We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant , but value questionable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral,England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant , but value questionable”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a group . The location is quiet and peaceful , and the spa and gardens are very pleasant indeed . However, the room I had in the main house was rather small ( in fairness I was on my own ) and the bathroom was very small indeed, and suffered from a particular bugbear of mine in that there was no space for putting washing tackle etc. The staff are splendid and the service was good . Breakfasts are very good indeed. However, the dinners were bland and very unexciting , and the wine list was poor with the Chilean Chardonnay ( yes - my own fault !) - being the worst white wine I have had in decades . None of this would put me off particularly , but I did think that the prices charged ( about £220 DBB for a couple and rather less than that for a single room ) represented poor value and would have required much better food to justify them

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasTheKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I am sorry that you felt that the rate of £130 DB&B did not offer satisfactory value to you. I do believe, however, that our rates reflect good value for money as in addition to accommodation, breakfast and three course dinner we also provide extensive facilities at this price. The wine you mention, although our cheapest, is normally a drinkable white so I will have to check a bottle again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    158
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
126
397
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having just spent four nights at Headlam Hall as part of a group of 20 couples,I must congratulate the staff on their friendly and most efficient service.It was so nice to be addressed by name rather than just a number in the computer,nothing was too much trouble.
Nice comfortable room,excellent spa,food was good but would have preferred a choice rather than have the group fixed menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and it was a pleasure to have a collection of beautiful classic Jaguars filling the car park every evening during your stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Headlam Hall Hotel, spa facilities are excellent. The hotel staff are professional, polite, friendy and very helpful. The food is outstanding and the room was great. A very pleasant experience indeed...........we will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love Headlam Hall. I got married here in April 2012 and everything was perfect. Andrew the wedding organiser was really helpful and knew exactly what he was doing every minute of the day which allowed me to relax and enjoy the day. All the guests commented on how nice the wedding breakfast was and also the evening buffet was the best most people have had at a wedding.
We stayed again this year and had an evening meal. The food was fantastic and we will definitely go several times before our next anniversary.
My only feedback would be after spending a lot of money having your wedding I felt they could have done something special for our anniversary such as a bottle of wine in the room. Many other good hotels offer an anniversary package if you have your wedding there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summermurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It is always nice to welcome back guests who had their wedding reception here at Headlam and I am delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay. I think you make a good point about doing something special for returning brides & grooms such as a bottle of fizz in the room so we will look at implementing this idea. Next time you return please let Andrew know and we'll pop a bottle in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with fantastic service . The food was exquisite ,best meal I've ever had ! My experience was wonderful from start to finish , we stayed here for our anniversary. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone , one word ,amazing !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. Our Head Chef will be delighted with your feedback on the food. The kitchen team were awarded 2 AA rosettes earlier this week so your review will be the 'cherry on top' of a great week for them! Congratulations on the anniversary you were celebrating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!! What a lovely place. We went one year as a large party for my nan's birthday and it was so good, we went again the following year. No doubt, we will be Bach again next year!
The rooms are gorgeous, all the staff extremely friendly and all in all you could ask for nothing more.
The spa is lovely; really relaxing. And the food, from bar snacks to breakfast and dinner was outstanding!
We are not golfers so can't comment on the golf but there is a nice collection of lawn games like croquet and putting etc to pass the time if you wish.
All in all, a fantastic time!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to be given a residential spa stay as a gift and had an incredible time. I have stayed and/or eaten at Headlam on other occasions but this was our first time using the spa facilities.
We were greeted at 10am on Good Friday morning by a lovely lady whose name I missed unfortunately. Our room was available which was a bonus and what a lovely room it was, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, we changed into dressing gowns and popped back downstairs to have coffee and bacon sandwiches which were lovely. The layout of the spa is excellent, separated from the main hall and designed in such a way that you can come and go up one flight to your room as you please, have your lunch in the spa brasserie and attend your treatments all without leaving the decadent comfort of your waffle robe! A locker is provided with additional robe towels and slippers and an efficient welcome note informing you of your per booked treatment times. The outdoor jacuzzi is small but wonderful on a frosty morning which it was, the steam and sauna were lovely as was the pool. The whole place is calm, serene and nothing is a problem for the excellent staff.
Our facial and back massages were gorgeous and the whole day was enforced rest for us, telephone signal is poor which was a plus! ( though free wifi was excellent).
Our pre ordered lunch was excellent and again the staff very helpful.
In the evening we dressed and went for dinner in the main restaurant, the roaring fires and atmosphere in the old hall are great, the food was exceptional and the service and staff all very good, Sam is a real asset, she happily made menu recommendations which were very much enjoyed and without exception the staff are happy in their work, smiling and attentive.
After a very peaceful nights sleep ( regardless that a wedding party was taking place) we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and left vowing to treat ourselves to this again as soon as possible.
Simply couldn't fault it!

Room Tip: Spa rooms lovely and peacefully separate from main hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyschoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your spa break at Headlam and I agree that a frosty morning in the outdoor hot tub is a great start to the day! The team always appreciate positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,529 reviews
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,199 reviews
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Property: Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing