coffee and the toast.

On the whole the breakfast really let the stay down, the rooms were cosy and just what you'd expect, but avoid staying here unless you are going to Bodyflight the next morning like we did, purely for the location, I'm sure there are lots of better alternatives in the Bedford area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfinchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on the web, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to give the best service and do apologise if we didn't on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of an old english Inns deal, the value for money on the whole being ok. The issue we had was the lady we believe to be the manager (Bev) whos customer services skills were a cross between a old fashioned hospital matron and hitler. She was rude and regimental. her approach was poor and many of the guests were put off as we were to stay for food after breakfast. The situation was compounded by her in ability to get the bill right ( or her ability to get it wrong to help profits!). Two nights on the trot our bill was wrong with additional food and drinks being added, on both occassions i had to get the bill amended. The only day the frost in her approach seemed to thaw was on the last day of the break, ie the sunday. I can only imagine she looked forward to less work load.

The sad fact is the rest of the staff were good, a young girl who seemed new greated us and was very helpful, two others we saw a lady called Deb abd a young fella I think was called jason were great. The food was of a good standard and the rooms were of a good size and kept in a nice clean condition throughout our stay.

Had the manager been even average we would have marked this hotel much higher, but as mentioned above with such poor standards and shall we say concerning mistakes with the bill generation it has to be a low marking.

Room Tip: If you need to use this hotel check if Bev is on duty its much better when shes not there
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThereWillYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We always strive to give the best service and do apologise if we didn't on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights, uding it as s base for the falconry school in nearby Biggleswade. We had breakfast and dinner at the Queen's Head. Lovely room with oak beamed ceiling. Comfy bed, tv, tea/coffee facilities and plenty of space for clothes. The pub is very welcoming and has a nice atmosphere. Very reasonable food, prices and nice service. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you fro taking the time to put your lovely comments on to the web. I am glad that Beverley and the team at the Queens Head looked after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very friendly, warm and welcoming Old English Inn. The rooms are characterful, altghough beginning to look a bit lived in. The dinner and lunch menus are very good, serving high quality, well cooked meals, Breakfast is more than adequate, offering continental or full English meals.

The bar prices are reasonable, although additional bar staff would be an assett.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. Our small team at the Queens Head work hard to make sure there guest enjoy there stays. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews