We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa Break thats not so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Spa Break thats not so relaxing”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This a beautiful hotel and we were very impressed when we arrived. However we had booked this hoping for a quiet relaxing spa break. When we came to use the facilities they were packed and we could not find a seat or anywhere to leave our towels while we used the sauna etc. So after dumping them on the floor we used the sauna and steam room, the jacuzzi was full the whole time we were in there so we didn't get to use it and when we went to use the pool it was full of kids playing, making it impossible to swim. I didn't expect to find children in here at all, especially after we had left ours with a sitter for the day to go for some peace and quiet. The restaurant was lovely and the food was very nice although quite expensive. We went for a drink in the Stables bar in the hotel in the evening and found it was full with locals and nowhere to sit again. Some of these locals had been at the bar since we popped in around 2pm for a drink and their language was absolutely disgusting. We had been recommended this hotel by a friend who had gone there mid week and was shocked by what we said, it had been really quiet when she was there. So perhaps that is the best time to go. I wouldn't recommend going on a saturday unless you find noisy kids and foul mouthed locals your idea of relaxing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynenick246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    323
    157
    111
    75
See reviews for
162
433
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We've just enjoyed a 4-night stay as part of a coach tour. This hotel is in a lovely position being opposite the village green, and it's just right if you wish to do some sightseeing in the area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They were also all local (a change from having Eastern European staff in some hotels!) The room we had was spacious, clean and very quiet with comfortable beds, and as mentioned elsewhere we had lovely fluffy towels. I asked for a rubber bath mat to use in the bath and it was delivered straight away. Sadly, the food quality did not come up to our expectations. The choices sounded good but didn't deliver in quality or taste. The vegetables were not to our liking, being very al dente which was a shame as each evening dishes went back still loaded with vegetables. I didn't appreciate having cold plates at the breakfast buffet either. As a resident, we were able to use the swimming pool and this was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear NorthEastSmile,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a great stay, and found the staff friendly and food outstanding.

I have passed your kind comments on to all our staff and management team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from Manor House Hotel. We stayed here on a Living Social deal and had a great experience. Members of staff were very friendly, food outstanding and grounds well kept.
The only negative I would say is the rooms need up dating but for the amount of time you are in the room it really didnt bother us.

Overall we had a great time and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthEastSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Following a very busy and stressful time at work, my husband and I decided to visit the Manor House Hotel for a little bit of 'me' time. We booked using a Living Social deal which included an overnight stay,a bottle of wine and breakfast the following day. The room we were provided with had a four poster bed and a huge bathroom - fabulous! We both had a beauty treatment and spent the rest of the time relaxing - bliss! Our evening meal was outstanding and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We would like to pass on our thanks to James and his team for a thoroughly enoyable stay and we look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAlison1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear DavidAlison1602,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and enjoyed having spa treatments.

I have passed your kind comments on to the staff and the management team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Blokes as a living social deal. Lovely old world setting. Staff friendly, helpful and with a smile. Rooms very pleasant with comfortable beds fluffy towels nice toiletries.
Nice food choice ,good portions. Lots of comfortable seating throughout.

Room Tip: Ask to be in rooms not in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lesley C,

Thank you fopr taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a lovely break with us, and enjoyed the old world setting.

I have passed your kind comments on to all of the staff and management team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Myself, partner, sister and her husband went for a treat and we were not disappointed. Rooms were quaint and comfortable with great shower room. Excellent facilities with long opening hours for pool jacuzzi etc. We had facials, and massages which were enjoyed by all recipients and the meals in the hotel restaurant were to die for ... spectacular food, the prawn starter was delicious, succulent fresh tasting and the rest of the meal did not disappoint either. We had intended to eat out and about the second night but were so impressed we ate in again. A definite return is on the cards. Very friendly staff, especially the "cheeky" waiter he was up for a laugh and made us laugh too, ... canny lad pity I can't remember his name and he was off the morning we left. The lounge with the huge fireplace and comfy chairs had a very relaxing enviroment which we found hard to drag ourselves away from.

Room Tip: Have only stayed once *so far) in the old part of the hotel but rooms were cosy, quaint and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear lujie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a fabulous weekend, and enjoyed making use of our leisure facilities, and eating in our restaurant.

I have passed your kind comments on to our kitchen, and all of the staff, including Ben the "cheeky" waiter.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a living social voucher bought as a gift which included spa treatments and 2 nights b and b. I cant comment on value for money as I have no idea what the voucher cost. The rooms were good, we were given one of the courtyard rooms as we had taken our dog with us. The rooms were booked several months ago and I rang the hotel three weeks ago to book our spa treatments. I was disappointed to find that there were no available appointments left. I wonder whether there would have been if Id wanted to pay for them?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear skijo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

When taking reservations that include spa treatments we do book the treatments in at the same time to avoid dissappointment. However, if guests do not want to book at their spa treatments when making their reservation, we do advise to book them as soon as possible, as the spa is very popular and we do fill up fast. This could result in us being fully booked, and not being able to make an appointment

I am sorry that on this occasion you did not manage to enjoy a treatment in our spa.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,104 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.3 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel West Auckland, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing