We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grant Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Ramsbottom B&B and Inns
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel 3 years ago what a breath of fresh air finding the hotel under recent new owners with friendly staff who were very attentive when required. The place had been upgraded and we were told further works were underway. Do not be put off by old reviews as we nearly were we are glad we stayed and will most certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    21
    39
    34
See reviews for
23
50
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deep South
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in the family room, a large double bed, one single and a folding bed. Enough room for all four of us, clean and bright with a good sized bathroom. Friendly staff and an excellent cooked breakfast. Plenty of free parking very close to the hotel if none of the hotel spaces are available. A little bit of street noise at night but nothing too intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for the recent Stone Roses concert in Heaton Park as we didn't want to stay in Manchester and pay over the odds.

We were very happy with the Hotel and the service provided. The Manager was very helpful and went out of his way to look after us. He arranged a Taxi for us after the local Taxi office had told us it would be 25mins - the Taxi arrived within 10 mins (Heaton Park is approx 10mins by car).

The Lady that worked the evening shift was lovely and helped to cap a great night, even though our evening was slightly mared by the bad organisation of the concert and getting out of the park - the hotel more than made up for it.

The rooms are comfortable and practical which reflected the price we paid - £60 for a twin. The breakfast was quality, fresh and very quick to come out.

This is not the Ritz, but considering the price and service, the is great value for money. We would stay again. Thanks to everyone at the Grant...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halllmsdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
594 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked here online through Verne which was prompted by the search the room was available and confirmed we got the e-mail................so I booked and paid for two concert tickets, the next day we got an e-mail to say they were fully booked. I sent an e-mail asking for a response as I was now out of pocket with tickets and no accommodation..........no response has come so TA to the rescue. This establishment clearly needs to sort out its online booking system

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

You may wish to check your booking after making it as this hotel uses more than one online hotel booking firm. We booked our room, received a confirmation email from the booking company and providing the confirmation booking from the hotel to the online company. Fortunately I rang the hotel before our stay to check the check in time only to be advised they were full, there was no booking and basically it was tough. No one called me back and when the booking company contacted them they apparently told them they would do nothing about it. Thank goodness I didn't turn up on the day!! Appalling customer service. If these places use online booking companies they should make sure they update current availability.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ramsbottom hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We attended function in this hotel, I was a lillte concerned after reading previous reviews, the bar area does what it says on the tin although could do with some cosmetic issues attended to and could do a with a better clean although it was not dirty.

The bedroom was passable but could do with being of chearing up.

The function room was the best bit , with nice carpets in the hall way , the room it self served the purpose well, the bar was well manned, the toilets were clean and odour free.

Breakfast was feashly cooked and enjoyable .

We would go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwhbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here as a family of four and I must say it was clean, the food good and great value for money. Some of the outside is looking a bit tired but don't let that put you off. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsbottom
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom
1.1 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
4.6 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grant Arms Hotel

Property: The Grant Arms Hotel
Address: 11 Market Place, Ramsbottom, Bury BL0 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Ramsbottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsbottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wing provides 14 beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. Color television, Free wifi, Direct dial telephone Tea and coffee making facilities Hairdryer iron and ironing board available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grant Arms Hotel Ramsbottom, Bury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing