We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We came on a living social deal, the hotel was lovely and quirky with lots of period features and the room was lovely. We enjoyed our massages our therapist was lovely and enjoyed our use of the spa facilities. It was a hot day so we had a drink outside in the pretty gardens. Every member of staff I encountered was really nice, friendly and helpful. The down side for me was the room was so hot it was really hard to sleep then at 6 in the morning a noise started droning on and was still going when we left. I don't know if it was part of the kitchen or what but it was annoying. All in all it was worth the money we paid and we would definitely go back

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank leanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for The Manor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Went for lunch with my mum yesterday before she had an amazing spa treatment. We both had the Steak Sandwich which was delicious, the steak was cooked perfectly in a toasted ciabatta, and was served with fresh salad and homemade chips. Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, especially Angela the manager who took our order and stopped to chat with us. Definitely the best place to stop off for a bite to eat when you're in and around County Durham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MHH_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Soooooo relaxing had a fabulous 40th birthday my fiancé booked for us clean and tidy great food the breakfast is beautiful with great service and spa and massage the staff are great polite the jacuzzi is just a must

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A superb hotel overlooking The Green in West Auckland.
The Manor House is fantastic inside and sympathetically modernized. There is a spa and pool with the addition of a sauna and steam room. Not huge but big enough. There is also a gym.
Our room was in the courtyard so maybe this was the only downside as I would like to have experienced the rooms within the Manor house, but more than happy with the rooms we had.
We had a few issues with the room but this was dealt with very efficiently, and quickly, by the manager, Angela. Couldn't fault her professionalism.
The staff in the restaurant were so nice and friendly and at breakfast this made for a very, happy atmosphere
Would we go again - absolutely, no question.

Room Tip: If you want more atmosphere as for a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Took advantage of the Living Social offer and at £75 for B&B plus 1/2 hour treatment for 2 good value for money. We were located in the old part of the manor house which has lots of character, receptionist very friendly and room clean with tea and coffee making facilities and nice view of gardens.

Not many in hotel that night so lounge, dining room etc virutally empty but had drinks and dinner a deux, steak well cooked and nice home made chips but as there were only two of us in dining room that night presentation left a lot to be desired, even a bowl on the side for the chips would have been preferable to them being tipped onto the plate, which resulted in them spilling onto the table when I tried to cut the steak, nothing major but small things do make a difference. Goats cheese and beetroot starter on rather wet salad again lacked presentation but really at this price cant expect The Ritz as another traveller stated.

Breakfast was ok, grapefruit had strange taste and my friend had to ask for her toast twice as it didn't arrive with her breakfast, white toast arrived when brown requested so had to wait again for the brown hence breakfast nearly finished when it finally arrived, maybe writing things down might help, it wasn't busy.

Spa treatment was fine nice back massage but my friend felt she didn't get the full half hour. Spa area although small looked fine jacuzzi, small pool, sauna etc. they are obviously making improvements all the time here and we would return, juding by the managements response to any negative comments made on TA they are acting on them which can only be good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Manor House both Living Social deals. We were not able to take advantage of the spa treatments on both occasions however we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Stables bar is a small quaint intimate bar and an excellent setting for pre meal drinks. The staff in the main hotel are friendly and welcoming and professional. Our meal in the restaurant was lovely. It was a thoroughly enjoyable night.

Our room out in the courtyard was clean warm and welcoming we will definitely go back and hopefully enjoy some spa treatments.

My only complaint would be breakfast the next morning.... the service was slow and even though we ordered our breakfast they brought out our tea and food and gave it to the table next to us!!! My husbands breakfast was dry which we think was as a result of it being kept warm whilst they made my eggs benedict.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main hotel and out in the courtyard both rooms were comfortable and clean when...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon17Teesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I think the reviewers of this hotel have a been a bit harsh and unfair.
The hotel is set in a fairly run down part of Durham but the hotel has charm and the staff really do their best to look after you.
I have been three times as part of Living Social deals and for £75 for two - bed breakfast and two spa treatments it would be churlish to expect the Ritz.
The hotel is very old and has uneven floors, interesting rooms and old comfy chairs in the lounge.
The restaurant usually presents great tasty food and is excellent value for money.
The bedrooms in the courtyards are spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The reviews are right about the heat in the bedrooms and after checking the reviews I did bring a fan and was very pleased I did.
We mentioned this to the reception staff who took up comments on board.
The receptionist were welcoming and Had our bags taken to our rooms while we were having our spa treatments.
Lunch was lovely but we did feel for the staff as the manager had let some go home and then they had a rush. One poor girl was running a round trying to accommodate all guests who had tight deadlines to fit round their treatments.
This was not the fault if the staff, it was down to the management.
If a hotel take advantage of Living Social type deals,,they must take the hit in staff costs to cope with the rush.
The evening meal was disappointing compared to the two previous occasions. The steak was not cooked to our taste and my goats cheese came with a pickled beetroot salad!
The breakfasts are great and I can vouch for the Eggs Benedict.
We really like this quirky hotel and think we will continue to come here when Living Social offer a deal as it is great value for money and you are very well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,267 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
16.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range: $69 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel West Auckland, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing