We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsbottom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Staff were pleasant and helpful and offered to carry my bags to my second floor room when I arrived. Room was comfortable with power-shower - much appreciated on very hot day!
I was amused to see, from the foyer, people enjoying the swimming bath and jacuzzi.
I stayed the night before a funeral and returned later in the day for post-funeral buffet lunch. Breakfast and lunch were both good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    143
    89
    31
    24
See reviews for
83
166
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Good value location but there is no lift and you cannot get to the bedroooms, bar or dining room without going up steep stairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelines186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Visited this hotel as friends had booked venue for their wedding. Check in was smooth and receptionist friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed with trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. Beds were comfortable and both the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereal, fruits etc with cooked food to order. Waitresses/waiter seemed competent although I was surprised that waiter could not tell a young guest what black pudding consisted of. We did not eat in the restaurant but if the wedding breakfast and reception were anything to go by the food was excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squarevanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed here early March for a family wedding. The hotel had been recently refurbished and the function space was very nice, decent sized and a good mix of modern and old. The bridal suite was nice with a four poster, a welcome basket and a flat screen TV.

Our room was nice and comfortable, but not as stylish or modern as I would have expected. The decoration and bedding was very new and modern, but the furniture was traditional style pine and the TV was not a flat screen. The beds were comfortable and the hotel provided a lavender spray to aid sleep. The bathroom was simple, modern and clean and the shower was fabulous and so so powerful. The sound insulation between the rooms wasn't the best, however I don't think it was helped by the loud and rowdiness of the people in the room next door.

In general the service was good, but there were a couple of blunt rude staff members we were unfortunate enough to speak to. The breakfast was cooked to order and was lovely, the service was efficient and friendly and there was also a cold breakfast buffet with a good choice of cereals, pastries and fruit.

The location of the hotel is very nice and is close to the lovely village of Ramsbottom. I would recommend this hotel as it was nice and good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Georgia Pacific in Ramsbottom.

A little bit difficult to find due to the roads in Ramsbottom not being properly up to date on my Sat Nav but if you're coming in from the main road through the village it's well sign posted.

Lovely, pleasant staff both in the Reception and the Bar/Restaurant area.

Food in the Restaurant was very nice and service was excellent. (Better than I have received in many so-called "big chain" hotels.
Also, there was an excellent choice of food available on the menu.

Room was basic but had everything necessary for a pleasant stay. Nice big radiator to keep the room warm, comfortable bed, a LCD TV with several channels and free high speed wireless broadband available (very high speed at 6-7Mb).
Shower in the room is modern so you don't have to worry about fiddling about with the shower controls etc.

I didn't use the leisure facilites as I was only staying the one night however the swimming pool and jacuzzi looked modern and pleasant.

Finally, the price at £48 for one night was excellent value considering Premier Inn charge a fair bit more for a place in the middle of nowhere with terrible food and no real luxuries.

Overall, I would definitely look forward to staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCallMeBigDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed here "by accident", as another hotel in the area accepted our booking then were full when we arrived...
But this hotel was probably even nicer, esp. with its leisure facilities.
A little bit tucked away, but my Tom Tom found it easily - and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Free wifi was very welcome - and extremely easy to connect to.
Recommended - and the little garden and stream in front (not noticed til we left) were very pleasant.
PS Some plastering/re-decoration going on, but not a problem, esp as receptionist warned us about it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmanMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I stayed here one night with friend on business. staff fairly friendly on welcome however we felt pressurised into eating in the restaurant only to be told them that the restaurant was not actually available due to a wedding?!!?, then my friend who was paying was asked if she wanted to have extra money added in advance to her bill, just in case we wanted drinks or anything...never had that before?!!?
recpetion area all a bit brown and grubby looking, up to room which was really dated and had possible the oldest hairdryer i have ever seen since the age of around 4.All clean, but really dull. bathroom ok. beds ok, bizarre leaflet explaining the choice you have of at least 5 different pillows, if you should care to call reception and ask to change the one you have. flatscreen tv on wall, limited choice of channels, skanky clock radio (like you might have at home) on the bedside cabinet. plus point - loads of buscuits and stuff in the drawer!!
breakfast alright, nothing special...went to pool and sauna which were old fashioned but nice, helpfull male attendant there. changing rooms grim and very cold.
staff pretty non plussed about everthing it seemed...my recommendation is go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mybeadyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsbottom
1.3 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
488 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
11.5 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Springwood Street, Ramsbottom, Bury BL0 9DS, England (Formerly Best Western Old Mill Hotel, Ramsbottom)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Ramsbottom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramsbottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you make your way up the sweeping drive in you will be greeted with a welcoming approach of flowers gardens and rockeries, seated terraces, cascading streams and pools. The hotel itself is Tudor in style and the entrance is modern and allows you to get a taste of what we have on offer. Set in the heart of Lancashire overlooking the Rossendale Valley. Quaint in its setting and modern in its internal decoration, our hotel is warm and friendly and situated perfectly for all your relaxation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel And Leisure Club
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club Ramsbottom, Bury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing