We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Divine dining"”
Review of Rampsbeck Country House Hotel - CLOSED

Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $90
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Halton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Divine dining"”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a wonderful evening. We were greeted with a lovely friendly welcoming smile and it just got better from there! The staff are wonderfully polite, friendly and very efficient. The meal was a joy we both thoroughly savoured and enjoyed everything we were served.The wine list was varied and the choice we made was delicious. The view across the lake to the fells from the dining room is stunning. The atmosphere in the dining room and the welcome from Adrian and all the staff we encountered was second to none! Thank you all so much for a lovely time ! We will return soon .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaccimadHalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dining in a fine setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a review for the restaurant.

We first stayed and ate at the Rampsbeck over 10 years ago and used to visit regularly until we moved to the south of England. It was interesting to return and compare the experience under new(ish) ownership.

The food, whilst still very good, was not exceptional like I recalled - there was perhaps less variety and inspiration especially with the main dish accompaniments (lots of reference to 'textures of ....' across courses) and bread rolls. The pearl barley didn't really work with the wood pigeon starter and the nut crusting on the turbot was wrong. However, the amuse bouche was a treat each night, the meat and fish was always perfectly cooked and the cheese selection was fantastic, especially the soft and pungent St. James' - but please don't scrimp on the crackers.

Wine selection was good and the staff excellent, though a few errors did creep in (burnt toast served in the morning, forgetting petit fours one night). Also breakfasts varied from day to day - had to send back the porridge one day as it was watery. No offer of juice refill in a morning a bit mean.

The dining room is elegant - ask for a window seat. Just one problem, the 'mood' music seems to be on a an hour long loop and is unnecessary.

Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StandonZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent morning coffee”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Whilst driving up the Ullswater Lake, we called into the Rampsbeck hotel for a morning coffee and shortly after were relaxing with amazing views of the Lake and having a little taste of luxury during our Lake District visit. Staff were friendly and the ambience was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The little things that mean so much”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We visited a number of upmarket establishments in the Lake District for tea and scones during the Easter Weekend.
You might have thought that so simple a request might not figure highly in the priorities of such an establishment, but we were greeted with the same level of courtesy that you might have expected had we been staying in their best rooms for a few days.
We were escorted to the sunny terrace and in a few minutes our tea arrived, beautifully served and presented. It was one of those little experiences to savour and we enjoyed every minute.
As importantly, should we contemplate a longer stay then the manner of our reception will ensure that we went back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This is living.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Killing time, we expected to find charming tea rooms around the edges of Ullswater but were a tad disappointed as we could not find any. Friends told us, later, that we were on the "uninhabited" side of the lake. Finally a sign for an hotel that also served morning coffees, so we drove down an impressive drive to find a stately home in a magnificent setting.
First things first so I asked for directions to the lavatory and this drew a blank look from the classically attired waitress.
Coffee and scones were served elegantly in good china and silverware, with a large serving of oh-so-naughty clotted cream and jam. The coffee was, as one would expect, good. But ah! The scones were so crumbly that one could not eat as elegantly as one would wish to. Seriously, we had to scoop the crumbs into our teaspoons.
I know we were there for just coffee; we were left to stew on our own with a distinct lack of hospitality. I had to walk up to the receptionist (?) who chatted easily.

All said and done, I would love to experience the hotel and restaurant which is decidely old school.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neemwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rampsbeck Country House Hotel also viewed

 
Howtown, Lake District
Watermillock, Lake District
 
Watermillock, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing