We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back again”
Review of Brackenrigg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brackenrigg Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Watermillock B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Inn for one night as we had a family celebration the next day in Ambleside. Like a previous commentator, I was surprised to see major renovation and redecoration going on. I was told upon commenting on it that an email had been sent but I certainly didn't receive it. Having said that, it didn't really spoil or stay and I would be happy to return if for nothing else than the views. The rooms are quite small and could do with updating but it was a very comfortable bed although my room was right above the bar area and there was conversation noise from there. We had dinner here and it was lovely. I had asked the waitress what a particular dressing was as I couldn't identify the taste. A few minutes later the chef came through and had written out the recipe for me which I thought was a nice touch. The staff were all very pleasant, if not a little stressed by the work going on. I think what they are doing should enhance the Inn as they are making a separate lounge area for anyone who may just want to sit and read a book or have a coffee after dinner instead of going into the bar. It did help that the day we arrived was glorious and on our return from our walk up Aira Falls and Gowbarrow fell we sat outside in wonderful sunshine and drank in the view...and a wee glass of wine. Breakfast was plentiful. although we did have to wait a bit. They seemed to be a bit understaffed with only one waitress on duty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Fifetraveller30,

Thank you for your comments.
We apologise that you didn't receive the e-mail with regards to the refurbishment. However, we are pleased to see that it did not disturb your stay too much.
The rooms are looking to be gradually updated throughout the winter period so hopefully this will be done by the next time you visit.
The lounge and restaurant are complete now, so even if there isn't the glorious sunshine you experienced on your last visit, as you said, you can enjoy the view or a book indoors.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband decided to have a night away in ullswater for our wedding anniversary. We arrived at the hotel at around 12pm. We knew we couldn't check in until 4pm (which if you ask me is very late) and were met with what can only be described as a complete refurbishment of the reception and restaurant areas. This took us completely by surprise as my husband only booked it last week and nothing was mentioned to him about this when he rang them to book it. We went out for the day and checked into out room at 4pm and was escorted to our room by a nice man who apologised for the mess which included dust rags all over the floor which we had to step over. The bedrooms are ok but could do with updating. We are very disappointed as we came to have a romantic night away in a peaceful location and we were sat outside in the sun having a drink with the noise of a power drill in the background. If we had know they were refurbishing we would have booked somewhere else. It has spoilt our anniversary and we will not be returning!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimlou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Kimlou84,

Thank you for your comments that you have taken the time to submit.
We apologise that you were not notified about the refurbishment as we tried to ensure that everyone was informed, either by phone or e-mail.
With regards to the check in time of 4pm, we do state this on the confirmation letter. However we always try to accommodate early arrivals if we are notified in advance.
We do hope that you will give the Brackenrigg Inn another try and perhaps enjoy a romantic meal in our refurbished Restaurant area.
Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights en route to Scotland,the food and wheelchair accessible room was first class and the "wet room" one of the best I have ever encountered.
My only criticism is that in the room between the lounge area and the bedroom area is a quite narrow and twisting passage way which may prove difficult. for some wheelchair users

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Derek1948,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on here.
It is pleaseing to hear that the accommodation was suitable for yourself as we do try to make Room 14 as wheelchair friendly as possible. Of course there will be things that you will notice more so than us and we do appreciate being informed of things that help to make your stay more enjoyable and comfortable.
We have noted your concern about the corridor and will look to address this.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arranged a last minute 3 night break at the Brackenrigg Inn. We were a wee bit nervous about going as my hubby is in a wheelchair and it had not been easy to find suitable accomodation. Our fears were unfounded and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in the easy accessible unit with a bedroom and a small lounge, it was great for us. The wet room was very good with lots of bars etc on the walls for assistance and the bed was that bit higher which made it easier for my husband to get out of bed. There was a pathway for the wheelchair to get to breakfast and dinner which at the time of our visit was being served in the Bar as the Dining Room was being decorated. The food was very good and so was the staff who were also obliging and very helpful. We will be back here as we thoroughly enjoyed the break along with the lovely scenery. Breathtaking!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamond_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Lamond_10,

Thank you for the review that you have submitted.
It is always good to hear comments about the wheelchair accessibility and the accommodation provided. Our aim is for this particular Suite to be as wheelchair friendly as possible therefore your feedback is very much appreciated.
Your comments have been passed on to all the team and we do hope that you will come back to join us soon.
Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Brackenrigg Inn with our dog. We were impressed with the size of the suite and the Inn was friendly and welcoming. We found the staff to be very helpful (we had forgotten the dog bowl and on enquiry one was provided ). The evening food was excellent and the full English breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. Definitely set one up for the hill walking. A very enjoyable stay and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Alujo,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. They have been passed on to all the staff and are well received.
We hope to welcome you both (and the dog!) back soon.
Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Brackenrigg on a number of occasions, and this time spent a couple of nights including my birthday.
We booked dinner/bed and breakfast in one of the suites which are situated in an adjoining annex, this was spacious and comfortable.
The bar is a traditional pub with an excellent range of beers.
The menu (the same in the bar or restaurant) is first class with a most dishes based on local produce.
The service was very good and the staff friendly and obliging.
The views from the hotel across Ullswater are outstanding and rival any travel poster.
Highly recomended

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best views, the annex suites are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear RAYKAV,

Thank you so much for putting a lovely review on Trip Advisor.
It is always nice to hear that you have enjoyed yourselves and it is even better to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday with us at the Brackenrigg Inn.
We do hope we will get to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped for two nights on the way back from scotland. Had a really enjoyable break at the Brackenrigg Inn. Don't know where some of the review people were staying but this is our opinion.
The staff were excellent, could not do enough for us and were extremely pleasant.
The food in the restaurant was very good and considering the price of the room, not expensive.
Our room (on the front of the Inn), was very clean and tidy and had a lovely view accross Ullswater.
Also included in the price is the breakfast, which would merit five stars in a lot of establishments (must admit I did have the full english!).
Not forgetting the location, just fantastic, easy access from Penrith, easy access to explore the surrounding area.
The staff worked hard to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable, so we thoroughly recommend the Brackenrigg

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmatt_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager646, Manager at Brackenrigg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear denmatt_70,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us at the Brackenrigg Inn.
Your comments are very much appreciated by all the staff and the Chefs. It is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we hope that we will get to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
418 reviews
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
5.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Ullswater View
Ullswater View
#1 of 3 in Watermillock
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenrigg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenrigg Inn

Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watermillock
Price Range: $104 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenrigg Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the brow of a hill overlooking picturesque Ullswater in the beautiful English Lake District, The Brackenrigg Inn provides excellent accommodation for those wishing to explore this stunning part of the world. With comfortable guest bedrooms, delicious food and drink and a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, this 18th-century coaching Inn is the ideal place for walkers, families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brackenrigg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenrigg Hotel Watermillock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing