We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down with Living Social Deal Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Let down with Living Social Deal Afternoon Tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I were given this as a xmas gift from good friends, we were really looking forward to visiting the Manor House Hotel after reading such promising reviews. Unfortunately when I rang to book our afternoon tea on Friday 28th Dec I was informed by a member of staff that they were fully booked that day. I asked about availability over the weekend to be told again that they were fully booked. I explained that our voucher deal runs out on January 3rd and that we return to work that day, I was not offered any availability to use it.
I understand that this is a popular hotel and has an excellent reputation but feel very let down that they couldn't honour the voucher before it expired. I would think twice about purchasing a deal from Living Social again for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozzii40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaThomas, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Rozzii40,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your afternoon tea booking. Sorry that you could not make a reservation before the voucher expired, but as I am sure you can appreciate, we were very busy so close to Christmas and New Year, and everybody was trying to use their vouchers before they expired.

If you would like to use your living social voucher for the afternoon tea, I am happy to extend the expiry date for you. Please contact me on 01388 834834. We look forward to welcoming you to The Manor House Hotel.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    314
    156
    109
    75
See reviews for
159
423
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a rambling house that is said to have been King Henry's hunting lodge. Very atmospheric, though warm and cosy. The staff are great and if the walls could tell a story you'd be here for months. Food is of a good standard as is the flexibility of the staff. We had travelled from Norfolk so that I could watch my beloved Spurs at Sunderland. We arrived at 10 o'clock although book in time is 14.00. My wife and daughter were able to use the Spa and its facilities, until the room was prepared, even though my daughter was not even staying here, nice touch. We will be staying here again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomtownchav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaThomas, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Boomtownchav,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that your family enjoyed using our spa facilities, and I will pass your kind comments on to all of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I can not praise our Christmas day lunch highly enough.
From the moment we walked into this fabulous historic house the warm and friendly welcome given by Angela was second to none.
Every attention to detail was catered for on an extremely busy day for all the staff.
Our meal was perfect with great choices on all courses.
We will be returning next year without a doubt!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raintonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaThomas, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Raintonred,

Thankyou for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Day lunch with us. It is great to know that we made your Christmas enjoyable and memorable. I will pass your kind words onto Angela and all of the other staff that worked Christmas day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Quite a distance from where we live but well worth the drive. Booked afternoon tea as part of a living social deal. Greeted by staff we were asked to take a seat in the lovely arm chairs and pick a sandwich to go with our afternoon tea. Enjoyed a large pot of tea which made 4 cups each, enjoyed chicken stuffing and cranberry sandwiches, and tuna and onion, tortilla chips and salad. The top tier had fruit scones (still warm) accompinend with cream and jam... Perfect. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc-emma-16052008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear marc-emma1605-2008,

Many thanks for your recent review of The Manor House Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us.

I will pass your lovely comments onto all of our staff.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Manor House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't normally do reviews but felt I had to praise the staff at The Manor House Hotel (as it doesn't very often in any business!)
Myself and a group of friends went to the Manor House Hotel on Sunday 16th December for a chill out day with the Living Social Voucher. What a fantastic day and value for Money
All the staff were absolutely fantastic, so friendly and helpful (Nothing was a problem for any of them!)
The lady that met us in the Spa reception was lovely and the restaurant staff were great upgrading us to Sunday Lunch and an extra treat (which they didn't have to do but they did so thankyou very much for that!)
We all had a fabulous day and will be returning in the near future.

Thanks again for a great day

Room Tip: We ddn't stay over so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keely3578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear keely3578,

Thankyou for your recent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your spa day with us.

I will pass your kind comments onto all of our staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor House Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived the the Manor House Hotel yesterday (we were slightly late as we got lost on route), to a Glass of bubbly and chocolate dipped strawberries, we then had treatments and a leisurely lunch. The pool is not enormous, but adequate, the sauna, steam room and spa are all good. The staff were very friendly, we did make some enquiries about going again and we were shown some of the bedrooms. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be back with an overnight stay.

A very satisfied spa goer

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Liz P,

Thankyou for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your spa day with us.

I will pass your kind comments on to all of the staff who will be as pleased as I am to welcome you back to The Manor House Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Paid £40 for a spa day from living social. What a bargain!! Glass of bubbly, choc dipped strawberries, 2 half hour treatments and lunch thrown in. All excellent. The pool was ok altho not massive and the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were good. Only negative comments were the pool area was a bit dark being painted dark khaki green and there was only 4 loungers that were empty most of the time but had towels on reserving them. To be fair there was a notice asking customers not to do this but it was ignored. Would recommend tho.....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueAppleyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear SueAppleyard,

Thankyou for your recent review of The Manor House Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your spa day with us. I am sorry that the khaki green in the pool area was not to your tastes, and that you were unable to enjoy any of the loungers by pool side.

I will pass all of your comments on to the managers and staff at the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Hopefully next time you will be able to enoy the poolside loungers.

Kind Regards

James Hart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Auckland
4.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Front Street | The Green, West Auckland DL14 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > West Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel West Auckland, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing