We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night away for valentines day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“One night away for valentines day”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January and everything was excellent so we were really looking forward to returning. We called a few weeks before to book our dinner reservation in the restaurant and were disappointed to be offered a later time when we arrived. The hotel was very busy. The food again was excellent but we had long waits in between courses. Disappointed we chose not to have a dessert as it was far too late to enjoy. Breakfast was excellent the next morning. Stunning views and nice rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashworths2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on return from your stay. great to hear you have now visited twice and had an enjoyable time enjoying the great location.
Sorry to hear that you were unable to secure an early booking in the restaurant, we do have a very high demand to dine and fill early.
I hope that you are bale to return in the future, if I could suggest booking for dinner when you make your reservation to avoid dissapointment
Kind Regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    324
    126
    49
    25
See reviews for
137
854
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here on the 14th Feb 2014 for A Valentine's treat. We found the dinner bed & breakfast package outstanding. The food was fantastic, some of the best we have ever had. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge in front of the open fire. If you are looking for breathtaking views, attentive and friendly staff and great food then look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest
great to hear you enjoyed our Valentines package and found the food and hotel outstanding, the best you have ever had is great praise.
I hope you have the opportunity to return in the future
Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 night there wish it was more, very relaxing, breakfast very nice, cud,nt get book up for evening meal, so went to sun inn for bar meal at pooley bridge which was nice, rooms very clean ours overlooking garden with balcony, thought drinks a tad expensive! But overall defo be back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments, Leeming is a great retreat for a relaxing weekend and I can see that you chose one of our rooms with a view which enhances your stay, with the stunning outlook over the lake and fells.
Sorry to hear you were unable to eat in the restaurant, we do get booked up very early, the earlier times being especially popular.
So pleased to hear that you will be back to Leeming in the future to stay, if you wish to join us in the restaurant when you next visit, if I could suggest you book in advance to ensure your preferred time is available to avoid any disappointment.
Thank you again for choosing Leeming House and for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you return

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Pros: Overall I would recommend the hotel and it is very good value for money should you get the winter warmer offer. The lounges were warm and inviting. The feature room with balcony had magnificent views of the lake and valley and the room was clean, spacious enough with a decent bathroom with bath and overhead shower. The staff were friendly and (mainly) efficient.

Cons: No wifi although advertised as included and no explanation or apologies as to why not, so research your excursions prior to visit.
Being picky only downside to the hotel is the restaurant which has oppressive, uninviting lighting and lack of decor, it felt dated and dour with the tables arranged in lines up and down the room. The service was excruciatingly slow, the worst wait being for dessert which took 45 minutes from plates being cleared as our order wasn't taken for almost half and hour! We were about to walk out when it arrived. There were only two other tables (couples) so it wasn't due to being busy. Meal was hit and miss with excellent elements to some dishes, such as the orange creme anglais (part of the dessert) and pearl barley (served with main) however 'slices' of tasteless bread which had gone hard as though they had be sitting under a hot pass and lamb main, with flavourless sauce were among the disappointments. Everything looked beautiful on the plate but was a bit of a let down.
Breakfast was very good however.
I would definitely stay here again but would eat dinner elsewhere (The Samling if feeling flush or local F&C).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolcevita_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at weekend and that you were able to take advantage of the magnificent views from your room.

I do apologise for the lack of wifi currently. The signal is particularly bad in the valley so we are in the process of having fibre optic fitted, it has however proved not to be straight forward hence the delay. We do hope to have this resolved very soon.
I was disappointed to hear service had been slow on the evening you ate, this is unusual for us as we pride ourselves on the service we offer and I will look into what happened on that particular night.
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback as we can always improve on what we are doing. It is good to hear that you felt the breakfast to be excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you when you next return.
Thank you again for your comments
Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived to find that our room was very cold (room 11), however the weather was awful. After complaining we were given an upgrade with no quibbles. A nice winter getaway with beautiful views and great food and no real need to leave the hotel. This was our belated honeymoon and room 4 was absolutely stunning, not as spacious as 11 but the view was amazing. Wifi would be good but when away, who needs it! Same with the television. No signal due to weather but the nice crackling log fire in the lounge is better than tv. The staff were amazing, so professional and very helpful and Moses is a superstar. We will go back as we think we have found our little piece if heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee_rollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing Leeming for your belated honeymoon.
As you say the weather was awful during your stay and its so reassuring to hear that even with the challenges, you enjoyed your upgrade and having no TV didn't deter you from having a lovely stay. Leeming House in winter is a great retreat as you say, its cosy lounges and log fires looking out onto the view make up for what's happening outside.
I know the team will feel proud to read your comments about them being amazing and professional.

Thank you for such positive and kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked a one-night getaway, our first after having our baby daughter! The staff were first rate and made the stay perfect. They were warm and welcoming, had a good sense of humour and made us feel very welcome indeed. Moses and Anna on reception and all of the dining staff carried out their tasks with a smile, and this was possibly one of the best and most relaxing breaks we have had anywhere! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely, newly refurbished in purples and pinks, standalone bath, fantastic views across Ul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dac1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
One of the best and relaxing stays you have had anywhere, what a great compliment, thank you.
I am really pleased to hear you had such a good stay.
Whilst we know Leeming House is a beautiful hotel, we are aware its actually the team that make our guests stay memorable, so your comments are very reassuring.
The suite room 6 that you stayed in is one of my favourites', with its great views and amazing room and bathroom
Thank you again for taking the time to comment and for your recommendation

Kind regards
Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after seeing the winter warmer offer on the Macdonald website. It was probably one of the best vfm weekend trips we have ever had. A big thank you to Moses and Oana on reception who made us feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. Also thanks to Arek, Kate and the team in the restaurant (and in the kitchen), we had two lovely evening meals and two great breakfasts. Room 40, a spacious suite with 2 balconies and views of Ullswater added to a wonderful weekend. We will be back and we finally got round to joining the Macdonald members club, despite having our Civil Partnership at Macdonald Manchester in November 2010 and booking 20 rooms for guests and 2 function rooms for he day!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatfordregans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLeeming, General Manager at Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Its good to hear that you were able to take advantage of our 'winter warmer' break, its always worth checking the Macdonald website to see what great offers we have.
Thank you for your very positive feedback, I would agree the suite you stayed in is one of our best rooms and definitely worth staying in.
Good to hear that you are now Macdonald Club Members and you can start gaining rewards for your loyalty.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Karen Irving
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing