We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Egerton Arms

The Egerton Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Broxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went out for lunch time meal and chose the restaurant as we had a 2 for 1 voucher. We hadn't expected the restaurant to be busy and it wasn't. The service was good and the food ok for what we paid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marfordtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    131
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could Have Been Much Quicker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions when in the Chester Area, mainly in the evening.
During this period the place has gone upmarket from the 2 for 1 pub we remembered.
Last year we went late November and called in without booking and were lucky to get a table as the place was packed. On that occasion the food was excellent, if a bit pricey, and the service was very quick and efficient.
This time we called in mid afternoon (food is served all day) and the place was fairly quiet so we thought service would be very quick. Unfortunately the service was ridiculously slow, so slow in fact that we left without either a sweet or coffee. The wait is OK if you have the time to waste but we were still 60 miles from home!
There is an extensive full menu served throughout the day and also a lunchtime menu with lighter meals. The food is still expensive but excellent and plentiful - just very disappointed with the wait. Even so gave it 4 stars for the food alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Col425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not too far from home, so lucky we don't have to travel far. Hubby loves the belly pork, but unfortunately this is not on the menu at the moment, but there is still plenty of choice. Lovely environment, good service an excellent food. Even better if you go on their web site you can sometimes get a 2 for 1 offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“ooh la la what a night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited last Tuesday to partake of their French evening. We were pleasantly surprised, especially by the food which was well presented and mouth-wateringly good! We were initially sceptical as the cost of the evening was only £16 a head and included a half bottle of wine per person also. However, the choice was excellent - choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 2 desserts. The atmosphere was lovely, the staff friendly and attentive and we noticed on talking to some of our fellow diners, that many of them were regulars. Although we live a fair distance away, the Egerton is on our growing list of favourite places. All this and some good ales too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I looked at menu before going out, and just couldn't make my mind up as so many delicious sounding choices!
4 people in our party had the Lobster thermadore, which looked and tasted divine! I had the Sea Bass with coriander, chilli and garlic- which was just beautiful! Service was great too! A really good evening was had by all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Superkersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egerton Arms also viewed

 
Tattenhall, Cheshire
Northop, Flintshire
 

Been to The Egerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing