We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carden Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$76
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Tarporley(Tarporley)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,608)
Filter reviews
4,608 results
Traveler rating
2,536
1,253
480
206
133
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,536
1,253
480
206
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf breakthe main hoteltwo double bedscourtyard roomvines restaurantspa treatmentslovely hotelgreat facilitiesevening meallovely groundsrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesredmonds restaurantnight breaksteam roomchanging roomsfood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
3,490 - 3,495 of 4,608 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife, 5 year old son and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Carden Park. We booked through a deal we spotted on Travelzoo, which was Dinner, B & B for £115 for the 3 of us.
It is a fairly modern hotel complex appointed to a good standard. It is a little bit tired in some places, but overall very clean and comfortable. We had a standard double room which consisted of two double beds. We did have a rather noisy radiator in our room which happened to kick in during the night, but it didn't cause us any major problems.
The facilities on site are great and really geared towards families. Our son really enjoyed the different activities.
We ate in the main restaurant and the food was of a very good standard. There was not a separate menu for people with Travelzoo vouchers, like some places tend to offer. We ate from the main menu which was excellent.
Breakfast was average and not of the same quality as our evening meals. The pastries were a bit hard and as it was a buffet some things were a little overdone.
Overall we had a great time and would definitely consider returning. Not sure I would pay the full price though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmybyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are pleased that you took the time to write following your recent stay. We have noted your comments and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I have never written a comment on Trip Advisor before but feel so upset with this hotel that I feel I must. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The decor is old and drab with dirty carpets - haven't seen a Hoover in days surely. The swimming pool was very cold and the steam room is so small that only 4 people can get in it at one time (very friendly !!). I didn't eat in either restaurant as the comments I heard from the other 3 people who were in the steam room at the time said the service was appalling waiting 45 mins to be asked if they wanted a drink and food taking 2 hours to come. The front of house staff were unprepared and did know we were coming (even though we'd booked the same day). According to the 3 steam room 'buddies' they had a similar experience. The layout of the hotel is crazy - our room was ground floor but we had to go upstairs, along corridors, down stairs then along further corridors to finally get there ! Am lying in the bed at the hotel as I write this and just noticed the walls are paper thin. Can hear everything going on next door - not pleasant. Overall DON'T COME HERE !!!! - really wish we hadn't.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Peter1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are really concerned to learn about your review. We would have hoped that you did speak to us during your stay as this is extremely disappointing to read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Second stay at this hotel our first stay was in a king golf view which was a stunning room with a lovely balcony overlooking driving range area, decided to go for the slightly cheaper king room this time it being winter. Room was still fabulous large and comfortable but did prefer the balcony room. Evening meal and breakfast both really good and we also had afternoon tea which was very nice too. Hotel was very busy as it was half term but all staff were lovely even though they were under a lot of pressure. Had a lovely swim but went before breakfast when it was quiet also enjoyed a very pleasant walk around golf course. Really love this hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms with golf view balconies are lovely but their basic king room is a really high quality comfortable room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for writing your kind review following your stay during half term. It's reassuring for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you really love Carden Park - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights from 19th February. Most years our half term in Leicester is a week before the rest of the country. This year it seems the whole country had the same week. The hotel was very busy. Our basic room (129) was clean and very adequate - it would have been nice if the face flannels had been replaced once they were removed on the first morning and the toiletries renewed. There were not enough toiletries for two people for 3 nights! (Luckily we always take our own flannels and toiletries just in case). We were unable to use my husband's lap top or my tablet in the room as they would not pick up the Wi Fi and, although we were promised a phone call to sort it out after the guy on reception could not - this call never materialised.

The swimming pool and spa area were packed with children screaming (why can't modern parents keep their children under control.) It is a shame that the Hotel do not enforce the rule of no children under 14 in the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi.

We ate in the Vines the first evening and the food was very good and well presented.

The breakfasts were good (although left standing a while so a bit cold and the bacon was tough). As usual in hotels the knives on the tables could have done with being sharpened.

The other two evenings we ate nearby.

All in all we had an enjoyable break - the aim being to explore Chester and this we accomplished.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you don't want a view of the car park and shooting range.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Overall it's good to learn that you did have an enjoyable three night stay. Half term is always busy within the hotel so we do hope that you will give us another opportunity outside of the school holidays and we would like to assure you that your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went for one night for wedding anniversary lovely room breakfast great they catered for me as I am coeliac evening meal not brilliant but they changed mine no trouble they said it was first night of new menu didn't spoil our stay greAt value.

Room Tip: We had room on front in main building very pleased with it
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us here at Carden Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews