We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb Indulgence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed overnight for DBB for a birthday treat. We selected one of the best rooms (photos of all are available), huge! A combination of very traditional plus modern extras such as a swish walk-in shower, large comfortable bed, lush settee and armchairs, the usual upmarket toiletries, dressing gown and slippers, nice balcony with views of Ullswater and the hills, but unfortunately also the car park below! The gardens are absolutely magnificent, and thanks to unusually warm weather we were able to have both pre-dinner drinks and after-dinner coffee on a delightful terrace overlooking the lawns and garden with rabbits frolicking about. The dinner was good and well presented, wouldn't criticize it per se but it did not really match the price of about £60 p.p for three courses (2 days later we had a 3-course lunch at the Michelin-starred Pollen Street Social in London for £29 p.p., on a different level altogether), and with the room (admittedly one of the most expensive) the DBB total for one night was £390 plus all drinks (and the excellent wines are certainly not cheap) -- you expect a lot for that in a country hotel, and it is rather pushing it. But we would go back just for the indulgence!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Phil W,
Thank you for posting a review after your overnight stay with us in June.
The team are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us.
Regarding Dinner, I must point out that it is a four course meal, Amuse Bouche, Starter, Main, Dessert and also includes Canapés, Coffee and Treats. This all included if you opt for the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast option at time of booking, otherwise it is priced at £49.50.
We do get many comments about our wines, indeed many are from guests on this site, who do say our wine prices are very favourable, and that we do have a good selection of wines to suit all pockets and budgets.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more "Superb indulgence" in the future!
Kind regards,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a wonderful time we had this weekend at Rampsbeck, our first revisit since 1995. The food was great then, but it it is so much better now. We stayed in the Ullswater room, beautiful views, four poster, jacuzzi bath, tasteful and luxurious. They did not know it was my 60th birthday special present from my husband......so congratulations to you for making it so special.......especially the par excellence service from your most professional staff. Honours to Monica. Enjoyed
sharing our memories of Puerto de la crux.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoldBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bold Barney,
Many thanks to you for post a review on Trip Advisor.
The team at Rampsbeck are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday break with us.
Monica is a very popular member of our team, and yes, many guest's do like to share their memories of her homeland with her.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Kind regards to you,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this hotel to far exceed our expectations. The location is stunning. The extensive grounds are magnificent. The quality of our room was as high as is possible. The staff are efficient, courteous and friendly. Breakfast, taken in the dining-room overlooking the lake, was absolutely delicious

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lathan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Lathan1,
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor.
The team are delighted to read that you found us to be "faultless" and that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
Thank you once again for your kind words .
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is by far the best place we have stayed in the Uk, we used it as a stop over while traveling back to Shetland and will never forget it. The grounds are a work of art, the food is some of the finest I have ever tasted in my life and staff are so helpful and courteous.
We stopped in a suite overlooking the front and lake, the room is very well appointed and everything is of a high standard.

If your looking for a luxury retreat with super fine food then this is one of the UK,s finest without question.

Thanks Rampsbeck you put the Lux in luxury.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear lebutch,
Wow ..!
On behalf of the team at Rampsbeck I would like to thank you for the fantastic review you have posted on Trip Advisor after your very recent stay with us.
As is the norm your comments have been passed on to all at Rampsbeck who are really delighted by your kind words, reviews such as yours, and I have to say many similar ones on this site really do give the team a big boost, thank you!
We look forward to offering you the same hospitality on your next visit to us,
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our daughter and son in law bought us DBB here and we had a wonderful time.
Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful and the room was gorgeous.
The dinner was best of all. It was totally delicious, looked fabulous, and served in lovely surroundings.
Then breakfast was just as good.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear chs60,
Many thanks for posting such lovely comments on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read that you both thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us.
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i spent our 15th wedding anniversary here and it was magical. The hotel is superb and we had a standard room - cant imagine what the better rooms are like. The grounds and location are both superb. The staff are lovely and the food was gorgeous. We will be back. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAAZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear SAAZZY,
Many thanks for choosing Rampsbeck to celebrate your 15th Wedding Anniversary.
On your visit to us please do just ask a member of the team to show you around some of the bedrooms, we are more than happy to do so.
We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

In the middle of May my wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Rampsbeck Hotel on Ullswater on a Travelzoo deal,which included 3 nights bed and breakfast and dinner on the 1st night.This was a truly excellent deal at an outstanding hotel.

The hotel is in a great location,near to the M6,on the banks of Ullswater,which is considered to be one of the loveliest lakes in England.The hotel is a fine building with very attractive gardens,maintained with scrupulous care by a gardener who really cares about his work and gave me good advice about how to get rid of moss!

We asked if we could have a room overlooking the lake and they very kindly agreed to upgrade us to a superior room,which gave us a fine view of Ullswater.The meal on the 1st night was outstanding.The restaurant certainly deserves its 3 AA rosettes,If we had paid separately it would have cost us £60 per head,which is not something we would normally contemplate,except on a very special occasion,but it was included in the excellent Travelzoo deal,so we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The staff were all most pleasant and helpful and I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy the Lake District.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 1golfer2,
Thank you for your glowing review of Rampsbeck.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us after taking advantage of one of the offers we advertised with the external booking agency. I should mention that is is always worth giving us a call direct too as we also have offers, late availability deals and special breaks that we are happy to discuss with you.
Thank you in advance for all your future recommendations to us and I hope that Johns advice regarding the moss is working!
Best wishes,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
17.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Another Place, The Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Another Place, The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing