We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. So much so we are getting married there!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. So much so we are getting married there!!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My Fiancé and I got home today from what only I can say was an excellent stay at Leeming house.
From the minute we arrived we couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff are so passionate about the hotel they gave us such a warm welcome and were only to happy to help with any questions we had.
It was dark on checking into our room (room 1) so we weren't aware of the view we had but the next morning we were amazed. We had amazing views over the garden and of Lake Ullswater and beyond. Truly spectacular!
The rooms are clean and have everything you would need for a comfortable stay.
The grounds are kept beautifully and a joy to walk around even in the rain and on these cold winter nights it was a pleasure to come back to the cosy lounges and settle in front of the roaring fires with a nice glass of wine.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was superb. Many thanks to Areck. He surely knows his stuff and his recommendations were spot on. He is an absolute asset to the hotel.
Also many thanks to Moses who has helped organise our wedding in September. I know things were a bit hectic but you are a star. Thanks to Inma who was so attentive but, not intrusive and Grahame who put our mind at rest and made us feel so welcome. We didn't get to meet everyone but hopefully next time we will. I know you and your team will do us proud on our special day and we cannot wait to visit you again.
Thank you all once again for everything it truly was a pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeshireDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    329
    135
    53
    27
See reviews for
139
874
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This beautiful building has a grest location at Ullswater in fantastic grounds .
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are very well appointed .
The lounges are very friendly and with the log fires burning the atmosphere is very relaxing
WE GOT A DEAL AND AS A RESULT WAS EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY.
IF I HAD A GRIPE ,I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THAT THE FOOD IS NOT UP TO STANDARD AS THE REST OF THE HOTEL,IT IS NOT BAD BAD BUT A BIT TOO posh !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTINBLANKENSTEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stay here in september as a spur of the moment trip for two nights. Our room must have been above the kitchen as there was quite a load extractor fan but that didnt matter as the window blocked out most of the noice.The room was clean, comfortable and had all the neccesary facilities.
When we arrive it was about 6pm and we were starved so we booked in for tea at the hotel restaurant. We sat in the lobby and the staff took our drinks order and brought us some nibbles.We were also shown the menu and all the food looked brillient, the options were slightly limited and a little expencive however it was worth every penny. So much so that we had to go back the next night. We had breakfast included which was a basic full english and a massive continental section it would be inpossible to leave there feeling hungry. The staff were attentive and helpful. As my boyfriend had recently had ankle surgery we couldnt walk too far, but the man on reception gave us a list of other things to do, we ended up going to there sister hotel about 45minutes away as it has a spar which was complimentary to visitors at our hotel. It has beautiful grounds which lead down to the lake. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go somewhere a little bit special.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDavies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We are a group of 10 friends who book one night in a nice hotel with bb / evening meal once a year. We have visited Guisborough Hall previously but thought to have a change.
We couldnt have chosen better than Leeming House. Location, comfort, helpful friendly staff, warm cosy(winter log fires) and the food standard was as good as anywhere I have ever eaten.
Well done Macdonalds. We will be back next year and may well book an extra stay individualy.

Room Tip: Our whole group occupied rooms 35 to 40 and they were superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwdriverYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked this hotel at 11am on Friday and arrived at 5pm that evening returning from Scotland to London.
We went straight to our room to freshen up and down to the drawing room for a drink. It was so warm and comfortable by the fire got a bottle of wine and dinner and stayed there for the night! The service, the food, the atmosphere, the furnishings were perfect. Our bed was huge and definitely the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Breakfast continued the good service and food we had the night before, if only I was hungrier I may have enjoyed it more!

We cant wait to go back for another evening to do it all again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koala_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We cannot stop speaking about how fantastic our stay was at leeming house. All staff we met were amazingly professional especially Oana & James. Room great size so quiet with wonderful views. Food amazing. every need catered for. Well worth a visit. The grounds are so well kept and plenty of seats to take in the beauty of Ullswater. So good we booked another visit before we left..

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We visited for my wifes birthday. The staff were wonderful from arranging the booking to the visit itself. The food was first class and my son 10 yrs was well catered for ( sometimes makes a big difference) The service at the table was just right - attentive but allowed space. The grounds are beautiful. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHappyGrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
14.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
6.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
403 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater

Property: Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Address: Ullswater nr Penrith, Watermillock CA11 0JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Leeming House is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels offering luxury and comfort in beautiful surroundings. Set in 22 acres of beautiful grand gardens in the countryside of Cumbria, our 200 year old country house hotel offers breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing licence, this hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Macdonald Hotels' Lake District location in Ullswater offers the perfect retreat whether you're on a romantic break away, a business trip or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater Hotel Penrith
Macdonald Leeming Hotel Ullswater
Macdonald Leeming Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing