We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil perfection!”
other traveler has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tranquil perfection!”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jackie & Ray are the sweetest, most considerate people I've met in a long time. They go to great lengths to make you feel at ease and comfortable during your stay. The cottage was so beautiful. My dream home I have to say. Refurbished to the highest standard. I was so impressed. No effort was spared when it came to personal touches either, fresh flowers throughout the property, logs for the fire, honey from their bees and free range eggs from their hens. I wanted to stay a lot longer than 2 nights, the bed was pure luxury! My partner and I turned up without a plan but Jackie & Ray soon gave us heaps of suggestions and we were so pleased. We chose to walk a section of the Sandstone Trail. Overall this cottage is perfect for those of you who would love the chance of a lay in, a few strolls, the opportunity to cook tasty meals and cosy on up in front of the log fire.

We will be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A home away from home, dvd player, wifi, washing machine, dish washer, powerful shower & super king sized bed.
Liked least: A clock downstairs would be beneficial. Whilst we wanted to relax we kept having to go upstairs to find our phones for the time.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan K
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is very comfortable, furnished to a very high standard. The location was perfect for us wanting to relax and take our dog on excellent walks through the National Trust park. Ray and Jackie were great hosts, very helpful. We will definitely be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet564395
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Granary Cottage is set in a gorgeous location with the Sandstone trails on your doorstep. Perfect for long walks with your dog! The cottage itself has been restored to a very high standard. It has clearly been a labour of love. From the wood burning stove to the free range eggs and home made honey that await you, there's no end to the personal touches the owners have added to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Myself and my husband, along with our Beagle have been overwhelmed by the warm welcome that we have received and cannot wait to come back! I would thoroughly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing break to come to the Granary Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peartrees...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star accomodation”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a wonderful place to stay, every facility in the cottage and lovely hosts. The whole cottage was marvelous and kitted out to a very high standard. Excellent walks for the dog and us. Hope to stay again next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place had a wonderful calming feel
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWai...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in stunning countryside”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage was perfect for a get away from it all break. It was easy to find, the rooms were lovely, newly decorated and spotlessly clean. There are fabulous walks from right outside the door and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. Would definitely come back and would recommend it to other TA users.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Idyllic English hamlet, traditional cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Granary Cottage very much. Beautifully decorated, comfortable. Small kitchen but with everything one needs to prepare a full meal if desired, and we did. Lovely garden well maintained. We ate outside with 5 other family members from the area very comfortably, and pleasantly in fine weather (though that's not guaranteed). Cottage feels roomy even though it quite small -- perfect for the two of us. Roomy bedroom, comfy bed, and lovely modern bath/shower room. We'll definitely return. Close to main road to other locations, with many tourist attractions and city of Chester nearby. The hosts are friendly and helpful and into a sustainable living style. But the chickens do stay in their fenced area, and the bees confine themselves to their hives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of finishings in the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne W
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming Cottage with lovely owners”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is in a quiet location with amazing views. Lovely to wake up in the morning with the sun shining into the room, looking out to the hills. Local pub within walking distance where the food smelt divine. The owners of the Cottage could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing