We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Trooper Harvester

The Old Trooper Harvester
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At The Old Trooper Harvester in Christleton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Christleton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Great Broughton, Waverton and Vicars Cross, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Old Trooper is a chain pub restaurant therefore do not expect fancy five star food. What you do get is a good menu with good quality food, the salad bar is very good indeed and is nice and fresh.
The place itself is very pleasant and is maintained and cleaned to a good standard. The prices are quite reasonable and parking is easy.
From memory I seem to remember a tail lift at the door for wheelchairs. The staff were very pleasant and service was efficient and friendly.
We liked this restaurant and came away well satisfied - far better than many other chain restaurants, give it a go I'm sure that you won't regret it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
Kind regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    125
    64
    39
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“value for money!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This Harvester looks like it has just been refurbished and looked spotless and clean, the food was excellant value for money and the staff friendly and helpful, also if you need wheelchair/pram access there is an electric tail lift by the front door..worth a visit if your in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamesypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always running out of food choices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

If they have all the food they say they have on the menus then it's a fantastic place to go either with a family or a couple for a fair priced menu. We used to visit frequently but lately have got fed up of being told choices weren't available, ie chicken, steaks and jacket potatoes! ( not a lot left on the menu!).
Several visits a couple of weeks apart was told the ice cream machine was broken and hadn't been repaired. On the last visit the air seemed to be full of cooking fat when we questioned it as it was starting to sting our eyes we were told that the filters get cleaned out at the end of the week so they were due to be done the following day? ???

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Have no negatives...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Open kitchen, amazing food (chicken and chorizo platter with monterrey jack and mushroom sauce is the reason I will be returning). A pub that does restaurant food... well. Good salad bar (try the red devil sauce, fit!)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CSBarnes1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fast and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good basic food served quickly. Good salad bar. Great for a quick meal not really for a special occasion. Good quality fast food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank K11MYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Trooper Harvester also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Trooper Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing