We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
134
171
103
37
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
171
103
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wowcher deal small pool steam room and sauna sat nav looked clean lavender spray leisure club relaxing break cream tea lovely hotel full english pleasant staff black pudding room was clean and comfortable cooked breakfast plenty of parking bar and restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 478 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Although difficult to find worth the effort, overall very pleasant stay and will stay again. Room was a good size with good facilities. good access in to the town and a pleasant walk. Didn't take any swim shorts so unfortunately didn't use the spa which was frustrating.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SteveWood59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonm82146, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SteveWood59,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review of your experiences whilst staying with us at the Old Mill hotel and leisure club.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Milligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding on the 6th October 2018, it was the best day of our life and everyone at the old mill really made this possible. Staff were great, kind and very helpful at all times. Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonm82146, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear StacyC,

Thank you for choosing the Old Mill hotel and leisure club to host your wedding day.

Its great to hear that your party and you both had a fantastic time and the team at the Old Mill made it so special.

We are over the moon that you would post such a positive review on trip advisor and that you would highly recommend the Old Mill hotel and leisure club to future bride's and groom's.

Kind regards


Simon Milligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here due to its location. I am a Best Western rewards member, so it was another reason I chose this hotel. I know the area very well, I used to live nearby. For people who don’t know the area, it might be tricky to find. But it’s sign posted.

Check in took seconds. Room on first floor. No lift here though. The room was very dated. As I was here alone, the bed size was ok. But it’s a pretty small double and with two, it might be uncomfortable. Although the sheets were clean, I could see a stain on the mattress through the sheets. The housekeeper should know this. That’s unacceptable for a hotel. I’d expect it in some basic hotels, but I’d only be paying half the price. The room is dated. Needs total refurbishment. Bathroom functional, but again not clean enough. Dust and hairs near the door and toilet. Room was very hot. Had to open a window in the night. Then woken early due to being over the front door and car park.

Average hotel. Ok stay. Probably choose somewhere else in future when I have business in that area.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonm82146, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MysticManc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences whilst staying with us a the Old Mill hotel and leisure club.

I personally am truly sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this visit. I have personally investigated your concerns and raised them directly with our head housekeeper to identify and rectify the problems you incurred. This is not the norm for our hotel.

We as a team, do hope in the future you will return to experience a positive and memorable stay with us, in which I know we are able to offer.

Kind regards

Simon Milligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Stayed for one night, disappointed with size of the room, a double room for two people was more like a room for one, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly, I felt that the hotel needed an uplift,

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Taniamorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonm82146, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Taniamorris,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us at the Old Mill hotel and leisure club.

We are in the process of renovating all our bedrooms. The hotel is a traditional building with a lot of original and unique features throughout.

Its great to hear that all the staff were friendly and that your breakfast was good.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Milligan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Had a Wowcher deal for one night stay with cream tea and evening meal. We have been before to this hotel and I have written a review for a magazine previously, but have to say this was the best visit. The pool and hot tub wasn’t working when we arrived but that didn’t matter as we intended to go walking. We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly young lady who made check in very efficient and we were immediately impressed. Our cream tea was served in the lovely bar area Ava was fine, nothing special but was served by a lovely chap called Luke who made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Room was fine, comfy bed and all you need for your stay - hairdryer, tea and coffee, biscuits etc. Evening meal was lovely although I felt the dining room was bit disorganised. A new staff member was being trained and she spent the evening yawning and looking totally disinterested. Luke however was super friendly and efficient so all credit to this young man. Word of advice for the bar manager... if you are going to talk about your guests then please whisper.... I knew who was on a Wowcher ...and I was sat a fair distance away. That said we found everyone friendly and the breakfast staff were extremely efficient. Would definitely return and recommend to others

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TheWebsters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonm82146, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear TheWebsters4,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review on trip advisor after you stay with us at the Old Mill hotel and leisure club.

It's great to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us.

I will pass on your thanks to Luke in the Restaurant for looking after you so well.

We do hope you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Simon Milligan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews