We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lakeside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Another Place, The Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lakeside hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've just stayed for a night at the Rampsbeck and not only received an upgraded room but the general service was impeccable. From the minute we arrived, staff were there to help and advise.
The food was simply outstanding and again service exemplary. If I had to make a criticism, I would say the main dining room lacked a little ambience at times however this shouldn't detract from the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRVDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear DRVDLeeds,
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be impeccable with exemplary service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rampsbeck in the future,
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    91
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
566
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Myself and friends stayed for a night to celebrate my wife, emma's birthday. The whole stay was simply outstanding.
From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive and personal. We had sparkling afternoon tea before having a walk by the lake.
Dinner in a private dinning room was opulent and fabuolus the food was superb there was nothing at any stage we could fault even if we wanted to
We were in Ullswater, four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, overlooking the lake....wonderful
Happy Birthday Emma x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Plumpots,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor after your wife's recent birthday celebrations at Rampsbeck.
I am delighted to read that you all enjoyed your time with us and found us to be faultless..
Private Dining is certainly becoming more and more popular with our guests , be it for a group gathering or a romantic dinner for two. For the benefit of future guests reading this we offer complimentary Private Dining in our Garden Lounge which boasts fantastic views over the gardens with Lake and mountain views in the background, please do call our Reception team for more details.
Please pass on our best wishes to Emma and hopefully we will see you all again before the next birthday comes around!!
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying at this wonderful hotel and can honestly say it was fabulous. We went in a party of 8 and each and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this charming establishment.

The rooms were immaculate, the staff courteous and friendly, the food sublime, and the setting perfect.

It was also excellent value for money.

A big thumbs up to all who work there - you all have much to be proud of and your hotel truly deserves its lofty status on trip advisor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaws8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Jaws8,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Rampsbeck with others on Trip Advisor.
The team are pleased to read that you and ypur friends thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, and yes, we are all very proud of Rampsbeck!
I think the fact that we are a privately owned, small Country House with a supportive management team and hands on owners makes such a difference, and lets face it , with the luxurious furnishings and spectacular views, it really is a fantastic place to work!!
Thank you again for your kind comments,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the third time we stayed at Rampsbeck in the last year and we have really enjoyed every visit. This time our room was Mell Fell and it was superb, a large room, comfy bed, with a well equipped bathroom and lovely views across the Ulswater. As usual the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was quality. The walks around the grounds and surrounding area are a great.
This is just a great place to be no matter what time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tonyr27,
Thank you for posting lovely comments on Trip Advisor.
It was lovely to welcome you back to Rampsbeck again for your third visit, it is always nice to see familiar faces.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit,
kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just enjoyed 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at Rampsbeck. Nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant team who run the hotel. Everyone is so friendly. We were in Elderbeck which has side views over the garden to the lake and marina. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, superb bathroom, delicious food - we couldn't have asked for more. We were so in need of a few days pampering and Rampsbeck provided that.

Back at home I'm having withdrawal symptoms - I could get used to the luxury!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Lindalook,
Many thanks posting a review on Trip Advisor, we really do appreciate the time and effort in doing so.
Next time you are in need of a bit of pampering pick the phone up and give us a call, !
Best wishes
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When other holiday plans fell through at the last minute we looked for somwhere we could find space in the Lake District, and guided by tripadvisor recommendation booked in at Rampsbeck.

The welcome was very warm and friendly and the staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay.

The room was very comfortable, had a nice view - would have quite liked a fridge in the room but a minor detail really.

Food was good, but not great. That's not meant as a crticism simply that in comparison to some hotels we've eaten in around the world we've had better for the money. The restaurant ambience was a little dry and sometimes without background music so conversation was a little awkward at times. Breakfast was very good. The wine list was more than adequate and our favourite wine was available - a big plus.

The down side was more in the way of little annoyances than significant problems and could be easily remedied. Unfortunately they just took the edge of things for us. Workmen insisted on coming in through the front door (no problem with that but they kept leaving the front door open and on a cold day that was not good). Other guests commented on this. We were sitting by the fire relaxing, and bizzarely the hotel management decided to hold a conference with them in the entrance hall next to where we were sitting. We really didn't need to know what needed fixing in the hotel and how they were going to go about it did we?

On two other occasions the front desk decided to hold loud conversations with a variety of potential customers quoting prices and deals that were available. We were more than happy to pay the price asked for our stay - but it never sounds good when it seems that with a little more pressure we could have snapped up a better bargain during early negotiations. I was left feeling, rightly or wrongly, that we were paying over the odds and that marred the experience for us. The volume of conversation was such that ikt reminded me a little of Cybil in Fawlty Towers - an image I am certain they would not wish to cultivate.

Having said all that this would not put us off going back again (perhaps with keener negotiation on price first), but as enough to reduce 5 stars to 4 stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that looks out over the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g12doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear g12doc,
Many thanks for taking the time and effort to post a detailed review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that over all you enjoyed your first stay with us.
Your feedback was discussed at our weekly management meeting and both staff and owners of Rampsbeck have agreed that this it is not acceptable for workmen to enter through the main doors, and certainly not to then discuss the work load for the day, as you so rightly point out you do not need to hear or indeed see this. We now have new policy in place so hopefully this will not occur again.
On behalf of the owners and the team at Rampsbeck please do accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.
Please email me or ask for me personally when you next call to book your stay with us,
Kindest regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything about the Rampsbeck was superb. We received a very warm welcome and throughout our stay all of the staff couldn't do enough for us. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms. Views of the garden and down to the shores of Ullswater were breath taking.
Dining was a real treat - fine dining at its very best. Tastes to delight the palate, a good choice and a very attractive dining room - with stunning views. Prices were good value. The sitting areas were beautiful, relaxing spaces.
There was nothing to fault about our stay at this wonderful hotel - just wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Rampsbeck Representative at Another Place, The Lake, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear AnnyMay,
Many thanks for posting such kind comments on Trip Avisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and as for the "Wish we could have stayed longer" comments, well that can be arranged...!!
The team at Rampsbeck look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rampsbeck,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watermillock
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
14.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
15.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Another Place, The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Another Place, The Lake

Property: Another Place, The Lake
Address: Ullswater, Watermillock CA11 0LP, England (Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Watermillock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Watermillock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Another Place, The Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening August 2017. Formerly Rampsbeck Hotel, Another Place, The Lake is a hotel on the shores of Ullswater in the Lake District and is the first in a new collection of unique hotels from Another Place. The Lake is a relaxed, convivial hotel from where you can explore the great outdoors. It's a place for coming together round a table or fire pit, or for going it alone on a walk in the hills. It's for days spent splashing about in the lake before drying out on a sofa with a book. It's about the good things in life - having fun, eating well, letting go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Another Place, The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rampsbeck Country Hotel
Country Hotel House Rampsbeck
Rampsbeck Country Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing