We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Beautiful Grounds.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport, S.Wales.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Beautiful Grounds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

We booked through Superbreak for a 2 night deal with dinner on the first night for £210 in total. This seemed a very good deal for the standard of hotel and food. When we arrived there was a problem with the electricity and we were told there would be no power for a few hours, however, the gentleman on reception did advise us of some local attractions to visit and the power was back on when we returned to the hotel. The room was in the main building and overlooked the gardens. It was a really lovely room with a high ceiling and a big window at the foot of the bed. but it did get a little warm during the day and the window didn't open very wide. The bathroom was really nice and spotlessly clean. It had a heated towel rail. The bed was extremely comfortable so much so that I didn't want to get out of it although the duvet was a bit thick and warm, a problem I find in most hotels.
The breakfast was fantastic with ample choice on the buffet and a good choice of cooked items. My only criticism was that the porridge was too salty but maybe thats the way its supposed to be. The yoghurt and fruits were particularly nice, especially the fresh figs.
Dinner was very good but it was quite minimalist. The chef is obviously very talented but portions were quite small and very 'haute cuisine'. However, it was enough for me and a very enjoyable experience on the whole. It would have been expensive had it not been included in our deal and we chose not to eat there the second night, when we found a nice restaurant in Penrith, just up the road.
Service was excellent and the staff were extremely polite and helpful.
The gardens are very impressive with red sqirrels and rabbits.. You can walk right down to the lake.
This hotel is lovely and well worth a visit but it is quite upmarket and not the type of place you may want after a long day out walking when you simply want to chill out. The atmosphere at dinner and breakfast was quite formal but it is a 4 star hotel and its aim is to provide a luxury break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GladysWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    319
    126
    48
    25
See reviews for
133
844
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is set in a beautiful part of the country.

We were disappointed with this hotel. Our room was tiny and we overlooked an annex. The annex rooms had balconies, but our room had neither a good view, or a balcony. We had to leave a note for the maid to ask her not to leave the window open each day because we kept returning to flies in the room (about 10) which was not very pleasant.

On our first morning at this hotel, we were woken up by a coach full of Japanese tourists who were all talking excitedly in the foyer at 6am in the morning!!! Fortunately, they were all leaving and the rest of our stay was undisturbed.

On our arrival, the staff were courteous but lacked friendliness and this continued throughout our 4 night stay. Even though we had to pass the reception desk on our exit and return, the staff rarely spoke to us unless we spoke first. There was no "Welcome" or "Enjoy your day." We were just ignored.

The breakfast was good and there was a nice selection of food. However, once again the service was very reserved until our last morning there, when a different waiter actually spoke to us, asked if everything was ok and would we like more toast or hot chocolate. His friendliness was like a breath of fresh air.

We had room service on two occasions and the food was expensive and the portions were small, but the quality was good. The service was efficient.

I would not wish to return here, despite its good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ennl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The food, service, room, views, ambience and whole feel o the hotel could not have been better. We'd mentioned that it was our 36 Weddig Anniversary and we were given a free upgrade to a feature room and beautiful it was too. This is a very special plcae.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNGlenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

after a small mix up with our room, john the duty manager quickly resolved the problem, suzanne the head of house keeping stayed on duty to help with our wet cloths after a great but wet days sailing.All the staff were excellent,the room was very clean we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

What can I say? Leming house it's a pretty little hotel nothing really around I would about 5 miles from the nearest little town which has very little in but very scenic.

Nit a big fan of the rooms quite small and very uncomfortable furniture we didn't sleep properly for the whole 3 nights.

All in all I would say a very average hotel with nice scenery not from the classic room however.

And nice breakfast buffet!

Niether impresent or disappointed

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We simply wanted a stopever to break our journey to Scotland and identified Leeming House as only 15 mins. from the M6. Our visit turned out to be so much more than that! The hotel was warm and welcoming. It had all of the advantages of a well known chain, but was so personal, we genuinely felt at home and relaxed.

The hotel benefits from idylic views, amazing staff and leadership. The Manager genuinely cares about his guests experience and is a treu front of house host. This service was reflected throughout our short stay by all of the staff. Finding the energy to rise from such a comfortable bed was a cahllenge. The cream teas, superb restaurant food and excellent breakfast all made us wish we were staying longer. We will certainly be back. A true gem that McDonalds shuld be proud of

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsJEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over 13th to 15th August.We were allocated room 12 which overlooks the car park and is directly above reception.My wife booked the hotel through Superbreak and got a good deal over the two nights we stayed which included dinner on the Friday night.
The hotel itself consists of the main house which is about 200 yrs old so has a few creaky boards and a large newer block with balcony rooms which according to the hotels own literature was built just over 10 years ago.
The room was nice and well furnished and the bathroom perfectly okay with plenty of towels and shower gel/soap etc..We arrived on Friday afternoon and were greeted by the reception manager who was a consumate professional and this standard runs right through the staff who were without fail excellent throughout our time there.
There were some issues with the bathroom on the Saturday evening when my wife found some very small insects in the bathroom.The general manager attended and suitable action was taken.I would stay at this hotel again without any problem at all.Lastly the dinner on Friday evening was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
16.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing