We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue for a wedding”
Review of Bagden Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagden Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for a wedding”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

As mother-of-the-groom, I wanted everything to be perfect. Very attentive and friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The wedding meal was delicious and although we overran by more than an hour, we were not rushed out. The Master of Ceremonies was very organised, and assisted perfectly behind the scenes. Although the weather was damp and drizzly, our photographer obtained some lovely shots of the happy couple by the roaring fire near the main entrance hall. I would certainly recommend this venue for your wedding and reception.

I did not stay at the hotel so cannot comment on the bedrooms, but my sister and partner had a very hard mattress on their bed and due to his back problem, did not sleep at all well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments relating to your sons wedding - I am pleased to read it was a successful and memorable day .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    196
    81
    47
    30
See reviews for
164
378
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had a small wedding (about 45 guests) in September 2011 which we could not fault. We had our ceremony in the blue room followed by a casual BBQ wedding breakfast, the food was fantastic. Later in the evening we had the same amount of people for the evening function in the Glendale restaurant. We used the hotel recommended DJ who was great and played every song we had requested, we paid extra for the dance floor and it finished off the look. The food was great again and there was plenty.
As a same sex couple we were apprehensive at first but we were made to feel like the only ones in the hotel even though there was a larger wedding function in the orchard suite.
We had a few communication issues with the wedding planner but I think this is down to how busy they are and think they could do with 2 planners.
When we entered the hotel from the start we were greeted my the GM and the Opperation manager and we were made to feel at ease, Barry was fantastic he was there every time we needed him, from taking our wedding cards off us and taking them to our room to advising us when and what was happening next.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your very special day with us . Perhaps we will see you again for your anniversary .
Kind reagrds
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

STAYED FOR 2 NIGHTS DINNER BED & BREAKFAST could not think of a better place to be staff were wonderfull room was spot on good car parking & grounds but best of all was the food it was unbeatable this hotel should be full all the time great log fire in the lounge flat screen t.v in the bedroom tea making roll top bath even a giant plastic duck in the bath & a giant bed warm & comfortable if your ever any where near go & enjoy it you wont be dissapointed belongs to THE CLASSIC LODGE GROUP & we were told they have the same high standard througout my mission now is to experience them all with thanks to all the staff & management from jim & norma bullock ( see you again soon )

Room Tip: try & get a suite in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments which I will share with the Team . I hope to welcome you back very soon .
Yours sincerely
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Spent Christmas 2011 at Bagden Hall. Had a lovely time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Service was excellent. Was great to have no cooking and washing up with a game of Christmas golf! Course needs work but great to potter round.

Room Tip: Pick one of the Suites, the extra room is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51MES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments - I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period and I hope to welcome you back very soon
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Well what can I say, the staff at Bagden Hall could not have made our day any more special they were very helpful and efficient. The wedding breakfast was gorgeous and everyone commented on how efficiently served it was. The room and the hotel looked beautiful, a special thank you to Adam who looked after us throughout the day he was not only a lovely guy but a true professional he ensured us that all would go to plan and it did. Adam kept us all calm with his smiles and his reassurance. Thanks also to Helen the wedding planner who was helpful with suggestions and planning, All in all we had a wonderful day I would recommend Bagden Hall without any reservation, Thanks to the whole team! Happy New Year to you all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheelin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments which I have shared with the Team .
Good luck for your furture together
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A few months ago we took pot luck whilst passing by and booked in for a night and a very pleasant stay we had. Good room, excellent and friendly service, and pleasant grounds, all for a very reasonable price. I'd recommend this establishment to anyone.

Very good location if you are visiting the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, and not a million miles from the motorway if you are on a long journey.

Gave an average for the swimming pool, although I don't think there is one!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgprewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments - I hope you choose to stay with us again next time you are 'passing by'
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Pros
* Clean and well appointed rooms (nice bathroom products, big tv, comfy beds).
* Extra bed in double room with only small extra charge.
* Lovely grounds for walking around.
* Helpful staff.
* Great breakfast with lots of choice.
* Convenient parking

Cons
* Quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineGleeson, General Manager at Bagden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments . We hope to see you again soon .
Kind regards
Caroline Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scissett
8.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,590 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,381 reviews
11.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagden Hall Hotel

Property: Bagden Hall Hotel
Address: Wakefield Road, Scissett HD8 8SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Scissett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scissett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bagden Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagden Hall is a magnificent Country House Hotel set in 40 acres of beautiful grounds. Built in the 1860's by a local mill owner Bagden Hall offers a blend of elegance and informality. The woodland, old stone bridge with it's own Folly and the Lake offer areas of calm in a busy world. Bagden Hall is one of Yorkshires premier wedding venues & also features an award winning restaurant . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bagden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagden Hall Huddersfield
Bagden Hall Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing