We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy wedding venue”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband, his parents and I stayed here for a weekend for my Husbands 30th Birthday.

We had booked the Yorkshire break which was very good value. This deal was 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast, we also had the option of a packed lunch.

There were weddings on both the Friday and the Saturday. This hotel obviously makes the most of the money from Weddings, which is fine but there is no privacy in the bar for non wedding guests.

Checking in was quite difficult. My husband and i had been charged when we were told we would not have been, it was refunded the day after so we had to pay again on check out. I found it quite disconcerting that the first wedding in the photo book at reception was the member of staff that checked us in.

we stayed in the Lakeside rooms. We were initially in room 29, however we were unable to get the tap to run into the bath and turn the cold tap on. We were then moved to room 20, which was right next to the entry. This could be noisy at times and the fire door next to the room bangs as the hinge dampeners have been used so much. The room was clean and perfectly ok. The bed was very soft and felt like quite a small double.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Matthew in the bar was a star. There were things that had been changed or not available on the menu but he explained everything well. Matthew mentioned that the hotel's wine merchants have gone bankrupt recently. It means he had to explain that the wines on the menu were slightly different. From an outside view this could easily be rectified by reprinting the menu and would make staff more comfortable. It also became apparent that the majority of glasses are washed in the one glass washer at the bar, and with 2 functions on the Saturday night the whole bar was covered in glasses.

Food was nice in the restaurant and breakfast cooked well. Mother in law said the smoked haddock was the best she had experienced. I had emailed before to ask about leaving a birthday cake as a surprise for my husband. However when I went to do this at reception they seemed very surprised and could not store the balloons we had bought.

We would stay again but it does appear that funds are tight at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your extensive feedback which I have shared with the Team and with Matthew who made such a positive impression on you .
We have several wedding photograph albums for guests to browse through around the Hotel but all our Reception Team are in fact single ! I am sure they would love to have their future Wedding Reception here at the Hotel and maybe one day feature in one of these albums .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 797 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a birthday treat 27/28th October, on a dinner bed & breakfast basis. There was a wedding happening in the main hotel (which i understand happens most weekends) so we had a room in the lake side annex. It was lovely, spacious, and very clean and we could park the car right out side the room. I have read some other reviews on here saying that theses lakeside rooms are not really up to spec but i honestly couldn't disagree more, certainly not below par for a 3* hotel and and as for the 60 second stroll through the gardens to get to the main building it was more of a pleasure than a chore! On the first night we had a table booked for 8pm in the restaurant and although our order was not taken until 8.30, the food was lovely and the staff were great. Breakfast is cooked to order and very tasty too. The biggest asset to this hotel, which in parts is looking a little tired, is its staff! In particular Matthew on the bar and James on reception, well done guys you do a great job!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asked and it is a great base for day trips out and about in the dales

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lakeside annex are quite and have a great view and you can park your car right out side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments - particularly those concerening the Team - and Matthew & James specifically - its always good to hear when we are doing something well .
We hope to welocme you again soon
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this for a totally relaxing overnight stay after a hard days Christmas shopping. The room was spacious with a lovely view over the gardens. Dinner was tasty with a small but excellant selection. Breakfast was cooked to order with good quality produce.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments - glad you enjoyed your stay & your Christmas shopping trip .
Kind regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there on a Thursday/Friday night for a wedding last week. The place looks great and the bedroom was more than acceptable and they provided a cot for our baby, we had some issues with the water in the bath not running properly and as it was late they asked if we could fill from the shower and a plumber would be there at 8am to fix it - we didnt mind and they knocked £20 off the nights stay for that and first thing the plumber arrived and fixed it.

The breakfast was varied and the full english i had was great, not too much and not soaked in beans and filler stuff.

The main reason im writing this review is because the staff, all of them are brilliant, very helpful and friendly and more than eager to go the extra mile for you. We have stayed in places all over the world and all stars and have to rank these guys as the top for service.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building, this is the old manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback - I am so sorry you had issues with your bath but am pleased we were able to resolve this so quickly .

Thank you for your comments about our Team - we work very hard to ensure we deliver relaxed & friendly service .

Kind regards

Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, well decorated in attractive location. Good food, helpful staff and a huge room. Stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast offer which was excellent value for money. Perfect location for visiting Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeBeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your visit to us - I hope to welcome you again very soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel, location, staff and food. The staff were all brilliant. Booked into the lakeside room where the view was lovely but room did not match up to the main hotel. Would definitely stay again but would upgrade room next time.

Room Tip: Try to book room in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments - we hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here en route to a wedding nearby, and unknowingly had been booked into the Lakeside Suite. The main hotel itself looks beautiful, and staff were polite and friendly start to finish. But after checking in we were ushered out a fire exit at the back and pointed off down what closely resembles a farm track to the ugly building we were staying in. It speaks volumes that the staff don't bother taking you all the way down to the building, they are probably embarrassed. Other reviewers are right, this is well below the standard of a travelodge, but we were paying much more than we would at one of the budget chains. Small, shabby room, and the building is right next to a farm building (over the wall) giving both a delightful smell of manure and a dog barking late into the evening. We felt really cheated. Ate in the restaurant and food was fine (although its ambitions not quite matched by quality of cooking). Breakfast likewise good. But overall an experience which wasn't just disappointing but felt a bit dishonest...

Room Tip: Beg to be placed in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Sorry to read you were disappointed with your room in the Lakside - the comparison to a Travel Lodge really is unfair as you commend us on the quality of our food and our staff. Clearly you would have prefered the character of the rooms in the Main House but for these there was never any availlability .
Yours sincerely
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,479 reviews
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
6.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
624 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
416 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range: $95 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing