We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better........................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Co Durham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Could have been better........................”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Positive Points:

Quaint, quite charming, old fashioned hotel.
Value for money on £39 special deal
Spacious double bedroom
Clean bathroom
Free Wi-Fi in lounge
Excellent massage in Spa
Very good meal in restaurant
Decent, well-priced wine list
All staff encountered were very pleasant and helpful

Negative Points:

Many public areas and bedroom in need of minor repairs and maintenance
No Wi-Fi in bedroom
Bedroom had some dust and cobwebs
Small seating area poolside and area in need of some repairs/maintenance
Ordered tea on arrival in lounge – arrived cold and had to be replaced
No hot water for bath or shower on Saturday evening
Average cooked breakfast that was barely luke warm
A surprise bottle of wine was ordered and paid for by a relative to be put in bedroom for our arrival – this was not given to us until we checked out.

Overall, not a bad stay but let down by lack of attention to detail on negative points mentioned. Would consider staying again at the price paid (£39 B&B) but not at full price as this would not have been value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    318
    157
    109
    75
See reviews for
160
426
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked a special offer through Living Social, fab price and value for money.
I was given an upgrade by a very pleasant receptionist.
Beautician couldn't of done more for me.
Gorgeous meal .
Would definitely recommend, manageress was fantastic !
.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10JET1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear 10JET1,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that once again you had a fantastic stay with us. It is great to see guests regularly returning to the hotel!!

I have passed your kind comments on to our manager and all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel and loved the charm and the character of the place. We stayed in a lovely room, old but we prefer this to modern. The reception was quaint and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We explored the village which was lovely and then had a swim, sauna and a relaxing massage in the spa. The Spa room was lovely and our therapist was very good and told us to take our time when leaving. Sometimes i feel that i am being rushed out of a treatment room, not so here. We had the choice of a drink in the lounge area or a nice pub type bar in the courtyard before having a meal in the very tastefully decorated restaurant. The meal was lovely and the view from the wall to wall window into the privte gardens was great. We did peep into the Knights Hall which would be a fabulous venue for a wedding reception or indeed any party. All in all an excellent stay. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Elsie S,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had an excellent time, and that you appreciated the old characteristics of the building.

I have passed your kind comments regarding your treatments onto our beauticians who are as pleased as I am that you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a recent weekend overnight at this hotel with my wife - an anniversary gift from the in-laws. What a great stay! We were given a really large room to the front that overlooked the hotel gardens & village green. The hotel is steeped with character and had a certain cosy charm that we loved. Meal in the restaurant on the night was lovely and they have their own little pub/bar across the courtyard which was so cute! At breakfast we sat next to the large windows and fully appreciated the morning sunlight lighting the restaurant with full views to the gardens. Have no problems recommending this to anyone - we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianspratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear ianspratt,

Thank you for review of your recent stay with us here at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us.

I have passed your kind comments on to all management and staff.

I am pleased to read that you will certainly be coming back to the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

For Mothers day my daughter and granddaughter treated me to an afternoon spa day. When we arrived at the spa we were given a glass of champagne and strawberries whilst the beauticians explained what different treatments we could have. We decided to upgrade to the shellac polish for my daughter and I opted of the hot stone massage both of which were well worth the money at only £5 extra each. Included in the spa day deal was a light lunch over in the restaurant although the menu was quite small we all found something we were happy with and really enjoyed our lunch. After having another glass of wine we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing by the pool and chatting in the Jacuzzi. Value for money this was an excellent afternoon thoroughly enjoyed by all three of us and will certainly consider doing this or another spa day again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneGraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked this up for me and my daughter as part of her birthday present. We stayed for 1 night bed and breakfast and 1 spa treatment. The staff were really helpful. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice. The room was clean and ok size. Lovely relaxing break would book up again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_Holidays_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Deart Love_Holidays_xx

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us here at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you and your daughter had a great time with us.

I have passed your kind comments onto all of our staff, regarding the helpful service and lovely meal in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ive been here for a Spa day twice now as its relatively close to where i live. The latest I had an email for a special deal, 2 treatments 25 mins each along with lunch and use of the spa facilities for the day which i did with a friend.
All i can say is we had a wicked day, not very many people using the facilities so pretty much had the place to ourselves and enjoyed the use of the pool, steam room and sauna. The treatments were pretty good too although could of done with a bit longer. I had the back, neck and shoulder massage and indian head massage.
The lunch was top class, a delicious chicken roast dinner and apple and plum crumble for dessert.
Couldnt comment on the actual hotel as havent stayed although probably would do if the opportunity arose.
All in all a fab day, would come again definately and look forward to more deals to drop in my inbox.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Jude1276,

Thank you for the review of your recent spa day at The Manor House Hotel.

I am delighted that you had a great day, and enjoyed your lunch and treatments on the day.

I have passed your kind words on to our kitchen and beauticians.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel West Auckland, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing