We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Great Dunmow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for the weekend in, what is, essentially, the only hotel in the village. The location is superb, with a great seafront view. Had we booked earlier, we may have got a room overlooking this view. However, we didn't, so we had a view of the traffic junction and Tesco Express. The room was clean though, and had everything we needed. The bed was large and very comfortable. Thicker curtains would have blocked out the front floodlights, however.We weren't there to spend too much time in the room, so for the price paid, it was quite suitable. The staff were, with one exception, friendly, efficient and helpful. (Perhaps the gentleman in the reception area, who couldn't bring himself to make eye contact with his guests, or greet them with a 'Good Morning/Afternoon', needs to reconsider his vocation!) The Hotel is a great base for exploring the pretty village of Rottingdean. There is an excellent little cafe, 'The Sea Spray' run by Eric, where it is possible to experience the very best coffee! The restaurant ' Bistro Gourmand' offers the most exquisite French food, prepared and cooked by the French owner-chef, Frank. Forget anything else - this is the food of dreams!
I would return to The White Horse in order to explore further a beautiful part of the country. It does need a bit of TLC in certain areas - the paintwork for example and some of the furniture is somewhat tired, but it's a welcoming place and value for money. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but it was freshly cooked to order and definitely worth waiting for. Much better than the usual buffet style found in most hotels these days.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view room. The road isn't a good alternative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    197
    87
    41
    59
See reviews for
124
263
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived Saturday afternoon and after parking we walked into the clean and bright reception. We were met by a very polite receptionist and were given a key and directions to our room. I opened the door to the room and was extremely impressed by the size and the light emanating from the 9 windows facing the seafront was sublime. We decided to have a drink in the main bar and allthough they were short staffed and working at capacity did not have to wait very long. The food looked inviting and the whole experience was great. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area then look no further than the White Horse. Well done to the staff...except maybe the manager who seemed uninterested in the patrons.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a short break of three nights, the pub/hotel is overlooking the sea and enjoys a great location with parking, providing easy access to Brighton. The room was spacious well equipped and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the guests are not able to control the heating in the rooms and therfore have no option but to open the windows. The fraffic noise is horrendous and we were unable to sleep. The hotel is in dire need of repair and updating. They do have very helpful and hard working staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonNicnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We thought we might eat here, but the table we sat at had not ben cleared of the previous occupants left overs during the half hour we waited. The salad dressing was actually stuck to the table. Most other tables was also stacked with empty glasses and plates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks you for your feed back, and we will look into our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rottingdean hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the White Horse Hotel last Saturday night. Our room was lovely, beautiful white cotton bedding, excellent shower and overall very clean.
Just a couple of little niggles. The central heating was on in the room making it very warm and there was, unfortunately, no thermostat control on the radiator. It had obviously broken off and not been replaced.

Some of the decor and the stair carpet needed updating but, overall, we were very pleased.
It was nice for the hotel to have a bar too, where we spent an hour or so before going to bed.

The Breakfast the next day was very good with a good selection of cereal, croissants and hot pastries. A cooked breakfast was also available which looked very good too.

The Hotel is right on the beach providing a lovely view.

Much better than staying actually in Brighton due to the very limited, and expensive, parking there. The Hotel has it's own carpark so making life much simpler!

We visit Brighton every 6 weeks or so and will definately be staying at the White Horse again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple if nights got it direct from parent company olde English inns

It's a pun resteraunt with Rooms
Mine had a balconettr overlooking the sea wag a gloriuos view amazin the sun on the channel

Big room huge comfy bed king size nice decor good price lots of free Parkin food good rooms service

Good hotel for brighton without the madness and ease of parking and brightons a 5 minute drive away

Recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Admitably a little dated but I think it just added to the charm! The room was beautiful with one of the best sea views Ive ever had, location was perfect, service was great and breakfast was very good. Loved the fact we could have it at 11.30 as well. Was great not having to get up early after a late night out! Really couldnt fault it and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottingdean
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,367 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
3.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,518 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
790 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Hotel

Property: White Horse Hotel
Address: High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Rottingdean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Rottingdean, England - Brighton And Hove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing