We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Chequer Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chequer Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Horseheath B&B and Inns
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A beautiful cottage with a fabulous guest suite above the garage. Extremely comfortable bed. Great hosts who even brought us afternoon tea in the garden. Breakfast was really good with a range of fruit, yogurts, cereals and cooked items. Bed and breakfast at Chequer Cottage is excellent and it was a shame that we were there for only two nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezza1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only stayed for one night wish it could have been longer.Loved the annex,beautiful views of the garden,peace and quiet,friendly owners,great breakfast in the lovely dining room.Could not have wished for any thing more it was wonderful and we hope to stay again some day soon,its like being in a different world to the noisy place where we live.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postladyHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to have several weekends away recently - so much so that I would not have enough time to write reviews for all of our stays. I felt I must however, make an exception for Chequer Cottage and share what a wonderful place to stay it is.
We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at the cottage and can not praise it highly enough. We were given the gift of a vineyard tour and lunch (Chilford Hall) by our family and needed somewhere to stay locally as we are not from the area. It was our good fortune that the first accommodation we tried did not have availability but passed on Debbie and David's details to us as an alternative. WIN! From the first telephone conversation and booking they were most delightful, helpful and accommodating - even offering us the loan of their bikes and an early arrival so that we could cycle to the vineyards for our day out.
When we arrived we were a little short on time to get to our tour but Debbie and David had the bikes at the ready and after the briefest of introductions we set off. When we arrived back some few hours later we were truly able to appreciate the loveliness of the cottage, the gardens and the accommodation - not to mention the warm welcome we received and a genuine interest in our day.
We were then served tea in the gardens which was so quintessentially English! It was perfect after our bike ride - a tray of afternoon tea for two served in fine Spode china, with Debbie's delicious home-made cup cakes served in a lovely glass domed cake container. The garden borders were stacked with colourful summer flowers and perfectly manicured while the house is surrounded by many thatched cottages - a real haven of tranquillity!
The en-suite bedroom accommodation was a delight - self contained above the double garage block with it's own private entrance from the garden. The room was spacious, comfortable and furnished with everything you would need. It had a nice mix of traditional and modern, with part exposed beams on the walls and above the wooden door, which were in keeping with the character of the main cottage whilst presenting a clean, modern and very comfortable room. The room had a comfortable double bed, dressing table and chair with hair-dryer and two relaxing chairs for watching the TV or perhaps reading the books/magazines provided. But just looking out of the two eaves (dormer) windows was wonderful with the pretty surroundings!The bathroom was spacious, immaculate and fitted out with high end white goods - lovely large walk-in shower with rain-head shower which felt luxurious. Plenty of towels - and for once lovely proper- size large soft fluffy bath towels - and nice toiletries.
Breakfast was fantastic! Served in the main cottage at an oval wooden table by an open fireplace.On entering, the smell of Debbie's home made bread had us hanging our noses on the air like the bisto kids! It was delicious! Fruit juice, good choice of cereals, followed by yoghurt with fresh strawberries and blueberries.We then opted for the Full English breakfast which was lovely, perfectly cooked and the eggs just how I like them! Copious amounts of tea was then followed by toast and home made preserves. Just fab!
All in all, a real gem of a find - I can't recommend Chequer Cottage highly enough for anyone staying in the area - everything you could hope for (and free wi-fi) in idyllic surroundings, managed by really nice owners for whom it is obviously a labour-of-love!
Thanks Debbie and David - top marks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Com4tzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days in early May. Debbie and Dawid are fantastic hosts that catered for all our needs.We chose this location as we wanted to explore Cambridge and the surrounding areas. The B&B is ideally located with a short drive into Cambridge. Being in the countryside also gave us the opportunity to get out on our Tandem which Dawid kindly locked away for us overnight. Debbie and Dawid also shared some potential cycle routes with us. We decided on a lovely day out to Anglesey Abbey about a 24 miles cycle away. On our return, Debbie made us a cup of tea and served her delicious cup cakes that we enjoyed in their lovely garden. The breakfasts were delicious too - we even bought some of Debbie's preserves to take home with us.

I can highly recommend Chequer Cottage and we will return next time we are in this area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and would highly recommend it. The area is beautiful and the room is lovely. Always a friendly welcome from Debbie and David. Breakfast is delicious and served in a stunning dining room too. Overall a very nice and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 218JenniferS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just stayed at Chequer Cottage, Cambridge. What a wonderful 1st class Bed and Breakfast. We received a very personal, friendly service from Debbie and David. The accommodation was very comfortable, bathroom facilities excellent, breakfasts utterly delicious. The garden is a delight to relax in - so very peaceful. We personally award this Bed and Breakfast 5 stars. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful B&B in every way shape and form. Nothing more to say!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horseheath
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Haverhill Hotel
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Red Lion Inn
Old Red Lion Inn
#1 of 3 in Horseheath
122 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Three Hills
The Three Hills
#1 of 2 in Bartlow
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequer Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequer Cottage

Property: Chequer Cottage
Address: Streetly End, Horseheath CB21 4RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Horseheath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horseheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chequer Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chequer Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing