We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Pub/ Kitchen in Ramsbottom”
Review of The First Chop Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

The First Chop Bar & Kitchen
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice little Pub/ Kitchen in Ramsbottom”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Little pub/Kitchen very near my wife's business. After two years we finally went in. Good atmosphere, friendly staff and a reasonable menu and a great selection of real ales.. We enjoyed a selection of Good Tapas and would have scored this place as excellent except the char grilled vegetables were cold. We will have to revisit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    14
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small but Good”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Cosy little bar in the centre of Ramsbottom. Both the upstairs and downstairs areas are quite small but that just means that you will soon be chatting to your neighbour. There’s an excellent selection of real ales-including their own brewed beers and some very good bottled and draught options. The food is modern contemporary and usually excellent. With its welcoming nature and beer and food choices, this is one of the best in the area.

The name derives from the fact that it’s an old butchers shop. Despite it’s narrow frontage, their is a disabled toilet on the ground floor, but access may be difficult at busy times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TysontheBeerhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of our favourite watering holes in Rammy. Good selection of beers. Good tapas style food or burgers and cosy atmosphere. Excellent choice of eclectic background music !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it ...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

First visit yesterday, great atmosphere, good food. Tapas, filling tasty, very enjoyable . Liked it ..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyMoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2nd visit”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited here on a Sunday of the August bank holiday weekend at 8.30pm We had previously visited and were impressed first time around as the food was delicious and we liked all the different beers on offer. We told our friends about it and they came along with us on this 2nd visit. On entering the premises a large dog was stretched out over the floor and I had to ask for the owner to move it. She replied by telling me it would be "fine to step over it" - No thanks! We started to look for the food menu and were told by the bar assistant that they were not serving food. We had not eaten all day and had been looking forward to it so you can imagine the disappointment. We got drinks, went downstairs and didn't stay long. Bars should not advertise on websites that they serve food till late when they don't. Very disappointed customer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank only1katieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Chop Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing