We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and a grand setting with a warm and friendly atmosphere”
Review of Rampsbeck Country House Hotel - CLOSED

Rampsbeck Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $88
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Luxury and a grand setting with a warm and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The rooms are superb, spacious and comfortable and very well equipped with everything you could think of including bath robes and good biscuits! The communal areas are grand yet comfortable and as it was Christmas, beautifully and tastefully decorated. We came for a family wedding and the staff were amazing and very friendly and helpful and did all they could to accommodate us including letting us into our room early so we could change. Thank you so much for that it really helped. The weather was filthy but there was no complaint about us dripping everywhere and the welcome was warm and the detail the bride had put in was amazing and well presented with the help of staff. No downside at all and amazing views over Ullswater. Thank you for everything.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mim W,
Thank you for posting such positive feed back on trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at Rampsbeck for a family members wedding.
I can vouch for the team here that they also enjoyed the day !
Thank you once again for all your lovely comments,
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good food and service although the wine was a bit disappointing. We were eating quite early so there were not many people in the restaurant so it was lacking a bit in atmosphere. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the breast of wood pigeon was gorgeous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianvisitor521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Cumbrianvisitor521
Many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to read that over all you enjoyed your dining experience at Rampsbeck and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at Rampsbeck”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A lovely family meal in tasteful surroundings. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. We all had roast beef as the main course. The Yorkshire pudding was "massive" and the beef beautifully tender. The roast potatoes were really good, and there were four other vegetables, new potatoes, broccoli, carrots and beans. Desserts included apple crumble with ice cream and custard, creme brulee and sticky toffee pudding. all in all, a top class meal in a wonderful setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Steven H,
Thank you for posting such a mouth watering review of our Sunday Lunch !!
I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, maybe see you all for Afternoon Tea one day....? !!!
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Slightly disappointing menu.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely location, and wish we had gone in the light so we could admire the views. The welcome staff were lovely and efficient. The menu was a little disappointing, with few of the luxury main elements you would expect for a £60 set menu. All the options I would have gone for seemed to have black pudding or liver or root vegetables added to them, although I do appreciate seasonable produce. I ended up having the duck terrine starter which was pretty bland I have to say, however the pickled pears really lifted it. I opted for pork belly for main which i usually avoid as it's cheap to buy and too fatty for me. However, this course was by far and away the best thing I ate, and the addition of the gorgeous langoustine was great. Sorry to say we all had the disappointing chocolate pudding with odd custard stuffed apricots.
Although there was nothing wrong with the waitering staff, we never had our drinks topped up, and I feel they lacked a touch of finesse and attentiveness.
The extra treats, canapés, amuse bouche and petit fours, were all a nice addition, but didn't overwhelm us with their taste.
Overall, a lovely place and I feel 3 stars is a bit harsh and would give 3 and half it it were an option. The food was good, but not as refined or intricate as some the the other similar priced restaurants we have eaten at in the area. We will be back for lunch next time to make the most of the amazing setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 171catherineh171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear 171catherineh171,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
It is disappointing to read that on this occasion we failed to live up to your expectations of us for which I do apologise.
Please do come for Lunch and let us show you the hospitality that we are well known for.
Kind regards
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent meal; not cheap, but excellent!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday evening whilst staying at another hotel nearby. You can tell that Rampsbeck is a place of quality when you arrive in the comfortable, classic communal lounge. We started with drinks and canapes in the bar area as we chose our meals and moved on to the beautiful dining room for our dinner.

The food was excellent; beautifully presented and produced with flair and innovation. I had high expectations after recommendations from family, and was not disappointed in any way. Service was as you would expect from somewhere like Rampsbeck; attentive and professional but not stuffy or over-formal. The atmosphere in the dining room was relaxed, again, not over formal as some more expensive places can sometimes be.

I'd definitely recommend the food at Rampsbeck and although we didn't stay, felt that the communal areas of the hotel were impressive, comfortable and clean. You do get what you pay for, and Rampsbeck is not cheap by any measure, but for a special occasion it's a joy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampsbeck, Front Office Manager at Rampsbeck Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Timbo_82,
Thank you for sharing your views with others on Trip Advisor.
Please also pass on our thanks to your family for recommending us..!
It was a pleasure to read your kind words and I know the Front of House Team and the Kitchen brigade are all genuinely happy that you had a brilliant evening with us.
Please do call us as we have some great special breaks and offers on at the moment, maybe next time you come to Rampsbeck you could relax with an After Dinner Brandy in one of our sumptuous lounges before heading to one of our luxurious bedrooms, so much better than going out in the cold and having to start the car and drive to your final destination, don't you think ?!!
Something to think about...!
Kindest regards to you,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rampsbeck Country House Hotel also viewed

Howtown, Lake District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Watermillock, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing