We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant atmosphere, where our custom was much appreciated.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Railway

The Railway
Ranked #34 of 46 Restaurants in Ramsbottom
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant atmosphere, where our custom was much appreciated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time visiting today and I can say it was a lovely warm welcoming from Jotham, the food was lovely for the price and the service was outstanding., plus the lemon cheesecake was amazing!.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyRailway, Owner at The Railway, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you in here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
blackburn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub, good food, staff really nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We walked about six miles from the caravan site at Burrs Country Park into Ramsbottom, absolutely shattered, wondered where to find a place to sit down, eat, and get a warm. The Railway did not appear to be advertising food, but thought we would go an ask if, they served food, would they allow us in with a dog. What a lovely warm welcome. The put inside is clean tidy, warm and comfortable, whilst keeping much of the older pub charm. The beer was keg and really good. We ordered beef and onions in a ciabatta bread roll for £4.00. Our plates came loaded with beef which was really tender and full of flavour, we had ordered a portion of chips to go with the rolls, which we struggled to each because there was so much.

Really lovely atmosphere, in a relaxed environment, well worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bdpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyRailway, Manager at The Railway, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and thank's for taking the time to leave us this positive comment. As you mention we welcome well behaved dogs along with walkers. If you are really muddy just leave your boots at the door or if your prefer sit in the beer garden. We have a bowl for dogs to drink from, just ask behind the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Forget it's old reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Been in a couple of times since new landlord Joe took over. Nice warm welcome, refurbished and a great night out. Not tried food as yet but great for a pint or two and great local live bands.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJayne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyRailway, Owner at The Railway, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It’s amazing that so many people who visit the pub comment on the transformation since we took over last year. Thanks for your custom, this positive response and spreading the word on how much better the pub is since we took over. Hope we tempt you with some food next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice homemade side orders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Only popped in for a quick snack before our bus arrived. What a lovely cosy pub with some quirky vintage pieces dotted around. How surprised were we when our side orders of chips & onion rings arrived! We weren't expecting much but massive homemade onion rings were awesome as were the chunky homemade chips.....should definately try something more next time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyRailway, Owner at The Railway, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for calling in to the pub and taking the trouble to writing this positive review. We launched our new menu this week which includes more snack items as well as some fantastic new main dishes; I do hope you can call in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great pub, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had a great lunch at the railway. The food was great and the staff were so friendly and really accommodating of a big group. Good time had by all!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyRailway, Manager at The Railway, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that your party had a good time. It was helpful that we chatted on our Facebook page before you arrived so we were well prepared for such a large party. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Railway also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Ramsbottom, Bury
 

Been to The Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing