We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly is a Serene Sunday Offer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Certainly is a Serene Sunday Offer!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I visited Headlam Hall to celebrate our Anniversary; we stayed using the Serene Sunday package which Headlam offers this costs £79 and includes; a one night stay, afternoon tea, 3 Course evening meal and breakfast, you can also use the spa facilities.

All staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, when we checked in we were taken straight to our room. When staying in other hotels we have often found that because we are a young couple the service that we have been given was not up to the same level as what older couples were receiving but this was certainly not the case at Headlam.
We stayed in the Floral room in the main building, which had a gorgeous view. Bedroom and bathroom were clean, bed extremely comfy and we especially liked all the little touches dotted around (biscuits, glass bottled water, shower gels etc...) Also thankfully there was another hairdryer in the dressing table as the one in the bathroom was not too good!

The main building of the Hotel is beautiful particularly the lounge area, very peaceful for a pre dinner drink. The grounds are lovely to walk around, so is the surrounding countryside if you fancy a look out.
For me the selling point of Headlam Hall is the Spa. I used to be a member and that is one of the main reasons why I chose to visit the Hotel for our special occasion. Gorgeous facilities and in my opinion the best around, always spotlessly clean. Steam room and Sauna are top quality, outside Jacuzzi makes the spa just that little bit more special. Gym is a great size for the hotel, nice and personal hardly anyone ever in and equipment is great. What I like most about the Spa is that unlike other Hotels, Headlam has a restriction on when children can use the facilities, so you are free to swim and enjoy in peace.

I have left a separate review about our evening meal on the restaurant section of Tripadvisor.

Afternoon Tea was very nice; although a comment to make would be that the ratio of sandwiches to cakes was off, 3 large portion of heavy cakes but only a sandwich (4 triangles without crusts) each. Continental breakfast was average but cooked was splendid. Great local sourced products for the full English but there was also a choice of salmon and other fish, it was also great that they asked how we would like our eggs to be cooked.

Overall, this package is absolutely fabulous value and would recommend anyone to stay at the Hotel and have a day at the Spa. Especially using this offer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    155
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
122
391
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I'm a sucker for intelligent staff. You know, ones that talk to you with knowledge insight and passion, where nothing is too much trouble, and where little concessions, freely offered, make a guest feel special.

And so it is at Headlam Hall. A bit dear, yes. In the middle of nowhere, certainly. But I love it and will choose it ahead of all the local 4-star hotels. The food is nice (breakfast weaker than dinner, but you can't have it all), the rooms attractive , the gym well equipped and quiet, and the staff top notch. Well done Headlam Hall.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiestwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Six fifty-something females celebrating a special birthday. Autumn Gold offer. Beautiful country farmland location, very spacious rooms. ALL staff smart, cheerful, professional, very attentive, friendly and accommodating. Nothing is too much trouble and all with a smile. Food gorgeous, chef imaginative, all cooked fresh to order. As the menu is seasonal and cooked to order it is small and takes time to prepare fresh to order.Vegetarians have an even more limited, but still imaginative choice. Although the chef will do his best to accommodate you, I would advise liaising with the hotel prior to you visit to discuss any special dietary needs or preferences. I am positive that the hotel would appreciate this so they could be more prepared for you as they really do aim to provide the very best experience for all their guests and openly welcome any constructive feedback. If you prefer speedy meals then dinner will not suit you as dinner takes most of your evening so make sure you have plenty of table conversation. The spa facilities are excellent and you can book the classes for free too - but book early as this is also a leisure club and has a busy membership. Having said that - it was not crowded or even busy-looking during our stay (Mon - Wed). We used the gym, did aquarobics and swam. There is the 9 hole golf course - but not for beginners, and putting green too. We were very impressed and all came away totally relaxed and happy with our choice of venue. We would definitely recommend Headlam Hall and hope to return for the next special occasion. The hotel has the main hall and other converted and new buildings. There are ground floor rooms and first floor rooms with lift access but not in the main hall. We had second floor rooms in the main hall which does not have a lift. Stairs are not a problem for us and nor was the luggage as the reception arranged for it to be taken up for us - and down when our lovely break came to an end.

Room Tip: Our three rooms were all different but difficult to say which we would prefer. There are plenty of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

There were 6 of us altogether the staff were lovley n friendly and really help full. Mine and my partners bedroom was in the main hall bit the floral room n it was lovely and clean the bed was comfey n really gud veiw and my friends had rooms in the mews bit which is across the grounds but not to far of a walk n there rooms were really nice to n looked really clean. we had a even meal n the food was realy nice, i have the fish cake for starters and then the chickin for the main. Also we went to the spar n it was verry clean and the pool was nice n warm. I would really recomend this place to anyone. And i would stay there again . x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Been coming here for the restaurant for 30 years and since moving from immediate area, we now stop over a few times a year. Always good offers for Sunday nights, last Sunday, afternoon tea, 3 course evening meal and breakfast staying in slightly more expensive spa room for £169. Food has always been of the highest quality and even though it was full on Sunday the dinner service was quick and the staff were efficient and friendly. Used to stay in main hall but since spa opened have always preferred one of the rooms there. You chose as there is a short walk across the car park to get to the main part to eat but, vice versa anyone staying in the main hotel has the same walk to the leisure facilities. Talking of which, we are well travelled and have stayed at many hotels and we are yet to find better leisure facilities (gym adequate) but the pool sauna, stream room are lovely and the outside jaccusi is wonderful, especially in snow or rain. Highly reccomend especially if you can get deal.

Room Tip: Main hall have four poster beds and access straight to dining area but short walk to leisure facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After a disappointing stay earlier this year we decided to revisit Headlam Hall last week and we are very glad we did.
We had a 60 minute Intensive Muscle Release massage in the double treatment room, both of us agreed it was one of the best massages we have ever had. The staff were fantastic in the spa and our therapists very skilled, the spa is beautiful and well worth visiting.
Afterwards we went to the Brasserie for food and drink - the Brasserie has a nice relaxed setting with beautiful views of the gardens.
This time we stayed in one of the Spa rooms, they are bright, airy, comfortable and have a lovely modern feel. John who took us to our room was extremely pleasant and helpful.
That evening we had a few drinks in the lounge which was a very relaxing end to a wonderful day.
We are very glad we returned and saw Headlam Hall at it's best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc2001a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, lovely spa. The staff were so attentive ! John was a great help. The food in the restaurant was spot on, and breakfast was good too! No complaints. Recommended, junior suite was lush. Bed was comfy and room was spacious and clean .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headlam
4.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,104 reviews
24.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.5 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,045 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf

Property: Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Address: Headlam DL2 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Headlam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Headlam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star country house hotel with luxury spa and golf course. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by open countryside making an ideal rural retreat. Restaurant serving award winning 2 AA rosette food made with local produce and friendly professional service. Independent family owned and run hotel and farm. North East Small Hotel of the Year 2009/10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa And Golf
Headlam Hall Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Darlington
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing