We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - great service - amazing in every way”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watermillock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow! We pre-booked this hotel by chance on Booking.com (double-checked on Trip Advisor!) for our first night after our wedding day! We were travelling to the Isle of Skye on honeymoon, and worked out that we would break our journey in the Lakes. Alas we left later than planned, and it proved slightly further than we anticipated, so we didn't arrive till gone 1am. That said, they waited up for us, and even offered to make us sandwiches when we phoned ahead to advise of our late arrival. We stayed in the "Winter Green" room, which was gorgeous - a large Kingsize bed, two nice chairs and a large TV; a fab bathroom... and the most amazing balcony onto a beautiful view over Ullswater lake. A more perfect room we could not have imagined. The following morning, we went down to breakfast - busy, but were well looked after & had a fantastic full English breakfast, with an amazing yoghurt & berry compote to start, with toast & strong coffee, and fresh grapefruit juice. Service was amazing & pretty inexpensive, given the location and services. Another one we would love to return to, given more time....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Simon C,
Thank you for finding time on your honeymoon to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your overnight stay with us !
May I, on behalf of the team at Rampsbeck offer you both our congratulations once again on your recent marriage and wish you both a long and happy life together.
We are pleased to read that you found your stay to be "amazing in every way" and that you hope to return to us in the future, maybe a trip for your first anniversary could be planned...!!!
Thanks again for all of your kind comments,
Best wishes to you both,
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 853 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

It has all been said before but we cannot fault this beautiful country hotel. A 3* hotel with 5*+ treatment! We spent one night here on a special DBB deal at very reasonable price. The staff were all really friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was luxurious with a big bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The groundsman was in evidence throughout our stay which explains the beautifully kept gardens. The views from the hotel are amazing and it is just so quiet and peaceful there. The evening meal was a culinary delight and the breakfast delicious. Service at both meals was impeccable. We would definitely go back to the Rampsbeck.

Room Tip: We had room 19 which is a superior standard and was part of our package deal. It had a side view tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Martin H,
Thank you for posting such kind comments on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate it.
The team at Rampsbeck are pleased by all of your kind words.
John, our very hard working Gardener really is a credit to Rampsbeck, we get lots of fantastic feedback from guests about our grounds and all praise to John for doing a brilliant job.
A warm welcome awaits you on your next visit to us,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location is superb. Hotel is gorgeous, rooms spacious ( ours was a "small") - lake views stunning. Food outstanding. The whole dining experience was impressive. Cannot find a negative , and would go as far as to suggest that any who could find fault might be better asking if they themselves are not the problem. Whole stay start to finish , top to bottom was faultless. Fair enough , at the price one might expect so , but as in so many other ways in life , you get what you pay for - no , not cheap , but , yes worth the expense.

Room Tip: Anything with a lake view. Balcony on some rooms a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Leeds2010,
Many thanks for sharing your experience of your recent stay with others on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and found us to be faultless, we do try our best to ensure a guests stay lives up to, and hopefully exceeds, their expectations of us.
We look forward to welcoming you both back for another stay in the future,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I could not fault anything, staff were friendly, very obliging. The location of the hotel is stunning and the gardens are immaculate. The hotel itself is spacious, well furnished and well maintained. The bedrooms are lovely and very clean, and it's very quiet. Ours was one of the most comfy beds I have slept in. Best of all is the food! The evening meal was fine dining at its best. We just had to taste each other's meal choices- everything was so good. The presentation was immaculate and the food was very interesting and a bit different. For desert we chose a poached pear which was stuffed with dried fruit and nuts sweetened with liquer and cooked in filo pastry and accompanied by real vanilla icecream. Delicious!. The wine choice was good and there were some reasonably priced bottles. We were also given jugs of iced water on the table.
Breakfast was also very good and the service splendid. The staff are so obviously proud of where they work and it shows . I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Dvincent,
Many thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor your experience of your recent stay with us.
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted by all of your comments, the Chefs especially !!
Fantastic views, luxurious furnishings, delightful guests are just a few of the reasons why coming to work is no hardship!! We are pleased that this shows through to our guests.
Thank you again for your lovely feed back
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our room was absolutely gorgeous. couldnt find fault most of the staff was very friendly apart from one which spoilt it a little. the food was exellent but maybe a little over priced. if your a young couple i would not go, me and my girlfriend felt a little uneasy as it was mostly the older generation who was posh spoken. The french girl who served us breakfast was rude she needs to learn some manors on how to speak to people. otherwise a beautiful hotel with a beautiful garden with an amazing view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 975Mark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear 975Mark2013,
Thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I have to admit to being a little bewildered by your comments about "Older generation being posh spoken" . Our guests are a great mixture of ages and from all different walks of life and are extremely interesting people, be they a Surgeon, a window cleaner, a Lord or Mister !!!
Apart from that comment I am happy to read that you found the hotel to be beautiful with great views and that you did enjoy your time with us,
Thanks again for your comments,
Best wishes
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at Rampsbeck Hotel and wished we had booked for longer. We have never posted a review about a hotel before but this hotel deserves the effort. Nothing was too much trouble, from Valentin to all of the staff. The meal was exceptional, and having eaten at Michelin starred restaurants, this meal was more than a match for any of them. We stayed in a standard room, it was more than adequate with a lovely big bathroom, comfortable bed and all the amenities you would expect. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgc0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck represenative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear bgc00025,
Thank you for posting kind comments on Trip Advisor after your first, of many we hope, visits to Rampsbeck.
We are pleased to read that overall you thoroughly enjoyed your time with is and cannot wait to come back!
We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future,
Kindest regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

No complaints about the room and welcome but dinner did not meet our expectations with a rather odd combination of spiced lamb, sweet potato and a strange mint yogurt foam that lacked much flavour. Looking forward to the rhubarb dessert we were disappointed to be present by a minute amount of rhubarb compote and a very tough piece on top. Service was slow at both dinner and breakfast -with reminders needed at the latter to be served fruit juice and coffee. The dining room does need something to make it feel more intimate-sitting at a table in the middle of the room was not conducive to a romantic meal. We were looking forward to this visit - Ii had been before - but somehow did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good but do not have a very good view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynT002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear kathrynToo2,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I was sorry to read that, on this occasion we failed to live up to the standard you expect, and indeed have received from us in the past. The team do work hard on a daily basis to do their very best to ensure that we live up to guests expectations, however, we are human and we do make mistakes and I do think it was unfortunate that you and your husband found this to be the case.
Please do come and visit us again, when I am sure you will receive the top quality service we are proud of delivering,
Kind regards
Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
423 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,722 reviews
5.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Address: Rampsbeck Grange, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range: $79 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Another Place, The Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing