We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed two nights on B&B rate with dinner on one night. Welcome at reception was warm and efficient and after a wild journey south it was nice to smell the real log fire in the cosy lounge. Our feature double room had a comfortable double bed and comfortable seating area. Storage was a bit tight but ok for two nights. Bathroom was clean and well appointed. Nespresso machine was a surprise but no cartridges were supplied so it was unused. the view of Ullswater from our balcony was stunning.
The dining experience is quite formal and the dining room could do with a makeover but the menu offered a good choice at each course and the staff gave great service. We had a voucher which discounted our meal cost so be aware that 3 courses with wine and coffee will cost c£100. Not the best value for that spend.
Breakfast was mixed. Scrambled eggs one morning were poor but poached eggs the next morning were excellent. Good choice of cere

Room Tip: Feature doubles offer great lake views and balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback
I can see you chose one of our feature rooms with a balcony which do offer stunning views.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience good food choices combined with good service.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

A weekend away to celebrate a birthday (sans children and dogs etc) a lovely welcome from very friendly and efficient staff that could not be faulted, the atmosphere amongst the team was great and all credit to them and the management for that., The room had a verrry comfortable bed and the usual standard of teas, coffee etc, TV channels .Shower was a little feeble but the bath was good and deep with plenty of hot water.

Hotel in a gorgeous lakeside position with lots of Redwoods to look at and even on a stormy day the lakeview whilst eating breakfast was great. Breakfast was lovely with cooked and a cold buffet inc cold meats,fresh fruit, bread and muffins alongside the usual cereal and yoghurt choices, we ate out during the day and evening as the food was hotel priced but we did not eat in so can not comment but others did.

No draught beer but plenty of bottles . but even by hotel standards the drinks were vastly overpriced and with no local taxi service you need to make a decision regarding the nominated driver early on in the evening!.

The Sun Inn in Pooley Bridge can meet most beer needs and other drinks and the food is good too) , as said before no Wi-Fi at the hotel which wasn't a problem for us but if on business may well be a downside, and would add to the general holiday use if available (facebooking and downloading new reads on the Kindle! ;o))

All in all for the money off season a relaxing break and would go again (and maybe take the dog next time)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DilKirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your comments, to hear the friendly and efficient staff could not be faulted is praise indeed.
We do pride ourselves on our great variation and choice on our breakfast, so glad you enjoyed it during your stay.
We have some lovely rooms which open up on to the garden if you want to bring your dog next time.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The service was fantastic and the food was out of this world-I had never dreamt of a 5 course breakfast!!! We had a dinner here too and that was also beautifully cooked! Feature room with view was breathtaking although the bathroom wasn't anything out of the ordinary. When we revisit the lakes we wouldn't hesitate to stay here-as long as we could get another offer (otherwise we would be priced out). Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for a lovely stay. Oh btw-the hotel is waiting for wifi to be installed (fine for us but could be an issue for others)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misslouise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for such fantastic feedback, its great to hear you had such a good stay. Our feature rooms are very well located offering stunning views and we are very proud of our breakfast selection and food offering, so glad you enjoyed them
We look forward to you returning
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently stayed at Leeming House in the Lake District for 2 nights. We found the accommodation of a high standard, all staff very welcoming and helpful, and all meals of a very high standard. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne_bL5782VU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review, its always a great compliment to hear when our customers have enjoyed their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from this hotel. Had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. There was 6 of us and we had a fantastic time. The food was lovely and the staff are exceptional in particular the restaurant manager, he was friendly and engaging and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review Leeming House. I am so pleased to hear you and your group of friends enjoyed your stay so much. I would agree Arek our Restaurant Manager is very passionate about our customers and I am glad he looked after you so well.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently ran a training programme here and from the first step into the hotel the service, warm welcome and atmosphere was excellent.
The team are excellent and professional and couldn't have made our stay better.
The food was fantastic and presented very well.
Open fires and sensational views of Thirlmere from the dining room just add to the experience.
Highly recommend this hotel for any use either a weekend away, holiday in the north lakes or as a training venue.
Thank you to the team

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your fantastic feedback, both as a leisure guest and a business guest. We are not known as much as a hotel that can hold meetings, so your praise means a lot to us as we hold many meetings at the hotel from large corperate companies to smaller groups, and its good to know that we get the balance right.
Hope to see you again in the future
kind regards
Karen irving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband as a treat - had a lovely time. Hotel is situated on the edge of ullswater lake in the Lake District - it has some stunning views of the lake from some bedrooms and main restaurant. Food was very good, though not the best we have had in the Macdonalds hotels (we have stayed in few) but the service and attention we got was second to none! The staff worked especially hard to make us feel comfortable and looked after - especially Arek in the dining room/bar. Not sure if I would come back, simply because there isn't all that much to do there but would recommend to anyone who wants to explore this part of the lakes. The hotel must see to the little things - such as water escaping through the shower screen during shower - causing a small flood on floor - easily resolved by large towel on the floor and normally I tend to get irritated by such trivial complaints but if you want to be branded a 4* hotel then these details must be sorted out.

Room Tip: with balcony and lake view - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrycja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are fortunate to be able to offer such a stunning location at our hotel. Glad to hear you had such a good time and felt the staff to be attentive, ensuring you had a good stay, second to none is great praise.
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: $138 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing