We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took my husband here for a birthday treat. The hotel room was excellent with a fantastic view, the bed was soooooo comfortable. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the staff were very polite and courteous. The food was very nice and had superb flavours, however would want to explore other restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janieleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

After leaving Chester we went north. Stunning the hotel was great and the views were lovely. Service was great.
If I had to be annoying the room was not to my taste but it was clean and beautiful

Views were amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September. Rooms overall quality good but expensive, paying for the view!

The hot breakfast was good, quality of products was good. Staff happy to bring as much toast, tea and coffee as you require however the coffee is weak and the tea is super strong! Get plenty of hot water!

There were some issues with the hot water (off until 2pm) however once reception were notified this was fixed immediately.

The hotel is in a fantastic location for walkers or if you want to sit relax and enjoy the views it's perfect.

I would recommend the hotel providing you drink at the pub down the road!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a conference so I had a good chance to sample everything on offer from the hotel. The location is beautiful and the views stunning; all of the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast choice is good and the cooked breakfast excellent. The ingredients for the restaurant are clearly well sourced and very high quality. If you get a room with a lake view it is heavenly. That is the good news. Now the bad. The management do not appear to have entered the 20th century, let alone the 21st. There is a £3 charge to use a credit card. They charge to use the Internet. There are no half bottles of wine on the menu. When I asked for an espresso at breakfast which I knew they could make because I had one at lunchtime the day before I was told "we're not allowed to do them at breakfast". That is not customer service you would expect in a 4 star hotel, that is just stupid. Although my next gripe may only appear to be a problem to some people, they had no real ale in the bar. This is ia hotel which prides itself on its menu and it serves a keg bitter. That is like putting turkey twizzlers on your a la carte menu and expecting people to take you seriously. Speaking of the menu, as I said above the ingredients are clearly well sourced but the final result on the plate is very patchy. In three nights I had three starters, three mains and two puddings and they were, to say the least, a mixed bag. The best was a sublime creme brûlée; the worst was "hand cut chunky chips" which would have the chef fired on the spot in most restaurants. They were limp, undercooked and utterly inedible. Disgraceful, careless level of cooking.

Overall, I can say that I would recommend the Leeming House Hotel with some reservations. Ask for a room with a lake view, avoid the chunky chips and eat the puddings. Take time to talk to the staff; they are the best thing about the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed in a number of MacDonald hotels over the last few years, being a member of their options club and I have to say that, overall, this is one of their best. There are, as others have mentioned, a few downsides the cost being one of them but let’s start with the positives.

Met at reception by a very competent and efficient young man who quickly processed all the documentation and directed us to our room. On initial inspection the room was clean and well presented. Curtains were frayed (which surprised) but the rest of the room appeared well laid out. One minor annoyance was that in order to boil the kettle, you had to put it on the floor as the socket was inaccessible due to the length of the flex. The rest of the hotel is lovely with a great setting. The public rooms are spacious and well thought out (for example many of the tables in the dining room are angled so that you have (as best) a view of the lake and hills as can be accommodated). The staff are very attentive and quickly put you at ease. Typical of the British tourism industry you will probably struggle to hear a British voice amongst staff but that certainly does not distract from their undoubted abilities. Clearly, well trained and motivated in their jobs.

The downsides, there are always some. The cost. Glass of wine £11, fish and chips (two medium sized fish gougons, 8 chips, small amount of garnish) £15, Steak, same amount of chips, one (yes 1!) mushroom £30 without sauce. Excluding accommodation our bill for three meals (one lunch) and a four/five drinks (wine/coke) in total was £240.

However, the biggest downside is in the food itself which would be lovely if it wasn’t for the amount of salt used. This is NOT seasoning. It is almost inedible. For the first time ever I would have sent my wives fish back if she was not of the “don’t make a fuss” type. Full carafe of water consumed but still not enough to finish the meal followed by very thirsty during the night. If we had been a bit more savvy about the area then we would have eaten out. Certainly took the edge off our Silver Wedding anniversary. Have complained before to MacDonalds about this but they don’t seem to be listening. The worst was Aviemore where the children’s meals came pre salted-however that is for another review.

If I could sum up, a great hotel for a special occasion. However, unless the manager has a word with the chef-eat out. We will return but only for the accommodation, location and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankyforthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just spent the week-end at the Leeming House Hotel in Ullswater for a wedding. Really liked the hotel and it is set in stunning surroundings but why did they add a £3 charge for using a credit card!!! To me this affects the quality of the MacDonald Hotel brand and puts them into the Budget Jet of lots of extras. Where will it end paying to watch TV, charges for towels per night etc.

Credit Cards must be the life blood of the hotel industry, they take a swipe of the card when you check in for 'extras' so the use must be an important item for them and then they charge your for the 'privilege' it also makes life easier for the hotel so they are not dealing with lots of cash. If the admin costs for using credit cards is spiraling (which I doubt), look at you overall costs and include it in the room rate.

Sadly my last memory of the Leeming House is not what a great week-end I had in a lovely environment but 'they charged me for using my credit card'. If you want to be a quality hotel and brand then please act like one. By the way don't get me on to paying for Internet, I believe that the Internet is a commodity like a TV in the room so should be free, it will be amazing the extra business it would bring in.

Beware the hidden charges.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digitalspy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a romantic getaway for 2 nights with significant other. The hotel is lovely, nothing was ever a problem for any of the staff. They were all were helpful and always had a smile on their faces :) Mosses was very helpful when it came to recommending places to dine and visit. The gardens are absolutely stunning. As to the cons; the only thing I can think of is the standard of cleanness on the 2nd night as some of the things weren't done as they should be, but then again.. it might just be because I work in housekeeping myself I tend to expect the same level I am required and provide for my guests while at work. overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone how wants some peace and quiet for few days.

Room Tip: we had a lovely room which was 28 :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: $184 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing