We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very rare gem indeed.”
Review of White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrived Saturday afternoon and after parking we walked into the clean and bright reception. We were met by a very polite receptionist and were given a key and directions to our room. I opened the door to the room and was extremely impressed by the size and the light emanating from the 9 windows facing the seafront was sublime. We decided to have a drink in the main bar and allthough they were short staffed and working at capacity did not have to wait very long. The food looked inviting and the whole experience was great. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area then look no further than the White Horse. Well done to the staff...except maybe the manager who seemed uninterested in the patrons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 569 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for a short break of three nights, the pub/hotel is overlooking the sea and enjoys a great location with parking, providing easy access to Brighton. The room was spacious well equipped and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the guests are not able to control the heating in the rooms and therfore have no option but to open the windows. The fraffic noise is horrendous and we were unable to sleep. The hotel is in dire need of repair and updating. They do have very helpful and hard working staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonNicnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We thought we might eat here, but the table we sat at had not ben cleared of the previous occupants left overs during the half hour we waited. The salad dressing was actually stuck to the table. Most other tables was also stacked with empty glasses and plates.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks you for your feed back, and we will look into our service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the White Horse Hotel last Saturday night. Our room was lovely, beautiful white cotton bedding, excellent shower and overall very clean.
Just a couple of little niggles. The central heating was on in the room making it very warm and there was, unfortunately, no thermostat control on the radiator. It had obviously broken off and not been replaced.

Some of the decor and the stair carpet needed updating but, overall, we were very pleased.
It was nice for the hotel to have a bar too, where we spent an hour or so before going to bed.

The Breakfast the next day was very good with a good selection of cereal, croissants and hot pastries. A cooked breakfast was also available which looked very good too.

The Hotel is right on the beach providing a lovely view.

Much better than staying actually in Brighton due to the very limited, and expensive, parking there. The Hotel has it's own carpark so making life much simpler!

We visit Brighton every 6 weeks or so and will definately be staying at the White Horse again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple if nights got it direct from parent company olde English inns

It's a pun resteraunt with Rooms
Mine had a balconettr overlooking the sea wag a gloriuos view amazin the sun on the channel

Big room huge comfy bed king size nice decor good price lots of free Parkin food good rooms service

Good hotel for brighton without the madness and ease of parking and brightons a 5 minute drive away

Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We used this hotel, even though its not in Brighton, for its public transport links into Brighton because parking seems to be a major problem, most hotels there have no parking or its very expensive. The bus service into Brighton from the hotel was excellent. The hotel staff were all very friendly the food in the restaurant was good, the rooms were very clean and adequate but could do with some refurbishment. The hotel itself with its great location on the seafront and its parking facilities make a it a hotel I will return to

Room Tip: get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay at The White Horse, and enjoyed our food and service as well as our proximity and ease of travelling to Brighton, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We used the hotel for a 50th Birthday Party which we held in the Windmill Suite. Hire of the room is very reasonable and includes a bar service. The hotel also provided a buffet which was really tasty and served up efficiently. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, it is a fantastic location with a sea view and easy access to Rottingdean village on foot.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Glad you and your friends had an enjoyable stay and celebration at The White Horse, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottingdean
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,568 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
4.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,412 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Hotel

Address: High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Rottingdean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rottingdean
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Rottingdean, England - Brighton And Hove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing