We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel that was let down by the disabled facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good hotel that was let down by the disabled facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights while attending a wedding ceremony of a relative. We were located in the Annex some 50 yards or so from the main hotel. There were about 20 members of the party including two who are close to 90 years old. We have no issues over the food or the location which were as described in most of the reviews as well up to standard. The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous throughout our visit.

Our principal issue is one of the disabled facilities. We specifically asked for a room with a shower suitable for a disabled person as one of the party is very frail and has difficulty walking and were disappointed to be told on arrival that there were no rooms with showers only. She was allocated the 'disabled' room in the Annex. The bathoom is larger than others in the annex and is fitted with various handles around the bath, toilet and walls and that was the extent of the disabled fitments. The bathroom had an over-the-bath shower fitment. How anyone in a chair or is unstable on their feet is expected to use it is quite beyond me. The corridors and entrance to the Annex are fitted with doors that no frail person has the strength to open.

I strongly recommend you review your disabled facilities with input from someone with experience in their provision. Your current facilities in the Annex fall way short of the standard that I would expect of a modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PozzBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
I was disappointed to read your feedback - especially following the very positive comments of the previous reviewer who was a wheelchair user .
Our facilities do meet with the current requirements but I will share your feedback with our Group Property Manager so they can be considered at the next review .
Regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    181
    78
    46
    29
See reviews for
157
358
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a 3 night break here and a truly wonderful time.
We were in the disabled room as i am in a wheelchair and it had everything we needed.
was clean and warm and comfortable.
The staff were so friendly and couldn't do more to help. Special thanks to Mathew behind the bar and the head chef Steve, They made our stay perfect.
Our black Lab loved her stay as the walks and grounds are amazing and the sausages for breakfast and roast beef for tea where wolfed down by her in delight. It was so nice to be able to bring her with out worrying about if she'd be ok. I think in fact she would have been happy to move in!
Mathew the barman who also looked after us in the Bistro was so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay special.
I just want to say a huge thank you and we will be back in the summer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I was happy to read you enjoyed your visit to us - thank you for your kind comments which I will share with Matthew and the Team .
I hope to welcome you back again this Summer
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This proved to be an excellent offer and provided excellent value for money. We discovered how fantastic this part of Yorkshire was, the hotel and its staff made us very welcome and a plus was they were dog friendly. The young lady who looked after us in the restaurant as was the manager very attentive, all meals were excellently presented and hot! Caroline at breakfast even made sure the dogs had their ration of sausage. Would I consider Bagden Hall again, you bet I will!

Room Tip: The hotel proves a popular location for weekday weddings because of it keen rates, the evening enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0rgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I was pleased to read your lovely comments & that you enjoyed your stay with us .
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

my new husband and I recently married at Bagden Hall. It was a fantastic venue and the day and the night before was excellent. A large number of the wedding party stayed the night before and an excellent three course meal was enjoyed by all. The food from start to finish was exceptional with real care, thought and attention to detail by Stephen, the chef, he was so kind that he even asked what the two dogs in the party wanted for breakfast. Barry worked hard with us the day before the wedding and on the wedding day to make sure all went well and he was fantastic, worked hard, was fully committed to every part of the day going well. I would strongly recommend this venue for your wedding, The only negative part of the experience was communication with the wedding organiser leading up to the wedding and on the wedding day, her communication and customer service skills leave a lot to be desired and she can be inflexible. i have noted the same feelings reflected in other comments on here.
All other staff including cleaners, waiters, reception staff, kitchen staff,bar staff and the two named staff above were really thoughtful, had excellent customer service skills and worked hard at all times. You all deserve a massive THANK YOU

Room Tip: From family feedback the rooms in the main building are better quality than the lakeside but no real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which I will share with the team !
Good luck to you both for your future together
Warmest Regards
Caroline Gleeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed at the Bagden Hall for one night with my wife and child. A lot of the rooms are not actually in the main hall, but in a recenly built complex about 30 yards down the lane from the main hall.

Whilst the place is very nice, I feel the prices are way over the top. We have stayed in 5* hotels for better prices than we were charged here. The bar prices were also quite steep.

Breakfat in the morning was very average - you were served with a choice of traditional English or kippers. The English breakfast was nothing to write home about.

Other than the prices there was nothing wrong with the place itself which is a very nice wedding location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisuk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments . We regularly compare the prices we offer with those of our local competitors and consistently find we offer good value for money - I'm sorry if you did not feel this . As well as offering a full Yorskhire breakfast or kippers in the mornings our menu also provides a Continental breakfast , smoked haddock & poached eggs, &
a wide selection of cereals , fruit & yoghurts .
Yours sincerley
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Myself and my husband got married here in December.
We booked it after falling in love with the hotel and the lovely grounds. We had a couple of problems leading up to the big day, the main one being communication with the wedding planner but after non answered emails I just called up or popped in and got things sorted. We had our wedding meal taster and we decided to choose the steak pie, when it came out we were very dissapointed as was more like a football pie, we aired our concern with the excellent restaurant manager Damien and he asked the chef to come and see us. The chef was new and explained that the menu was the old chefs and what can he do to make it better, we explained that we wanted big trays of pie served up with puff pastry and he said no problem. We left the taster feeling very happy and excited about our big day.
On our wedding day we were looked after by Adam. He was absolutely fantastic and cant thank him and all the staff who worked that day enough. The room looked wonderful and we were so pleased. When the food arrived for the wedding breakfast it was how we expected and as the chef had promised. (again thank you so so much chef) All our guests loved the meal and said how great it was to have something different.
Adam throughout the day was in full control and guided us through each step . He really was one in a million.
The evening reception also went without a hitch and all our guests loved the in house dj and the band (the nerds) which we arranged ourselves.
Bagden Hall is a wonderful venue for your big day and especially at christmas time as they make it so magical.
Thank you all at Bagden, Caroline your staff are a credit to your hotel (esp Adam, Damian and the head chef) Thank you again for letting us have the day we always dreamed of. xx

Room Tip: The honeymoon Suite and all the suites are wonderful and very grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmattrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments which I will share with the team .
Good luck & best wishes to you both for your future together.
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night 20-2-2012,was in suite one,which is a wonderful 4 poster room,very spacious with raised sitting area,lovely bathroom complete with giant rubber duck in the bath,evening meal was superb and breakfast the next morning the same,all members of staff were friendly and curteous and couldnt do enough for you,had a walk round the grounds and then went back for a drink in the bar,would reccommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: suite one is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hazlewood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
12.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing