We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heavenly little place and we will definately be back !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ullswater View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ullswater View
Ranked #1 of 3 Watermillock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“heavenly little place and we will definately be back !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Had a three night stay in this lovely homeley guest house.
The scenery is picturesque to say the least with stunning views of Ullswater Lake and surrounding hills.
The rooms are very nice with a lovely comfortable bed, good size wall mounted flat TV and well stocked tea / coffee facilities along with still and sparkling water.
The staff are top class and their attentiveness made our stay as pleasureable as could have been.
Breakfast is to die for, with the standard of produce being served the best I have ever had,
accompanied by toasted home made bread and fruit bread (which can and was purchased to take away by ourselves) which I would reccomend doing this as is fabulous toasted !!!
Overall fantastic stay and would highly reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksteele0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    38
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
127
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was our first stay in the Lake District and my husband had booked The Ullswater VIew for my birthday.We were made to feel really welcome and the room that we stayed in had only just been recently refurbished.I can only say it was absolutely gorgeous with a jacuzzi in the room that you could luxuriate in with a glass of wine while enjoying the views.Everything was done to a really high standard and i cant praise the owner and the satff enough for making our stay very pleasurable.A fab hotel in a beautiful part of the country.We will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairestoke-on-trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

This was a lucky find. A cosy little place in an idyllic setting. A very personal friendly service. I foolishly locked us out of our room, but the owner got hold of a ladder and climbed up through the window to let us in again. I'm sure she has spare keys now because of that.....
Would definitely stay here again.
It was actually August 2009 we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiinomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Other reviews say it all but one outstanding thing is how jullie welcoms you into her
home and looks after you like one of her family.Thank you julie and we will definitely be back. peter and friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My mum had booked this b&b for a wedding but it was cancelled due to snow but she'd already paid a deposit and so she offered it to us for our wedding anniversary. The only room left was a superior room so I don't know what the standard rooms were like but the superior one was fantastic. The B&B itself seems to be undergoing renovation as parts are very modern and other bits look a bit tired - but Julie, the owner, got it the right way round doing the rooms and sitting room first before addressing the hall and breakfast room. The sitting room is wonderful - light and airy, very comfy, modern furnishings with games & a tv. The room iself had everything you could possibly want in it. The bed was super comfy, fantastic flat screen tv, great tea & coffee facilities, robes, slippers and all amenities provided. The shower was an amazing walk in one with a waterfall shower - fantastic. The room, for a superior room was on the small side but you don't really go to the lake district to stay in your room! It's not right on the Ullswater lake, but the view is nice and there's a great taxi service that can take you to Glenridding or Pooley Bridge villages that are nearby. The breakfast was nice although the full English was a bit greasy. I'd say its a very comfy well renovated b&b in a good location for weddings at nearby hotels or to explore the surrounding countryside. It's not one for romantic hideaways as such and isn't great if you want to be in a Cumbrian town, within walking distance of amenities.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra £10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

What can I say that's not already been said about this place.
The location is great with lovely views out onto the lake.
I booked here as a "stopover" on the way to Scotland & again for the journey back. I really wished we had stayed here for a couple of extra days.
Tea & coffee in the conservatory on our arrival was a nice touch also.
The rooms are furnished to high standard & very clean.
Loved the breakfast as well.
I can't recommend this place highly enough, it really is a great place to stay.
Perfect location for exploring around Ullswater & the other lakes.
Thanks to Julie (& Milly) for making our stay so welcoming.
We will be back very soon :)

Paul & Becky..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrabTawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

A lovely B&B in a very beautiful location. Our double room was very comfortable but we did have a look at the newly refurbished bedrooms and they certainly had the WOW factor. Both were very tastefully furnished with wonderful views to the lake and one of them had a huge jacuzzi bath in the room. The breakfast was top notch, good quality food and plenty of choice. We would not hesitate to recommend this Guest House - it even has a bar!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
1.2 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
6.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater View

Property: Ullswater View
Address: A592 | Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ullswater View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ullswater View Hotel Ullswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing