We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb stay ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in a feature room, lovely comfortable room with great views of the lake and fells.
Had dinner in the restaurant and could not fault the food, everything was cooked perfectly and service was attentive without being intrusive.
Breakfast was a busy time, the buffet options were lovely and such a great selection, cooked options were also well cooked and presented.

Room Tip: Choose a feature room for the best views of the lake and fells ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    319
    126
    49
    25
See reviews for
134
846
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a fantastic stay in a wonderful room with balcony with great views of the garden and the fells. The only disappointment was the weather!! The hotel itself was first class and the lounge and open fire seduced us to sit there for hours in the late afternoon drinking tea and reading books. This is a first class hotel and we found all the staff very friendly and professional throughout our staff. The food in the restuarant was very good and this is the first hotel where we have stayed and eaten in every night (3 nights) and not gone out. the room was spacious and the king side bed ensured a great nights sleep. Can't fault our stay one bit and would love to return as the Northern Lakes are a little less crowded and commercial, but close enough to the likes of Keswick if needed. First class hotel and at £125 per night great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had another lovely couple of days at Leeming house.
The ground floor room was lovely. We take our dog on these type of breaks and very often we do not get a very nice room. This was not the case at Leeming House. It was nice being able to collect our dog and sit in the library after our evening meal.

The staff could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a beautiful house in a great spot.
We had a feature room with balcony and views over the well kept and landscaped gardens towards the lake.
The room was very comfortable with king-sized bed and an excellent bathroom which was as warm as pie!
I'm pleased to see that the owners are spending quite a bit of money on upgrading not only rooms
but on the grounds and surrounding forestry.
My only beef with this reasonably priced hotel is that at breakfast, they have supplements for this and supplements for that, e.g. extra payment for a bit of smoked salmon or smoked haddock ( which are both cheap items in the shops ) and the daddy of them all was the proud presentation by their little Chaplinesque waiter of a card bearing the good news that the "Breakfast Special" was eggs benedict but it would cost you a supplement of two pounds fifty!
For goodness sake, if the company really needs a few extra quid they should just put a tenner on the room rate rather than give guests the feeling that they're being chiselled.
This is otherwise a great little hotel, give it a go!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel has one of the best locations in the Lake District and a fantastic place to stay.
We had problems with the quality of customer service provided. This was surprising as previous reviewers have praised the service provided by this hotel.
On arrival I was asked to provide a credit card, which I was happy to present. However I was asked to sanction an £80 charge. I refused to enter my PIN number. The poor service continued when at the included dinner I was presented with a bill for the meal.
Drinks were premium prices which you would expect to pay at a top London hotel and extras such as a cup of tea after a meal was an extortionate £5 per person. Also draught lager was unavailable and a glass of bottled lager would cost approximately £5.
On a positive note the food provided and the waiter service was good and the hotel had plenty of comfortable lounge space.
In summary this is a first class hotel which needs to develop customer service relations and should consider the pricing levels of drinks and extra services offered at the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a lakeside view. This outlook is unbeatable and given good weather well worth a supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having stayed here previously, many years ago, we thought it was time to return. We came with our 5 week old daughter, in October 2011.
I love this hotel and its location. It's right on Lake Ullswater. When you go for a walk in the gardens you are rewarded with amazing views over the lake.
The staff here were great and very considerate towards our 'traveling with baby' predicament. When they sat us down for our evening meal, they were very strategic in putting us, and our pram, on a table that did not affect other people's dining experience!
Our evening meal here was just brilliant. It felt like a real treat. When the food came out it looked more ' fancy' than filling, but, it hit the spot just right - and I do have a good appetite! The whole restaurant experience feels a tad 'posh', but, it was really enjoyable.
All in all, a lovely treat, great food, great service and a lovely remote location.
Once you are here, there's nowhere really to walk to. The closest place is Pooley Bridge, which is great for a visit. A couple of pubs there that do meals and some great local beer - if you like dark beers, try the 'Jennings Snecklifter' (one of my favourites).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audi_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed at Leeming for the second time last week for 2 nights and loved it more than our last stay. What makes this hotel is the staff team, I have never stayed anywhere else where the staff are so pleasant and helpful from the breakfast staff to reception staff - all were lovely. Had a lovely large room at the back of the house but the rooms overlooking the lake are being renovated so will be paying the extra to stay in one of those on our next visit.

Room Tip: Both rooms we have stayed in were lovely but with no view. The lake view rooms are now under renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing