We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from Leeming House after having had our reception there yesterday. The service, both prior and during the event was first class and all the guests were thoroughly impressed. The food was excellent and a vast improvement on our previous visit there. The location of the hotel is fantastic. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

I am surprised at the mixed reviews for Leeming House. We have just arrived back after spending 2 nights over the May Bank Holiday. We found the staff courteous and helpful. We chose the rooms leading on to the lawn and lake-what a beautiful setting. We were not made to feel unwelcome because of our dog. We will certainly be back next year.
Thankyou to the manager, Susan and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

really lovely hotel, staff and grounds. we went there with our dogs and we were given a room that had french doors out on to the very well kept gardens that lead down to the lake.
excellent room, excellent staff and excellent loaction.
def worth every one of the 4*'s!
breakfast was gorgeous too. we are well travelled and anyone who picks fault with this hotel is expecting ridiculous amounts.
ignore the bad reviews and ask speciafiaccaly for room 14-19.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzybluns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We did not stay at this hotel but did book afternoon tea for my friends 50th..what a disgrace. Not enough to feed a sparrow, dry sponge cake, asked to see the manager, he compensated us with white chocolate mousse decorated with rhubarb..just the thing you have a taste for in the middle of the afternoon to follow cucumber sandwiches.Cannot fault the location..but the food is something you might expect to get from a supermarket cafe!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delphene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Despite some doubtful reviews of this hotel in the recent past, we decided to book Leeming House once again making this our fifth or sixth stay in the last 4 years. Since our last stay the hotel had undergone some refurbishment with some new carpets and slim TVs and also a change of manager.
We thought that Mr Lawrence would be a hard act to follow and the jury is still out on that one. Nevertheless we were very satisfied with our 4 night stay. The staff on reception went out of their way to make us welcome and they delivered a high standard throughout our stay.
We had booked a special offer D, B & B and the food reflected the hotel's 3 rosette rating. The serving staff were mostly extremely pleasant and the room was clean, well tended and very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireDrWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed for just 1 night having booked via Expedia. Paid £115 for B&B. The room was flawless with a fantastic view and balcony but the food was appalling. We got room service for dinner due to our late arrival at the hotel, I had 'homemade soup' which was clearly out of a tin, probably Heinz tomato and my partner had very expensive fish and chips. His meal did look very nice and he was happy with it. For breakfast I chose the 'bakers basket'. Again this was clearly not home made. A few dry mini pastries rather like those from a supermarket and, to my surprise, mini doughnuts - who eats mini doughnuts for breakfast?! Based on the price and location I would not recommend this hotel. There are no eating alternatives within walking distance so you are rather captive. The gardens were a mess and the public rooms rather tired. The food was awful; it was like they had one overworked chef and a contract with a naf supermarket for the rest!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in Leeming House. It's a gorgeous old house whose website really does not do it justice. The common areas are fantastic for spending a leisurely hour our two after a morning out and about. The staff were so friendly and very attentive.
The food was great - we had breakfast both mornings and one afternoon meal which was prepared to a high standard. We had two rooms and both were well appointed and extreemly comfortable, one opened out onto the lawns and had a stunning view out to the lakes.

looking forward to a trip back already!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alv30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: $186 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing