We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful, lovely”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here while travelling south from Scotland. The hotel is situated not far from the M6 but well away from the crowds in other parts of the Lake District. It is close to Lake Ullswater and has its own extensive attractive grounds stretching down to the lake. We were welcomed on arrival and had a room overlooking the gardens and lake. The bed was comfortable. We had a leisurely drink before dinner and were then escorted into the restaurant where we had an excellent meal. There are several lounge areas to relax in or chat to other guests. Breakfast was also very good with a small selection of cooked food. We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast package and this was very good value (specials are sometimes advertised). Our only regret was that we only stayed one night as it is such a lovely area. We hope to be back sometime, perhaps for a longer stay.

Room Tip: A featured room is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Bill M

So pleased to hear you had such a relaxing stay with us, , coupled with the fact you were happy with your room and found the food to be excellent, thats what Leeming is all about.

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    328
    128
    49
    27
See reviews for
138
861
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Having looked at booking this hotel on a number of occasions we decided to go for it, the setting is exceptional with gardens that go down to the lake shore.
The hotel we felt was not the best Macdonald hotel we have ever stayed in, the executive room we booked was small and the standard of a classic room we have enjoyed in other Macdonald hotels.

We booked DBB so ate in the restaurant, the food was good but we felt the menu which was the same on both nights was uninspiring and overpriced. Being on a £35 allowance for dinner meant that it was difficult to manage 3 courses without incurring additional cost, the breakfast were excellent.
The saving grace of this hotel for us was the staff who were exceptional together with the gorgeous views from most of the rooms.
The exterior of the hotel is getting a face lift at the moment but be warned if considering booking a balcony room as the balconies are in a shocking state

Room Tip: Contact hotel to discuss your room requirements, executive rooms vary and can be the standard and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good afternoon
Thank you for staying with us at Leeming House and for your verypositive comments regarding the team
I do apologise with regard to your balcony, they are currently all undergoing a refurbishment and being painted. All Macdonald Hotels are very individual often beautiful country houses such as Leeming House, therefore there is a differnce in size , shape etc to many rooms, however we do all aim to deliver the same standards of product and cleanliness etc. There are some rooms which will carry a supplement, such as feature rooms which overlook the lake and surrounding fells.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personaly and I would be happy to discuss any of your comments further and ensure I can offer the best room type to suit your expectation should you wish to visit again.
Thank you again for yyour feedback
Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 days and 1 evening here for a meeting. The hotel is set in a stunning location and the gardens are beautiful overlooking the lake and the hills. The meeting room was fine. Lunch was good on both days and the evening meal was excellent. I would like to mention the restaurant manager not sure of his name but he would so accommodating as I am a vegetarian and said I could have whatever I wanted! Room was large with balconies overlooking the spectacular view. Shame the weather was so awful as would have liked to have had opportunity to do some walking. One negative comment was thought it was over priced as an example £7.50 for a
Sand which or £10 a glass of wine is excessive. Other than the price of food and drinks would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soliver1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, I can see you were staying on business so it is good to hear the meeting room was as you would require. Leeming House is a great placew for meetings, with all that you would expect from a corperate hotel with the addition as you have said of the beautiful surroundings within the house and stunning views and grounds outside, it can combine work with leisure

Arek is our Restaurant Manager who looked after you, I am glad to hear your food preference was catered for easily and to your staisfaction.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed a Saturday night at this hotel and found it to be one of our more relaxing breaks away from home.
The hotel is set with woodland surroundings with a view of the lake and a pat which leads from the hotel down to the waterfront. The hotel itself has period features inside and out, yet still keeping with the times. The only snag we had was in the bathroom, the water seemed to cut out regularly and start back up, but I think this may have been somethiong to do with the busy time of the day that I chose to take a shower. It still worker nether the less.
We didn't dine in the evening, however we did eat breakfast in the restaurant and found that the service was quick and thorough. Attention to detail was made and staff tried to seat guests by the window where possible so we could dine looking fown over the lake.
We managed to find a window seat in the bar the evening before and watched the sun go down. Very peaceful and relaxing and staff once again were on hand if required.
Our praise goes out to Molly on reception who always had a smile and provided a warm greeting to guests on exit and entry to the hotel. The courtesy call to the room shortly after check in was a nice touch. Also to Arek who was both waiting on and behind the bar. He was pleasant to talk to, had an easy sense of humour and also made sure that guests were attended to.
The hotel is only about 2 miles from Pooley Bridge so within easy access of other bars/restaurants/Ullswater Steamer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for such lovely feedback

It is always a great compliment when a guest lets us know how much they have enjoyed their stay, especially when the staff have contributed to this. Mollie and Arek are very customer focused and i know they will be proud to read your comments.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort william
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had stayed for our 30th Wedding anniversary, and we were treated like royalty. Our stay was one of our best x.
The staff are wonderful, the man in charge of the restaurant is first class an asset to the hotel. Our room was on the ground floor, it was clean and tidy, the chamber maids were very good.

Room Tip: Get a room at the hotels front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maccolin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
You are more than welcome and I know that the team will be pleased to see your feedback, we try to make all of our guests feel special, hin particular when celebrating a special occasion.

Hopefully you will be able to return in the future

Kind regards

Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are regular users of the Macdonald Hotel chain and found this one a little different and bland, we were told that we would be in an executive suit as normal but on arrival it looked just like a standard room, ok it had a ground floor balcony but nothing to write home about. The evening meal seemed expensive so we eat at a near by hotel.
When we arrived back we sat in the drawing room with a open fire, that was great until we ran out of logs after an hour, no-one came in to see how we were or if we needed anything, bit poor on customer service.

It was an ok stay,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buildman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your stay with us. I am dissapointed to hear that it didnt meet your expectations, especially as you had an executive room which we usualy get positive feedback from.

I am sorry to hear that the logs ran out for the fire, thank you for letting us know, it is something we can be more aware of in the future.

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of May. We were in a Executive Room on the ground floor as we had our dog with us. French doors out to a small patio and directly into the garden - perfect for taking him directly out for a walk. The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast each morning was fantastic, with brilliant service :-) . £15 extra for our dog. We will definitely return - next week in fact! Only downside no WiFi (had to pay) or phone signal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMAGANorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such great feedback I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and are returning so soon.

Being pet friendly is a great attraction to many of our customers, the rooms allocated are perfect, with patio doors opening out on the the gardens

Hope you have the opportunity to visit again later in the year

Kind regards
Karen Irving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,624 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing