We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, again!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely relaxing stay in a stunning location. The well kept gardens and snow capped mountains make it all the more beautiful. All of the staff make you feel comfortable and special. Rooms are beautifully furnished. Breakfast and dinner was superb. I have stayed before and will not hesitate to return.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallyWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    329
    135
    53
    27
See reviews for
139
874
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We made a short notice decision to come here for a mid-week break to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary, prompted by the offer of a bargain Saga Promotion and the fact that we could bring our dog, without a hundred restrictive conditions.

As it turned out, we were alloacated a dog "dedicated" room at lawn level which was perfect and we only saw one other dog there during our stay. Thouroughly enjoyed our visit which was way beyond our expectations and would certainly return but probably not at the normal cost.We found the staff excellent - friendly and attentive. Quality of furnishings, bedding and hotel setting also excellent - particularly with the local scenery emphasised by the snow on the surrounding hills.

These sort of reviews are of little use if indications towards improvements are not made - bland compliments are easy to make as I have just proved!

On the negative side, the cost of the wine list was prohibitive for most normal wine drinkers. £20+ for a bottle of house wine which would be around £8/9 at supermarket level, is excessive. We bought no hotel wine on principle and toasted our anniversary on excellent "imported" wine in our room.The cost of the higher level of dinners is also excessive and we cannot abide chips which come in the form of Jenka blocks and taste very similar!

Breakfast was good but the "signature breakfast" (whatever that means) could be better. Sausage said to be a special sort was somewhat indigestibile for the rest of the morning. Bacon rather over salty. The rest of the breakfast selection was first rate and as someone previously mentioned, the coffee was excellent.Only really disturbing was the early morning sight of a Brakes (Bros) delivery vehicle at the hotel

All in all an excellent break.

P S - we did not get free Wi Fi !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungSagaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check in, very helpful and the receptionist took the time to call after a few minutes to ensure I was happy with the room. Great views from hotel grounds, you can walk down to the shore of Ullswater. King room, designated as a garden view on the website is a good size (29) and the lake is actually visible from the balconies, although not direct. A comfortable hotel with character in an excellent location. Some furnishings are showing some signs of age, but hotel is well maintained overall. Good wine selection, but very limited draft beer selection in the bar. This is a pity considering the number of Lakeland breweries that could be offered to guests. Overall, worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is perfectly nice but very old fashioned. Great views of the lake and helpful friendly staff. My only complaint...the staff don't when to leave you alone and are not very good at reading the situation, an example of this was when we were sitting in the lounge having hot chocolate and reading, we were asked if we wanted more drinks 4 times. We ate in the restaurant for dinner, food was nice but be prepared to pay London prices. Breakfast was great, recommend he signature cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicWignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here with friends and husband for my wedding anniversary. Room adequate with nice view but had to battle to be moved in the middle of the night because of a buzzing sound.
Breakfast ok, filled a hole. Not much more to stay. Better than being in a tent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandythebirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Sowerby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just had a very nice Saturday nights stay here for my wifes birthday, once the snow drifts had been negotiated and checked in we found that the hotel was well maintained and all details kept to a high standard.
Our room had a lake view of Ullswater, stunning white mountains and excellent grounds.
The room had all the normal facilitys also free wi fi, bathroom clean and plenty of soft towels.
Dinner was very good, portion size spot on, menu short but sweet but not lacking either. Wine list was ok £35 for a new world chardonay.
The staff were helpfull and attentive but not overly so.
The lounges are comfortable with open fires and offered plenty of seating in snug corners.
I slept very well the bed being comfortable and without lumps the room warm and no annoying fan noises.
Brekfast was excellent full english with plenty on the buffet table too, good strong coffee .
So all in all i would recommend as a lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaister_Traill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Based on the long weekend my wife and I spent here, we can recommend Ullswater and the Leeming House Hotel as a base for a relaxing stay in the Lake District. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is very comfortable. Staff were attentive and quickly remembered our names. They were also clearly able to tell quickly which guests wanted to keep a formal distance and which (like ourselves) prefer a friendlier, less formal relationship. We had a lovely large room, with a very comfortable king size bed and gorgeous views over the lake. Wonderful bathroom too (not something I often comment about!).

Food was generally excellent, with both dinner and breakfast revealing a preference for good quality ingredients over quantity. We don’t often order additional items with our dinner, but learned to order a side portion of greens to share – veg with the main courses are a token gesture only!

Location may be in the north-eastern corner of the Lake District, but I thought Ullswater better represents the natural beauty of the Lake District than more popular Lake Windermere (and it avoids the hubbub of Bowness which appears to afflict its sister Old England Hotel). Keswick and Windermere are both about 30 mins drive away.

So why not the full 5 stars? Well, unfortunately, there were a couple of issues:

- Booking on the hotel website is confusing, as room types as listed on the booking page don’t match how rooms are described on the hotel’s pages. We booked what we were told on the booking page was a suite. But, having finished our stay, it’s apparent that the hotel website shows pictures of our room as an example of a lower-spec “feature room”. It’s all rather opaque and, while the reason is probably simply down to inconsistent descriptions of rooms, I’ve been left with the niggling concern that either we were allocated the wrong room or that the website’s pictures don’t accurately show what a guest should expect if booking a “feature room”.

- While service at mealtimes (including at a very busy Sunday breakfast) was generally smooth and efficient, it strained at times during a Saturday dinner. Like a previous reviewer, we too gave up on our tea and petit fours after having waited for 40 minutes for it to appear.

- Drinks (including the wine list) are very expensive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChirpyTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,183 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing