We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carden Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$79
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,565)
Filter reviews
4,565 results
Traveler rating
2,515
1,242
474
202
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,515
1,242
474
202
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf breakthe main hoteltwo double bedscourtyard roomvines restaurantspa treatmentslovely hotelgreat facilitiesevening meallovely groundsrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesredmonds restaurantnight breaksteam roomchanging roomsfood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,221 - 4,226 of 4,565 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a great hotel, fantastic location with beautiful surroundings and a must for ardent golfers. We has a family holiday and it was very pleasent. The rooms are really very clean and tidy (only minus is there is no air conditioning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. the food is of a very high quality, the breakfast was really good with lots of choice and it was all very hot. The pool and spa were really good and not to busy even though there were lots of children in the hotel. There is free valet parking which is an added extra, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to chester. We had a great time and will more than likely be going back. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fan in the room in hot or warm weather.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newmarskeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Public Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

We are pleased that you found the hotel great and good value for money. It's also reassuring to know that you found the location fantastic and would recommend us to anyone wishing to visit Chester - Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is a real WOW. It was very warm when we stayed here and I found the room lacked ventilation (the others in my party found it to be fine) but the room and facilities within were faultless. Staff are very helpful and keen to make you at home. The food in Redmonds restaurant for dinner and breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We also had a bar snack which again tasted fabulous. There is so much to do on site, my partner played golf whilst my son and I spent our time enjoying all the other facilities. The puzzle trail with kids is a must, very well thought out and a lovely way to keep them occupied whilst enjoying a walk around the immaculate grounds. Crazy golf in the beautiful gardens is another must and the kids loved the oversized board games. We found the pool to be a touch on the chilly side for a general swim but the spa complex itself was great for a chill out. We took part in the Kong ropes course, again another must, staff there have a great sense of humour and are really friendly. Within the hotel and grounds there are loads of different areas to relax and you never feel like you are on top of everyone else. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: A room around 109-116 means you are not far from the main staircase on the first floor so you are central to everything
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjm2005pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you felt at home and found the food wonderful. It's good to know that you found lots to do during your stay along with findings lots of places to relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here monday 25th july for our wedding anniversary , was a bit nervous about what the room was going to be like , as some reviews are a bit negative, i should not have worried everything was stunning , i booked on the net on a offer for a free golf view upgrade . , i rang the hotel reservations to ask for a balcony room , as no choice given on web site , the balcony rooms are situated in the courtyard next to the main part of hotel , these are the only ones with balconies main hotel has golf views but no balcony ,so if you wanta balcony room ring and request one , the room was large , the view was beautiful ,the bed was the biggest iv ever slept in and the so comfy i didnt want to get up ,never herd a noise all night , the tv was large ,bathroom was also large . and all spotless and clean .. the 2 course set menu was great , food was tasty and well cooked , and a big choice for breakfast , self service . the bar was good in price for the draught lager , when went to the bar , staff told us to take a seat and they would bring it over , they did this for everyone and was a nice touch , only had one negitive thing was that they put a 10% optional service charge on you food bill , i asked for ours to be taken off which was no problem , other wise it would have been £6.90 which i dont mind leaving a tip if it goes to the chef / waiting staff , not the hotel .also they dont knock off the meal allowance off the bill so ours said £67.00 when it was brought , but when the meal allowance (£19) each was knocked off and the optional service charge the bill was around £25 , i dont think you should have to try and work out your own bill , it should be done for you showing the discounts off the total amount .. other than that i would recommend this hotel to anyone , will be back here soon , loved it so much .. and a credit to everyone who works there

Room Tip: ring and request balcony golf view rooms, check restuarant bill
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nessbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

We are delighted you loved your balcony room in the courtyard. We are also pleased you found your two course menu to be tasty and well cooked, especially as you were here to celebrate your Anniversary. We do appreciate your kind comments so thank you for writing and recommending Carden Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

A very average hotel with small stuffy rooms , not really 4 star. It was clean, and the food was ok but again very average. This is a large hotel with long walks from rooms to the lifts. The golf club was a good well equipped building with good staff. The Nicholas course was in great condition , obviously at the expense of the Cheshire course that was pretty scruffy. They then overcharged me and have subsequently made a refund. Overall a very disappointing visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room. We have many different room types in the hotel and around the courtyard which have balconies. We are pleased you found the golf club good, well equipped and with good staff. Your comments regarding the golf courses have also been noted. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

To be honest for a 5 star spa I was disappointed. The treatments rooms are looking worn and not up to the highest cleaning standards as are the changing rooms. The treatments were ok but a lot of your treatment time is used discussing what you want or filling in client info or the therapist disappearing to get items for the treatment. This was done prior to treatments in other spa’s I have visited, so no time was wasted and you gained the full treatment times. The relaxation rooms were cold and the music too loud. The inclusive lunch was soup & a roll, again for teh price I had had a choice of hot food else where. There are much better four start rated spa’s in the area to spend your money on.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorrocksChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CardenParkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carden Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your Spa day. We have sent you a separate message so that you can discuss your comments further with our Spa Manager.

We will try to do our utmost to ensure that the comments you made are rectified with immediate effect and I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews