We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spa day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing spa day”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back from an amazing spa day at headlam hall, which was a present of my daughter and son in law for my birthday. My daughter booked to come with me, cannot fault anything , apart from the sauna was out of order, but it didn't spoil our day there. Lunch was gorgeous washed down with some ros'e wine. I would go back . Also with our package we had a facial, which was lovely, all the staff couldn't do enough for us .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your spa day. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and sorry that the sauna was out of order. A fault appeared on the morning of your visit and the engineers are coming as soon as possible to fix. Hopefully you will return again soon and all will be working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    155
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
122
391
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our third stay at Headlam Hall. Each time I go I like it more. Where to start?
The food was sensational. The service was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.
The rooms are nice. The place is spotlessly clean. The Spa is great. Nice facilities and well priced treatments. The setting is great. Cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
That is a great review title for us to read and we will do our best to ensure that you continue to enjoy future visits to Headlam. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for the night on Friday 21st June - booked as a complete surprise by my husband. The Boy did good..............

We had an absolutely amazing time from arriving to us departing. We did the spa break and had the lovely Virginia suite which was like a small apartment in itself! We had coffee on arrival at the Spa and then enjoyed all the facilities before having a duo aromatherapy massage which was delightful. Lunch in the brasserie in our robes while watching the golfers was as good as to be expected with the curried butternut squash soup being a big hit with both of us. Dinner in the restaurant that evening was superb too.

All the staff that we encountered were delightful and really chatty - particular mentions to the ones we chatted to; Anne, Kat, Andrew, Rachel, Sam. The room was lovely - super clean and fresh, food was really enjoyable, spa was relaxing and again really clean. The whole experience was one we definitely want to repeat and will return for sure.

I left feeling really relaxed and happy, and the husband had brownie points in the bank!

Thanks All x

Room Tip: The more modern rooms are in the Spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and thank you to your husband for choosing Headlam Hall. I am pleased to hear that you were pleased with the venue, service and food and that the surprise was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

On the 7th June 2013, myself and my wife Lorraine had our wedding at Headlam Hall, and it was truly an amazing day.
Andrew coordinated it fantastically, and the whole day, from the food, venue and everything else was fantastic.
I urge any couples looking for a venue for their dream day, to look no further than the wonderful Headlam Hall. You won't be disappointed.
Dave & Loz

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meddy2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am delighted to read that you and your new wife had such a special and memorable day - exactly as it should be for your wedding! Thank you for your kind comments which will be much appreciated by Andrew and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Headlam again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our third visit to Headlam Hall proved a good choice again. The food is excellent, as is the service. The location is well presented as well. This hotel is well worth a visit, but make sure you book first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I have always believed that good food is at the heart of a good hotel so I am very pleased to read your positive comments on what we offer. Your repeat custom is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Headlam in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire united kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had weekend stay,hotel was amazing,very clean,staff were extremely attentive.The room in the coachhouse was very nice,not over large but had everything we needed,nice coffee in the rooms.The food was cooked to a high standard,and service excellent.Prices of drinks in the bar were reasonable,breakfast was very good with good service.Ten out of Ten.We will return

Room Tip: coach house 1st floor heather room had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank she00123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments which are appreciated by the whole team. Glad that you had an enjoyable weekend and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just stayed here and had a brilliant time. The hotel is gorgeous, our room was stunning too. The spa was very nice, loved the facilities. Treatments were great, had a facial which was very enjoyable. Very impressed and will definitely return! We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu wasn't really our kind of thing, but did have the cooked breakfast which was delicious. The grounds are beautiful. Once visited for a wedding when i was very young, and the hotel is still just as beautiful. Will recommend Headlam Hall to all my friends and family, as it was a lovely lovely stay.

Room Tip: The green room 205 was lovely, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, and lovely decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback and I am pleased that you had a good time during your visit. Hopefully next time you will get to try the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,044 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Property: Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing