We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsbottom
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One night visit”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and read the reviews. The hotel is set in between houses, the taxi driver from Bolton found it a bit hard to find.Outside perhaps needs a bit of loving care.

Lovely size of room (38), very clean but there was a funny smell that we could not find out what it was. Apart from that had a wonderful sleep, (a few doors opening and closing but that is usual I suppose), breakfast was wonderful - lovely and hot, I do think that they could serve a little bit later so people could have a bit of a lie in on a Sunday.

Did not use the pool or jacuzzi either but it was being used by a few outside people as well.

All in all a lovely hotel with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: No lift so if you have difficulty in walking then ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and you found your room to be of a high standard. we hope on your next visit you will have time to enjoy our superb leisure facilities.

Warm Regards,

Vicky McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    86
    30
    24
See reviews for
79
160
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Have always liked the place living quite close by, I pass it often as a short cut to Helmshore road, myself and my girfriend went there for my birthday last year and the only problem I had was the stairs to the restaurant as I was just recovering from a broken leg, they were a tall order, please don't ask if there's a lift as it is a listed building and consequently one cannot be installed.
The warm cosy atmosphere and great service more than makes up for the encumbrance of the stairs and the food double that, we both ordered the same fare from the extensive menu, duck liver pate, lamb cutlets with choice of veg & potatoes, for desert, raspberry pavlova, all cooked perfectly, served the same and left the right amount of time between courses.
A lovely evening view of Pendle hills, good food, nice wine made it a quite romantic evening, will be back this year, stay for the night even though you could throw a stone in my back garden from there, just for the experience, well worth a visit on any occasion or just on a whim.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriss414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Best Western Old Mill Hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience here and you thoroughly enjoyed the food. I hope your leg is now on the mend and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Vicky McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Was there again overnight yesterday and again enjoyed a nice clean fairly priced hotel with a lovely full English breakfast in a peaceful location. The staff are friendly, and the bedrooms and beds tick the boxes, bathroom very clean, we have not used the small indoor pool or Jacuzzi yet always a bit concerned at the water colour,but I am sure its fine, and your breakfast used to be available in your room, that was nice, but not now? Also it should be available till 10.30am not 9.30am, I am sure not all guests are early risers and its not to much of a major expense to have it. Regardless we will be back soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suite308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recent review Im glad you have enjoyed the time you have spent here with us and the full english meets your high standards. I will certainly review breakfast times and keep you posted on the decision that is made. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Vicky Mcleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this weekend for our nephew's wedding. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was very good, and the breakfasts plentiful, but no menu so be prepared to list what you fancy for your cooked breakfast! On our first evening a couple of extra staff wouldn't have gone amiss. The room we had was very small, but clean and contained everything necessary, although the walls are paper thin- we could even hear our neighbours visiting the bathroom.... The bathroom was spotless, but the shower was feeble! The wedding breakfast went without a hitch, and the staff changed the room for the evening do very efficiently. As others have said, there is no lift and many stairs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recent review, Im glad you enjoyed your nephews wedding and the food met your expectations, I am sorry there was no breakfast menus but restassured this is now rectified. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Vicky McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My Husband booked a 2 night stay at the Hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely and although the pillow was hard it was still a lovely stay. The staff were very nice and I will certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your birthday retreat with us and it was a pleasure to be apart of it. We are looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm Regards
Vicky McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had our wedding there on the 15th of February. All of our guests commented on the lovely and dedicated staff who were incredibly accommodating and attentive. The food was delicious and the bar very reasonably priced. Our rooms were clean, comfortable (apart from the pillows - a little too hard) and well appointed. Our day ran amazingly smoothly and we would highly recommend it to others. The only thing preventing the fifth star is that for a 'dog friendly hotel', it is not particularly dog friendly as they are only allowed in the bedrooms. Though there is no lift and quite a few stairs - the staff were very helpful allowing access to the first floor via the kitchens!!!

Room Tip: Room 38 was lovely but most were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Asher-Taylor, General Manager at Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, We pride ourselves on making your important day as special as possible and nothing is too much trouble. We wish you all the best for the future and we hope to see you on your anniversary.

Warm Regards
Vicky McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsbottom
3.4 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
12.0 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Springwood Street, Ramsbottom, Bury BL0 9DS, England (Formerly Best Western Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Ramsbottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsbottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you make your way up the sweeping drive in you will be greeted with a welcoming approach of flowers gardens and rockeries, seated terraces, cascading streams and pools. The hotel itself is Tudor in style and the entrance is modern and allows you to get a taste of what we have on offer. Set in the heart of Lancashire overlooking the Rossendale Valley. Quaint in its setting and modern in its internal decoration, our hotel is warm and friendly and situated perfectly for all your relaxation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel And Leisure Club
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club Ramsbottom, Bury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing