We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice wedding, but poor cleanliness standards”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice wedding, but poor cleanliness standards”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at Bagden Hall for one night, on a Monday, for a friends wedding reception.
On arriving at Bagden Hall we checked in with no problems, however, we were staying in a room in a seperate building facing the golf course. We got to our room, which was average, but no more than we expected for paying £66.50 B&B for the night. However, as i placed my overnight bag on the bed to unpack it i noticed a chicken drumstick on the bedside table. I found this to be totally unacceptable, as we did not check in until 3.30pm, so there was adequate time for the room to be properly cleaned.
On returning to reception with the item (!) the staff were quite dismissive about the instance stating that the manager would be made aware, and thanking me for returning the item to them!
The wedding reception was lovely and the staff appeared to be helpful towards the wedding party, however the manager did approach me regarding my complaint and simply advised that the room were cleaned to a very high standard - clearly not from my experience!
As we were served chicken legs at this wedding reception, i can only assume the food left in our room was from a similar function held that weekend.
The rest of the room was tidy, although there were also some suspect marks on the tiles in the bathroom!
I would stay in the hotel again under similar circumstances for convenience, but not out of choice, purely down to the poor levels of cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Bunnies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    186
    79
    46
    29
See reviews for
158
362
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at Bagden Hall for two nights as my brother was holding his wedding reception there. A number of people in our party were disappointed with the rooms and our residential experience. I should say that the wedding reception was fine - the food was pretty good and the day went smoothly - no problems at all. However, the rooms in the Lakeside annexe were too small and too hot. My partner and I were given a double room with an extra bed in it, making it very difficult to move around the room, and rendering the chairs and table (which has been pushed into a corner) unusable. If one of us was seated at the dressing table, the other had to crawl over the bed to get past. The bathroom was clean, which is more than I can say for the windows - we had to open them to ventilate the room and were joined by several spiders that had been hanging from the cobwebs that absolutely covered the external glass - they were a disgrace. We also termed the road leading towards the Lakeside rooms 'turd alley', as it was covered in dung with accompanying pungent smell. The breakfast was disappointing - not a huge range of food, no local produce, tinned mushrooms in the fry up, a portion of baked beans constitued 14 swimming in a cheap tomato sauce. The bars were also pricey. What was even more irritating was that the bar in the wedding venue charged 70p more per pint than the other bar in the hotel. When we went back to the hotel bar to buy a drink we were told that we couldn't do so, no-one was serving and we had to go back to the wedding reception - quite rude, considering we were residents. Part of the problem was that the staff were very young and there appeared to be little or no supervision. We were given a discount on the room, but still paid £90 per night . To be honest, the rooms at a Travelodge are not that dissimilar, and a hell of a lot cheaper. My sister stayed in the main hotel, in a suite. These rooms appeared to be a lot more spacious, but the decor was tired, and the whole place felt as though it needed some tlc. My advice - attend a function, but find somewhere else to stay for the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty1EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here for a family wedding this weekend and had a good overall experience, with a few let downs..
The access is up a wooded drive and you enter to what appears to be a very impressive stately home style house. The views are good and the outside of the building is in a good state of repair.
We booked for 2 nights and got a package of £65/night for the room + a free meal on the first night. (Good value) Our room was in the newly build annexe which was like a holiday inn style. The room was clean, comfortable and in a good decor. The bed however was reasonably comfortable but a bit bouncy, i think they did not spend much on the matresses and i can see these getting a bit ropey pretty quickly.
Some other members of our family were staying in the main house (more expensive rooms but larger and more impressive) and these rooms appeared good,.
Unfortunately the modern fire doors conversion in the hallway downgraded what should have been a nice welcoming ambience of old and stately hotel.
Our package meal was vey nice, reasonable quality and served with a smile. The bar kept us entertained but they kept running out of things and did not have any replacements, so we had to keep changing drinks when they ran out !
The modern extension that was used for the wedding was reasonable but pretty bland, Magnolia city, it could do with some more character. Their ability at mass catering is not as good as the guest restaurant, two different areas it appears. the lamb we had was nice but the veg had oviously been cooked 3 hrs before and the profitterols were a bit dry with no cream or chocolate to pour over them. Attention to quality and detail was a bit lacking in this department.
Finally the place backs on to a dairy or cattle farm and you certainly knew you were in the countryside at times. Maybe it was just the way the wind was blowing !!
Overall i would stay again if they offer a similar package,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t16tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Although we have not stayed at Bagden Hall, we were planning on booking our wedding here.......until we saw the bridal suites!

Cannot believe such a beautiful wedding venue and hotel has not bothered to update the dated decor and design of the bridal suites. Surely this is all part of the wedding experience and it really seems a terrible shame that a perfect wedding venue can't even get a simple thing like this right. It does not cost that much to bring the rooms up to date and after seeing other wedding venues, this was the deciding factor.

Come on Bagden Hall - it really doesn't cost that much to decorate!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebadohboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This really could be a lovely hotel, set in spacious grounds and close to many places of interest. We were very disappointed with the bedroom, it was small, dark, shabby and not very clean. Bathroom was pretty awful with mildew growing along side the bath, the floor was very badly marked from water damage and unless you are less than 4 foot high you have to squat to fit under the shower.
Ate in the restaurant the first night, food was very average service was again very average and incredibly slow, female staff were scruffy though the boys were all quite smart. Finally we were kept awake both nights from noisy functions going on.
Receptionist had a very couldn't care less attitude

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessy22121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

You couldn't say it wasreally bad but the room was worth nearer £60 than £110. Also I see no pictures of the travelodge style "annexe" on the webite. If there is a chance you will end up in there it should be shown. The grounds only really seemed to consist of a golf course. Breakfast tasty but tiny

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccabeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hidden in woodland and surrounded by a golf course, this is a lovely location. The staff are kind and enjoy being helpful as well as being efficient. We have had stayed at Bagden Hall Hotel on business twice in the last two months and are arranging a third visit. Everyone involved is happy to return - and that says quite a lot. We have held business meetings there and business dinners. The food has been quite exceptional. At breakfast they serve the best poached eggs we have ever had and the full English breakfast negates the need for any other food for the rest of the day! Kirsty Senior, the conference co-ordinator, has been so helpful and, unlike so many places, Kirsty is present to see that we are happy with all the arrangements. So often the co-ordinator is gone at 5pm! Room One used to be the Mill Owner's bedroom and it overlooks the valley to his Mill. Great history! Over in the Lakeside rooms - a modern addition - the rooms are comfortable and clean. We have not had a single complaint from any of our delegates. There's even a great little Indian Restaurant 1/2 mile away. All highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing