We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic mid week break”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic mid week break”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here 13 and 14th feb, the welcome, service and ambiance are second to none, our room overlooking the grounds and neighbouring Scissett was snug but perfectly clean and tidy, the evening staff were exceptional and the day staff just as lovely (we mention the evening staff more as we spent more time with them). The restaurant food was gorgeous and the extra touches for valentines day really raised the bar. We would definately return and recommend this hotel to others. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda649saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Happy to read you enjoyed your visit to us & that you were impressed with all aspects of your stay particularly our Team . We work very hard to ensure we create a relaxing & comfortable environment .
We hope to welcome you back again soon
Warmest regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    191
    81
    46
    30
See reviews for
161
371
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Defiantly recommend this hotel, the staff made our stay perfect they couldn't do enough for us, so polite and helpful, the room was amazing we were upgraded to the bridal suite it was huge, so clean and tidy, the food was amazing and delious no complaints at all. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichDan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback which I will share with the Team .
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Warmest regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Bagden Hall as we were attending a wedding there. Our room was off the main building and was sub-standard, especially considering the price. The main building was quite nice for the wedding but the food was just okay. Breakfast the following morning was a bit awkward as the tables were large and you had to sit with about 10 other people and there was no choice in what was served, so it was an unhealthy fried breakfast. We would not book again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - I understand your stay with us was back in April 2012. In the 10 months since your stay I am sure we will have made advancements but with the passage of time it is difficult to respond to your comments in a a truthful manner . I am sorry that you did not like your room in the Lakeside and that you did not wish to have breakfast with the other wedding guests as arranged We do offer a traditional cooked breakfast to your table as well as smoked haddock , kippers, porridge -etc a really good variety ..Alternatively the breakfast buffet is self service and offers fruit, cereal , yoghurts and a selction of juices so you can chose a healthy option if you prefer ..
Regards
Caroline Gleeson , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked our winter wedding in the Summer of last year. With such a short lead time the support of the staff was very useful. We used the recommended wedding photographer John Marshall, who is also hightly recommended. The staff on the day were very attentive and all our guests complimented the food. Barry - Toast Master for the day was excellent and put both me and my husband at ease. We had a disabled relative and she was looked after very well without us having to worry about her getting from room to room. 28 rooms were booked by our guests who all enjoyed the freshly cooked full breakfast the following morning.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are beautiful kept and to fitted to a high standard. The lakeside rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - I was pleased to read your commnets - good luck for your future together
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Attended a friend's wedding over the christmas period. It was a brilliant day with good food, great entertainment in pleasant surroundings.

Due to the time of the year we perhaps didn't get to make the best of the hotel's countryside location. I would imagine in spring/summertime the substantial grounds including private lake, gardens and woodlands would be pretty spectacular.

I would imagine staging weddings at this hotel is a big part of their business. Not surprisingly they pretty much have a captive audience for the bedrooms once a wedding is booked as the location is pretty remote. The annexe rooms were well appointed and lovelly and warm but as previous reviews point out they don't miss the opportunity to charge top dollar for the convenience factor.

However you 'pays your money and makes your choice.' We had a great day and that was the most important thing as far as we were concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommurphy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments - I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from a two night romantic break at Bagden Hall, paid extra for a suite (room 4) which was very large, with high ceilings and original features and a window which overlooked the grounds and lake. The bathroom was also large with a roll top bath and separate shower cubicle, again with high ceiling and window, heated towel rail and complimentary toiletries. Bed was very wide (actually 2 x 3ft singles joined together so could be used as a twin also). We were greeted with chilled champagne, chocolates and beautiful flowers in the room. Food was excellent (in the interest of transparency Classic Lodges should make it clear on booking that there is a £25 limit on the cost of the evening meal, embarassing to have to clarify at hotel). Having said that, you can get 3 very good courses for around that price from the menu as starters and desserts are around £5-6 main courses around £15-£23. Staff are very good, polite and helpful and hotel is beautiful with period features and open fire. There are several local walks from the grounds from 1.5miles to the 10 mile walk we did (there's a lovely miniature railway about 3 miles long nearby), the hotel provides very good leaflets to follow. The only issue we found was children from the wedding on Satuday running around the entire hotel, up one set of stairs, along the corridors, down another staircase, through the otherwise lovely relaxing bar screaming and shouting from late afternoon (when a nap would have been nice after our walk) until 11.10pm. Had left my children at home with grandma! (parents fault though not hotels, the wedding venue is separate from rest of hotel)

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 are suites in older, period part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments- I was pleased to read them - apologies that you were disturbed by the children attending the wedding .
We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in room 21 of the 'annex' for one night to attend a wedding. The wedding was fine and the food was good. Breakfast was also good and the service staff were attentive. My only issue at breakfast was we were not offered a table, we were just put on a table with wedding party guests.
My major complaint is about our room which at best was like a travel lodge...the carpets along the hall way was filthy..one of our lights didn't work so i contacted reception who sent someone to change a bulb, only it wasn't a bulb it was the wiring (so we were told) and nothing could be done!! On closer inspection there was finger marks and makeup splashes all over the walls and table. The bathroom was very poorly cleaned, grimy sink, leaking shower which was luke warm, cracked mirror and cracked toilet. All for only £120.
I would perhaps stay here again but only if i were guaranteed a room in the main building.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I was sorry to read you were not happy with your bedroom - clearly there were some cleanliness issues which I have raised with our Housekeeper .
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food and breakfast
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
962 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,560 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 53 in Sheffield
1,005 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,342 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing